User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
How Will Pubs Open? with bcfczuluarmy on the Pub Forum

The Lass O'Gowrie, Manchester

36 Charles Street
Manchester
M1 7DB

Return to pub summary

Page: 1 2

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Ian Mapp left this review about The Lass O'Gowrie

Had planned to go when it was in the 2019 Good Beer Guide. Strangely lost its place in the 2020 guide.

Cant think why - I didnt notice any of the Greene Kings Staples - but five LocALE, all lovingly described with further indications provided by the sample pots. My Deepley Dale Optimum was a perfect bitter.

So the beer is great but what about the building?

A delight - all dark tiling inside and out.

Fine traditional pub that should be visited.

On 16th December 2019 - rating: 9
[User has posted 704 recommendations about 698 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Rob Hunter left this review about The Lass O'Gowrie

Visited on Saturday night. Eight hand pulls at the bar but unfortunately half of these were off. Despite being a Greene King pub, the redeeming factor is that they do have guest ales available and thankfully that remained the case on Saturday despite the barren nature of the pumps. We went for the For Pete's Sake by Northern Monkey Brew Co which was pretty good.

Very busy so it was standing room only, but we were only staying for one so not a problem.

I quite like this pub - it's a nice building and there is usually something interesting on the pumps to take your fancy. It's also only a short walk from Oxford Road station, so quite convenient for a last drink before catching the train.

On 30th September 2019 - rating: 8
[User has posted 542 recommendations about 482 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Soup Dragon left this review about The Lass O'Gowrie

This is a really nice glaze tiled Victorian corner pub with patio area, which is sadly owned by Greene King. The interior has a main room in brick, green and red, with photos of Manchester and Manchester bands on the walls. There are a few instruments dotted about. There is a snug room, with a nice old fireplace and comfy bench seats. They do food. The TV was on some daytime tosh and silent, the music was at a decent level. The service was very good and only a small group of mature blokes were in. 5 real ales on: GK Barmy Army, Wickwar Platform 6, Maitland Clogmaker and Knockerupper, Northern Monkey Rub a Dub Dub. The two Maitland ones were decent enough. Worth a visit.

On 21st July 2018 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 3053 recommendations about 3048 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Al Bundy left this review about The Lass O' Gowrie

A fine traditional Irish styled pub. Nice both outside and in. 8 handpumps of which 5 were on, their own beer Lass Somethin-or-other and 4 rotating guests. Pictures of Manchester bands dotted around the walls, The Smiths, Joy Division and the like. An outside area to the side to watch building work. A decent pub.

On 17th August 2015 - rating: 8
[User has posted 3389 recommendations about 3302 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Nick Davies left this review about The Lass O' Gowrie

Rumour has it it's changed hands lately but that wouldn't explain just two beers on offer when we called the other day, GK IPA (sigh)and the house bitter, which was perfectly fine. Certainly a change since the last time we were in town two or three years ago. Whatever, it is an interesting pub with some nice features, especially the snug, and well worth a visit. Probably the best bet later in the week when the average age in most of the other venues locally descends into the low 20s.

On 29th September 2013 - rating: 7
[User has posted 524 recommendations about 516 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


ROB Camra left this review about The Lass O' Gowrie

For some reason this pub was voted as the "Great British Pub Of The Year" by The Publican. God knows why on this latest showing. It hasn't even managed to make the GBG2013. We had been to the Hail The Ale Beer Festival just around the corner at the Palace Hotel. All GBG2013 landlords from Greater Manchester were invited, so you might have thought that this pub might have made an effort. Just 2 beers available from their 10 handpumps although the Ministry Of Ale False Economy that I had was a fair pint. This is a common problem in here and every time you ask why there are only 2 beers on you get told that "Supply problems sometimes occur you know". Well they don't in most other pubs. My colleague asked for a pie from the warmer behind the bar, he was told he couldn't have one unless he bought mash with it. Pathetic. A plea to the manageress just got a blunt and unfriendly, "No". Poor, slow, miserable service and a very limited selection of beer. No real reason to call in again for a while.

30/03/2010
Called in again on Saturday with 7 of the handpumps in use. Had Allgates Jabba The Hop and Howard Town Wren's Nest. Both were good. There are old Space Invaders tables around the place and there's usually some sort of art exhibition going on. I always feel that the beer is a little inconsistent in here, but I keep calling in for one.

On 13th November 2012 - rating: 3
[User has posted 2870 recommendations about 2789 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about The Lass O' Gowrie

Located in the city centre, close to the BBC, you might see someone off that prog called Cori. Good range of real ales served, staff good and friendly well worth a visit.

On 18th March 2011 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2976 recommendations about 2976 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Nick Johnstone left this review about The Lass O' Gowrie

20 of us met in here for a Spurs game at man.city last season from as far afield as Belfast, Newcastle and London. We went in there on a recommendation and it didnt disappoint. Will be back as soon as Spurs are.

On 3rd March 2011 - rating: 8
[User has posted 98 recommendations about 98 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Danny O'Revey left this review about The Lass O' Gowrie

Excellent quirky pub near Oxford Road station. Has a superb tiled exterior.

The main room is a little dark and its long with a tile/wood floor and brick pillars. The bar is at one end and there is a smaller 'library' type room in the middle of the pub. Benches and high stools the 'library' is a little more comfortable. There is a small exterior patio adjoining the river (though don't expect gorgeous river vistas!

Rock/indie music in background, there are a number of old arcade machines, including a table top Glaxians! Apparently they have a games night once a week.

Beer quality was excellent & its in Good Beer Guide 2010. 3 real ales, including local brews (Allbrights on my visit)

Very much to my personal taste, its an informal, quirky ale bar.

On 31st August 2010 - rating: 9
[User has posted 1281 recommendations about 1258 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about The Lass O' Gowrie

Splendid traditional pub, with a slightly ramshackle feel to the interior which adds to rather than subtracts from the charm of the place. The bar is in the 'Velveted Saloon', but the snug off to the side is a great spot just to sit and ponder the wonders of the universe with a pint in hand. There is also a small balcony overlooking the Medlock. Beer-wise, only six of the ten handpumps were in use, and most of these (apart from the 'house' Betty's Best) were Greene King offerings, but my pint of the Spitting Feathers Dark Velvet Mild (£2.70) guest ale was excellent. Quite rightly, one of Manchester's 'destination' pubs.

On 4th July 2010 - rating: 8
[User has posted 6222 recommendations about 6222 pubs]

Page: 1 2