User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
pubs galore bar with sheffield hatter on the Pub Forum

Chamberlain Hotel, Aldgate, EC3

130-135 Minories
EC3
EC3N 1NU
Phone: 02076801500

Return to pub summary

Pub Type

Fuller's

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 6 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about Chamberlain Hotel

Part of a Fullers hotel, featuring a large semi-traditional bar with a mix of furniture in various seating areas. Despite having nine handpumps at various points along the, only Seafarers, Pride, ESB and Gales Fire Cracker (£4.30) were available. Overall, a bit disappointing.

On 17th November 2014 - rating: 6
[User has posted 6000 recommendations about 6000 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Rex Rattus left this review about Chamberlain Hotel

This adjunct to the Chamberlain Hotel is a very large characterless, pubco chain like pub. Unfortunately it doesn’t have the luxurious elegance of some hotel bars. It has its share of tall tables and chairs, although it’s large enough to accommodate sufficient normal tables and chairs as well. There’s an area to the back where all the tables are laid for diners, perhaps where the hotel’s residents enjoy their breakfast.

The ales were from Fuller’s range of course, comprising Pride (obviously), ESB, Wild River, and Gale’s Seafarers (£3.90 a pint). Food was available of course, although I didn’t bother to scrutinise a menu. This is one of the poorer Fuller’s pubs I have visited. I usually quite like their pubs, so I was abit disappointed with this characterless drinking barn. The Seafarers was average at best. I can’t see me returning to this bar.

On 13th November 2014 - rating: 4
[User has posted 2575 recommendations about 2493 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Danny O'Revey left this review about Chamberlain Hotel

Part of the Chamberlain Hotel this is a large open room with high benches to the street window. All very smart in a traditional grand bar wayits an expensive Fullers place. Very quiet on my visit - possibly soething to do with the prices!?

Fullers range of beers the quality is ok if nothing brilliant.

On 18th August 2014 - rating: 6
[User has posted 1276 recommendations about 1253 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


john gray left this review about Chamberlain Hotel

Fullers pubs are pretty dependable in central London if you want comfortable surroundings, decent food and a good range of their beer.I have found their regular beers a bit dull recently so good to see their Summer beer on.

On 28th June 2014 - rating: 6
[User has posted 940 recommendations about 927 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


E TA left this review about Chamberlain Hotel

A Fullers pub/hotel with a large bar. It provides a good mix of eating and vertical drinking areas, while the toilets are in the basement. Meals are not cheap, but this is The City. Pleasant floral displays decorate the windows at the front, a nice touch in the concrete jungle. Free wifi is available. They carry the complete range of Fullers ales. I had a pint of Seafarers which was in very good condition, though maybe a little too cold. I'd be happy to return for a snack or a crawl.

On 2nd December 2013 - rating: 6
[User has posted 2532 recommendations about 2510 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


James London left this review about Chamberlain Hotel

Unsure what this place is doing on the site, it is essentially a hotel bar, which is reflected in the prices. Don’t get me wrong it’s an adequate enough place, though sadly it just doesn’t have that Pub feel to it. It also, for those Ale Nuts amongst us, does use a nitro blanket on it’s ales, shamefully. The normal selection of Fuller’s and Gales is available, but it has turned a little hit and miss recently.

On 6th August 2009 - rating: 6
[User has posted 17 recommendations about 17 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Roger Button left this review about Chamberlain Hotel

One of 6 Hotels runs by Fullers in London and whilst it may effectively be a hotel bar, it is for the most part a pub in its own right. The interior is smart and spacious with a slightly upmarket edge although it does feel a bit identikit. Furnishings include the now ubiquitous loungy sofa and tub chair areas and it's all geared to a relaxing session although my visit was on a Saturday afternoon and I would guess that the sedate atmosphere is a little livelier during the week.

The range of Fullers beers is second to none – pretty much the whole range was on offer but the prices are hideous. I was charged £5.45 for a pint of Hock (the seasonal Fullers beer at the time of my visit) and half a Discovery although a quick glimpse at the price list on the way out revealed the price range of Ales to be around £3.40 a pint so I reckon the otherwise welcoming barman may have had major arithmetic meltdown.

The major plus is that it is one of the few pubs in the area to open on a Saturday (and I would guess Sunday as well) but at these prices (even without any shortchanging barstaff), I am not sure I would want to make it a regular stop.

On 2nd August 2009 - rating: 5
[User has posted 1238 recommendations about 1232 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Quinno _ left this review about Chamberlain Hotel

A decent hotel bar, kitted out in dark mahogany-esque wood - posh. The Fullers beer range is relatively limited given the size of the bar (only four of the potential six on although they were carrying the seasonal London Porter) but what came out tasted fine, though rather pricey. Severely lacked atmosphere on my lunchtime visit, in fact I think for the most part me and my mates were the only ones in there.

Not worth going out of the way for but a decent stop for a quick pint if you want their seasonal. I wouldn't want to pay similar prices for a pint of Pride or Discovery here though.

On 1st July 2008 - rating: 6
[User has posted 3969 recommendations about 3957 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


john mcgraw left this review about Chamberlain Hotel

Large Fuller's pub attached to one of their hotels.Very spacious with very friendly staff.The full range of Fuller's beers on with Pride in top form.5 mins from Aldgate station.

On 16th November 2006 - rating: 10
[User has posted 2043 recommendations about 2024 pubs]