User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
It's Chriiiiiiiiistmas! with Mobyduck on the Pub Forum

Lass O'Gowrie, Manchester

36 Charles Street
Manchester
M1 7DB

Return to pub summary

Page: 1 2

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Quinno _ left this review about Lass O'Gowrie

Beautiful brown Majolica tiled exterior. Perhaps surprisingly a Greene King pub (how far their tentacles stretch these days…). A fair bit of (modernised) character inside, a long thin main area with a nice room off to the side, this is carpeted with a marble fireplace and purple velveteen banquette; the oppressive dark green walls let it down though, very claustrophobic. A quiz was in full flow with an impressive amount of ignorance on display – I’d have fancied myself for a podium finish. Four cask on the go from a forest of pumps (testament I suppose, to either the Death Of Cask or a long-overdue reduction in order to keep it shifting) consisting of 2x GK and two guests; my Mobberley Bunji was fine if not exactly stellar for a GBG ‘22 listed pub (NBSS 3) but that’s Manchester CAMRA for you. There may also have been a cider but my notes don’t match my memory. Worth a widdle for the vintage ceramic urinals. Crawl fodder, this one. 6.5

On 16th May 2022 - rating: 6
[User has posted 4361 recommendations about 4347 pubs]


Rob Hunter left this review about The Lass O'Gowrie

Visited on Friday afternoon. 8 hand pulls at the bar, of which 4 were on. One of these was a cider (Rosie's Pig) with the ales consisting of Sundowner (Wily Fox), Moral Panic (Twisted Wheel) and Gangly Ghoul (Greene King). Initially I thought there were no Greene King beers on at all, which puzzled me, but I later discovered the Gangly Ghoul is a GK seasonal bitter - although I think GK sometimes do their best to hide the brewery name on some of their seasonal beers in order to catch people out!

The Moral panic set me back £2 for a half and was very pleasant. I'd have been very tempted to stay for the Sundowner too, but I had a train to catch!

Noisy and lively on Friday afternoon, but with enough space that I found a seat without issue.

Oh and if Mr Mapp happens to read this - I believe the Lass O'Gowrie is back in the 2022 GBG.

On 15th November 2021 - rating: 8
[User has posted 678 recommendations about 560 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Ian Mapp left this review about The Lass O'Gowrie

Had planned to go when it was in the 2019 Good Beer Guide. Strangely lost its place in the 2020 guide.

Cant think why - I didnt notice any of the Greene Kings Staples - but five LocALE, all lovingly described with further indications provided by the sample pots. My Deepley Dale Optimum was a perfect bitter.

So the beer is great but what about the building?

A delight - all dark tiling inside and out.

Fine traditional pub that should be visited.

On 16th December 2019 - rating: 9
[User has posted 937 recommendations about 929 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Rob Hunter left this review about The Lass O'Gowrie

Visited on Saturday night. Eight hand pulls at the bar but unfortunately half of these were off. Despite being a Greene King pub, the redeeming factor is that they do have guest ales available and thankfully that remained the case on Saturday despite the barren nature of the pumps. We went for the For Pete's Sake by Northern Monkey Brew Co which was pretty good.

Very busy so it was standing room only, but we were only staying for one so not a problem.

I quite like this pub - it's a nice building and there is usually something interesting on the pumps to take your fancy. It's also only a short walk from Oxford Road station, so quite convenient for a last drink before catching the train.

On 30th September 2019 - rating: 8
[User has posted 678 recommendations about 560 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Soup Dragon left this review about The Lass O'Gowrie

This is a really nice glaze tiled Victorian corner pub with patio area, which is sadly owned by Greene King. The interior has a main room in brick, green and red, with photos of Manchester and Manchester bands on the walls. There are a few instruments dotted about. There is a snug room, with a nice old fireplace and comfy bench seats. They do food. The TV was on some daytime tosh and silent, the music was at a decent level. The service was very good and only a small group of mature blokes were in. 5 real ales on: GK Barmy Army, Wickwar Platform 6, Maitland Clogmaker and Knockerupper, Northern Monkey Rub a Dub Dub. The two Maitland ones were decent enough. Worth a visit.

On 21st July 2018 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 3067 recommendations about 3062 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Al Bundy left this review about The Lass O' Gowrie

A fine traditional Irish styled pub. Nice both outside and in. 8 handpumps of which 5 were on, their own beer Lass Somethin-or-other and 4 rotating guests. Pictures of Manchester bands dotted around the walls, The Smiths, Joy Division and the like. An outside area to the side to watch building work. A decent pub.

On 17th August 2015 - rating: 8
[User has posted 3445 recommendations about 3353 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Nick Davies left this review about The Lass O' Gowrie

Rumour has it it's changed hands lately but that wouldn't explain just two beers on offer when we called the other day, GK IPA (sigh)and the house bitter, which was perfectly fine. Certainly a change since the last time we were in town two or three years ago. Whatever, it is an interesting pub with some nice features, especially the snug, and well worth a visit. Probably the best bet later in the week when the average age in most of the other venues locally descends into the low 20s.

On 29th September 2013 - rating: 7
[User has posted 552 recommendations about 544 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


ROB Camra left this review about The Lass O' Gowrie

For some reason this pub was voted as the "Great British Pub Of The Year" by The Publican. God knows why on this latest showing. It hasn't even managed to make the GBG2013. We had been to the Hail The Ale Beer Festival just around the corner at the Palace Hotel. All GBG2013 landlords from Greater Manchester were invited, so you might have thought that this pub might have made an effort. Just 2 beers available from their 10 handpumps although the Ministry Of Ale False Economy that I had was a fair pint. This is a common problem in here and every time you ask why there are only 2 beers on you get told that "Supply problems sometimes occur you know". Well they don't in most other pubs. My colleague asked for a pie from the warmer behind the bar, he was told he couldn't have one unless he bought mash with it. Pathetic. A plea to the manageress just got a blunt and unfriendly, "No". Poor, slow, miserable service and a very limited selection of beer. No real reason to call in again for a while.

30/03/2010
Called in again on Saturday with 7 of the handpumps in use. Had Allgates Jabba The Hop and Howard Town Wren's Nest. Both were good. There are old Space Invaders tables around the place and there's usually some sort of art exhibition going on. I always feel that the beer is a little inconsistent in here, but I keep calling in for one.

On 13th November 2012 - rating: 3
[User has posted 2982 recommendations about 2899 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about The Lass O' Gowrie

Located in the city centre, close to the BBC, you might see someone off that prog called Cori. Good range of real ales served, staff good and friendly well worth a visit.

On 18th March 2011 - rating: 8
[User has posted 3073 recommendations about 3073 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Nick Johnstone left this review about The Lass O' Gowrie

20 of us met in here for a Spurs game at man.city last season from as far afield as Belfast, Newcastle and London. We went in there on a recommendation and it didnt disappoint. Will be back as soon as Spurs are.

On 3rd March 2011 - rating: 8
[User has posted 98 recommendations about 98 pubs]

Page: 1 2