User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Disappointment of the week with Tris39 on the Pub Forum

The Metropolitan Bar (JD Wetherspoon), Baker Street, NW1

7 Station Approach, Marylebone Road
NW1
NW1 5LD
Phone: 02074863489

Return to pub summary

Pub Type

J D Wetherspoon
Page: 1 2

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Delboy 20 left this review about The Metropolitan Bar (JD Wetherspoon)

Large Spoons right next to the tube station. Gets rammed when there is a match at Wembley. From what I could see there was a decent choice of beers but ruined by the curse of the plastic glass!

On 7th June 2018 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 928 recommendations about 897 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Oggwyn Great left this review about The Metropolitan Bar (JD Wetherspoon)

Well described in previous reviews , very busy on a Sunday morning with mainly Lincoln and Shrewsbury fans on their way to Wembley .
Service was OK if a bit slow , my Trumans Swift was decent enough to warrant a couple of pints .

On 28th April 2018 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 772 recommendations about 662 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Nick Davies left this review about The Metropolitan Bar (JD Wetherspoon)

No, it wasn't a cinema, but the dining room for Chiltern Court, the some-time apartments above the station before they became offices. There are old posters inside the pub advertising them. Anyway, it's had a of a refurb lately, more of a wipe its arse job than a full revamp so it's difficult to tell what they did apart from an huge increase of the high table and stools infestation making usable seating hard to find at busy times, like just after work. And there are fruit machines too. Two banks of handpumps, the guests tend to be on the set nearer the entrance, which annoyingly seems to be where the off duty tube staff like to stand guzzling Wifebeater so it's difficult to see what's what.

It is rather a grand venue, so worth it for that, but it's by no means the best choice locally.

On 10th November 2017 - rating: 6
[User has posted 465 recommendations about 457 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Tris C left this review about The Metropolitan Bar (JD Wetherspoon)

Well described below, this is indeed a huge and surprisingly grand 'spoons with striped Regency wallpaper and largely bereft of the chain's usual deterrents such as multiple TVs or games machines, which is reflected in a more upmarket clientele than usual. Or perhaps it's just so large that I couldn't see them.
The ale selection was large but my round of three drinks wasn't especially cheap.
OK if you're a fan of the marque (I only came here as my two colleagues recommended it and we were in a hurry), but otherwise walk up the road to The Volunteer.

On 29th April 2017 - rating: 5
[User has posted 931 recommendations about 918 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Rex Rattus left this review about The Metropolitan Bar (JD Wetherspoon)

I don't need to say much about this place as others have described it well. It's certainly more of a TARDIS pub than any other 'spoons that I've been in. The relatively small entrance takes you up a few steps before the full scale of the place is revealed on the right. My party of seven found a booth on the left as we entered that accommodated us easily, and was separated from the main area of the pub.

These 'spoons pubs are jolly useful in providing hungry pub researchers with a bit of cheapish scran when it's most needed. They're not everyone's idea of a traditional pub, but we would certainly miss them if they weren't there.

On 3rd February 2017 - rating: 6
[User has posted 2545 recommendations about 2463 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Aqualung . left this review about The Metropolitan Bar (JD Wetherspoon)

I came here today to find all the beers tried were not clear, ranging from a haze to the Stateside Rye being so cloudy I sent it back. None of the three pints tried were in anything like good condition. If Spoons are going to charge over three quid a pint then the least they can do is look after the beer. Score reduced from 8 to 4 and this one goes on my avoid list along with most of the other Central London Spoons.


Visit August 2013
There seems to be a lot of debate about what the original function of this room was.
One of the theories is that it was a Cinema. There used to be a Cinema in the vicinity but I'm fairly sure it wasn't here and the room layout is totally wrong.

The official Spoons line is that it was the Metropolitan Railway's Company Headquarters, which may well have been true at one time, but the Met Railway lost its private company status in 1933.

Like the Finchley Road Spoons this has GK IPA rather then Ruddles included among the eighteen pumps. Sadly there is also Courage Best which I assume is a permanent fixture.
Locale beers were represented by Vale and By The Horns.

I arrived here around midday on a Friday so it wasn't too busy. As all of the guest beers seemed to be priced at £3.25. I went for one of the stronger ones, Brewster's Calamity Jane which was in very good order. This is the most expensive Spoons I've been to apart from the one on Victoria station but I seem to have hit it on a good day as the beer was excellent, I got served a full pint quickly and it was a nice place to while away the time.

On 23rd October 2015 - rating: 4
[User has posted 2144 recommendations about 2139 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about The Metropolitan Bar (JD Wetherspoon)

A respectable Spoons this one, well worth a look in for the décor alone. The service was good on our Saturday afternoon visit and our choice of Tring Brewery Kotuku and Twickenham Naked Ladies were in good shape.

On 4th August 2015 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2906 recommendations about 2906 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Malden man left this review about The Metropolitan Bar (JD Wetherspoon)

It doesn't look that great on entering with the gaudy signage and a miserable looking front lobby however beyond there is an interesting and rather pleasing building. A large rectangular room has the bar along a front wall, there is a semi-circular boarded area in front, carpeted elsewhere. An attractive space, square fluted columns, a decorative powder blue ceiling divided into sections by downstand beams, various coats of arms affixed. Leaded windows, an art deco frieze at high level plus some decent panelling.
There are three banks of handpumps, the guest ales were on the middle one with the 'spoons usual suspects repeated on the two flanks. Phoenix Wobbly Bob was a decent choice even if at £3.35 is a centre of town JDW price. They were knocking out what I reckon were left over Thursday curries for £3.99, seemingly rather popular.
Surprisingly good once inside.

On 1st July 2015 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1685 recommendations about 1662 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Quinno _ left this review about The Metropolitan Bar (JD Wetherspoon)

A surprisingly acceptable Spoons to the immediate left on exit from Baker St tube. Its name displayed in gaudy neon blue lighting outside doesn't necessarily promise much. But on entering up a few steps (past a lobby area with some seats that are perfect for people watching) is a long bar and opulent room with nice heraldic décor (Metropolitan railway, I understand) in Wedgwood colours and sporting ornate gold leaf columns. At the bar are 18 pumps with a pretty full selection though there’s a bit of doubling-up. The beer is usually pretty good. Quizzer often wants to pay. Can cope with the football crowds fairly well, the Little Bristol this place became before the Conference play-off final was impressive and the staff did well to keep on top of everything. One of Tim's best efforts and well-worth a look.

On 7th June 2015 - rating: 8
[User has posted 3921 recommendations about 3909 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about The Metropolitan Bar (JD Wetherspoon)

Always has an excellent choice of real ale from a total of 18 handpumps (despite a few duplicates), and very handy for Baker Street underground. Note the weird contrasts between the neon-lit entrance, the tables crammed into the pokey lobby and the cavernous main bar hall. Guest ales (e.g. my recent pint of Autumn Breeze from regular supplier Arundel Brewery) currently £3.30, so quite pricy for a 'spoons but the condition is usually excellent.

On 26th October 2014 - rating: 7
[User has posted 5808 recommendations about 5808 pubs]

Page: 1 2