User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Wetherspoon's news of the day with Aqualung on the Pub Forum

The Lock Keeper, Chester Central, Chester

Canal Side
Chester
CH1 3LH

Return to pub summary

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Al Bundy left this review about The Lock Keeper

Hard to disagree with Mr Bs thoughts. Horribly dull with the large open plan interior fairly generic. Fizz-u-likes on the bar and, though pleasant enough, the bar staff always seem to have a vacant look on their faces. If you are going to drink here it's best to sit outside.

On 7th April 2019 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 3367 recommendations about 3283 pubs]


Jon B left this review about The Lock Keeper

frankly it’s awful. A soulless, sparse nightclub like interior (with loud nightclub music to match), expensive crap beer and kids running around the beer garden. two stars for the location only.

On 6th April 2019 - rating: 2
[User has posted 640 recommendations about 630 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Steve C left this review about The Lock Keeper

The main draw of the Lock Keeper is the large canal-side patio seating area that was busy during my Tuesday afternoon visit. The interior consists of dining areas to the left and right of the entrance and a small bar on the rear wall to the left of some snugs in the right rear corner. There was some low background music playing and the lone plasma screen was off with no signs of Sky Sports. During my visit the only draught available was Carling and cask Cumberland Ale, which I found strange for a Tuesday. The service was friendly and apologetic. I would return here on a sunny day for some al fresco drinking.

On 20th August 2018 - rating: 6
[User has posted 3546 recommendations about 3525 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about The Lock Keeper

Certainly looks the business, with the substantial front patio having a fine canal-side location. However, the various seating / dining areas within the opened-out interior have been refurbished in a light, semi-modern style devoid of character. The real ale offering left almost everything to be desired too, with only Doom Bar (£3.50) available from the pair of handpumps on the counter. Overall, could do a lot better.

On 22nd January 2018 - rating: 5
[User has posted 5808 recommendations about 5808 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Oggwyn Great left this review about The Lock Keeper

No real ales on during my visit and the pulls looked as if they had not been used for some time so i had a bottle of Morretti , it looked fairly spartan behind the bar with the fridges looking pretty bare .
It was a sunny lunchtime so we sat in the beer garden overlooking the canal , it was a pleasant place to while away the time except for the loud cheesy euro-pop music blasting out from the pub .
This could be a really good pub with its great location , but its not .

On 6th May 2017 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 772 recommendations about 662 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about The Lock Keeper

A decent pub this one, with a choice of three ales on handpump, mainly nationals only, so went for the Hobgoblin.
The interior of the pub is smart and quite top end. The main lounge and bar area consisted of polished timber work and the side lounge consisted of painted walls and woodwork finished in modern and appealing colours. The service here was efficient and friendly.

On 10th January 2016 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2905 recommendations about 2905 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


ROB Camra left this review about The Lock Keeper

Refurbished and much improved since the Frog & Nightingale days. The clientele have been seriously upgraded as well. It's now owned by the same small chain that own the 2 B-Lounges in Manchester and it does feel more like a lounge now. Lot's of bric-a-brac around the walls and on the free standing displays. The canalside patio is a fantastic place to sit and watch the world go by. It looks like this pub may now be Marston's tied as Hobgoblin & Brakspear Oxford Gold were the 2 cask beers available, although there are 3 handpumps. My pint of Hobgoblin was in good nick and the other half liked her red wine. Worth a visit now, if not a long session.

On 9th May 2013 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2748 recommendations about 2676 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Soup Dragon left this review about The Frog & Nightingale

A large canalside pub, white rendered with red paintwork and beer patio.

Open plan, with a wood floor, this place doubles as a music venue. The decor is yellow, red and a sort of bamboo colour, with wood panel, and there are wood benches, with usual tables and chairs. I didnt really see much in the way of pictures and things. Background music was eay listening and an ok level, service was fine enough but there wasnt a soul in.

Beer; usual tap stuff, with Spekky Hen, which was OK and Bombardier on handpull.

I think this place would have been better if drinking in the sun by the canal, or watching a gig. It just didnt have anything on our visit.

On 29th October 2009 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 3053 recommendations about 3048 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Dale Miles left this review about The Frog & Nightingale

sits on the bank of the shropshire union canal, a mecca for chester race goers and students, good sports pub with large screen, nice beer and a pleasure sitting on the patio next to the canal. has live bands on at the weekends.

On 14th May 2008 - rating: 6
[User has posted 184 recommendations about 182 pubs]