User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Random news of the day with Spinko on the Pub Forum

The Liberty Bounds (JD Wetherspoon), Tower Hill, EC3

15 Trinity Square
EC3
EC3N 4AA
Phone: 02074810513

Return to pub summary

Pub Type

J D Wetherspoon
Page: 1 2

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Malden man left this review about The Liberty Bounds (JD Wetherspoon)

Corner location Spoons with a mezzanine floor upstairs above the bar. Stairs at each end. Fairly busy on a Friday lunchtime with mostly what seemed to be tourists refuelling on cheap JDW meals. Uninspiring choice of ales for the brand.
Much of the decor on the walls is taken up by false leather book covers on shelves, a bit naff. Views of the Tower from upstairs across the busy main road.

On 25th February 2022 - rating: 5
[User has posted 1695 recommendations about 1669 pubs]


Graham Coombs left this review about The Liberty Bounds (JD Wetherspoon)

A large Spoons in a fairly splendid building close to the Tower of London and Trinity House. Inside has been rather spoiled by inserting an upper level over the bar, which means both downstairs and upstairs have rather claustrophobically low ceilings, worsened by a excess of Covid partitions. The best part is the mezzanine level, which also benefits from nice views through the large windows. The draught ales were reasonable, with Daleside Old Legover, Nottingham Supreme and Sambrooks Pumphouse joining the usuals. Perfectly adequate.

On 1st December 2021 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2660 recommendations about 2603 pubs]


Rob Hunter left this review about The Liberty Bounds (JD Wetherspoon)

A nice smart looking Spoons on the outside, but now that restrictions have eased it has become a typical Spoons inside with tables not wiped down etc. We went, as a family, for something to eat, but were told we had to go upstairs by the security chap - which is not ideal with a pram and no lift! Thankfully we were able to find a table on the raised area so only had a handful of steps to struggle up rather than a full flight to the 'proper' upper level.

This is another Spoons pub that just has one guest ale - at the time of my visit this was Westward Ho! by Summerskills Brewery - which was OK but a bit more choice would have been welcome.

No complaints with the food or service overall.

On 23rd August 2021 - rating: 7
[User has posted 678 recommendations about 560 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Ian Mapp left this review about The Liberty Bounds (JD Wetherspoon)

I get they are providing a service and my low rating is purely on the enjoyment that I found during a visit.

Opposite the Tower - its peak tourist location. Every table taken. Queues at the bar, managed well by overworked staff.

The background noise was out of this world. I found a perch, nicked a stool and got a headache.

All this whilst a jobbing high viz jacketed security guard patrolled, with the most bored looking expression on his face.

Here for the Good Beer Guide and won't be returning.

On 2nd March 2020 - rating: 3
[User has posted 989 recommendations about 981 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Bucking Fastard left this review about The Liberty Bounds (JD Wetherspoon)

Very close to the Tower of London and the signs everywhere to mind your bags together with a high viz security guard patrolling the interior doesn't give a welcoming first impression.However I visited on a cold Wednesday at 5pm and the pub was not jammed.The interior with it's anchor themed carpet is one of the better 'spoons attempts,with raised seating areas below the vast glass windows,high tables opposite the bar area while up some stairs was a calm lounge broken up by wood clad columns and a balcony view over the lower areas.
The bar has two ranks of 6 handpumps with regular GK IPA and Abbott,Doom Bar,London Pride and Adnams Broadside but with guests Lymestone Ein Stein,Maxim Samson,Cotleigh Red Nosed Rheindeer, a real cider,Hook Norton Twelve Days Porter,an International festival ale and Salopian Golden Thread (£3.29,NBSS 2.5).Thankfully no "available soon" malarkey and I can see why the local CAMRA branch have awarded this pub 2020 GBG status.
Better then I feared,it's still a 'spoons but with 6 guest ales you may find a decent pint.

On 21st November 2019 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2383 recommendations about 2383 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about The Liberty Bounds (JD Wetherspoon)

A one off visit sufficed as the pub was very busy with overseas tourists, nothing wrong with that, more the merrier in my opinion. It was just that the majority of them block the main entrance, as you're trying to get in or out and also stand in front of the bar. They also seem to treat the pub as a themed tourist attraction, to take in a pint of English beer. Two banks of six pumps, so we went for a quick half of Adnam's Ghost Ship and Naylor's Velvet and then scurried around the corner to the Draft House.

On 18th June 2019 - rating: 5
[User has posted 3121 recommendations about 3121 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Pub SignMan left this review about The Liberty Bounds (JD Wetherspoon)

I wonder if there is a more 'touristy' Wetherspoons pub in the UK than the Liberty Bounds - if there is, I haven't been there. Sat just over the road from the Tower of London, close to Tower Hill tube station and affording good views down towards the Thames, this is an inevitable magnet for foreign holidaymakers, families on day trips and folk who have landed in the city from nearby Fenchurch Street station. Thankfully the pub is big enough to be able to deal with the inevitable large volume of customers it attracts, spread across two roughly equal sized floors, each with their own fully stocked bar. The floors mirror one another, with carpeted seating areas towards the front and on either side and serveries along the rear wall. The ground floor has a slightly elaborate layout with various bits of wall, pillars and partitioning screens breaking the space up and creating fairly distinctive seating areas - a feeling enhanced further by the raised front seating area. A few large tapestry works can be viewed here and I also noted some large sculptures including a headless queen, all of which has presumably been added to create some sort of visual link to the Tower. Elsewhere, there is the usual mix of 'Spoons seating including some booths and a sea of standard tables and chairs. Similar seating arrangements can be found upstairs and the booths here all had nice recessed images, such as one which I noticed had a copy of the Mariner's Mirror on show. Fake bookcases can also be found here and there are some reclaimed wooden panels and stained glass partitioning screens that combine to good effect. Over to the left there were a couple of very small, curved snugs which seat two people and were both filled with snogging couple on my recent visit. We got chatting to a Canadian couple who had thankfully refrained from such public displays of affection and they told us that they liked the pub but were put of by the countless warning signs alerting customers to the threat of bag thieves, including a six foot tall board to the side of the bar.
On my late November visit there were five regular 'Spoons ales on handpull plus another five guest ales, with the final two pumps downstairs left unclipped. I tried a pint of Oakham JHB which was perfectly serviceable once the staff finally decided they should stop chatting and focus on serving me. A re-visit on New Years Eve saw a load of Christmas themed beers on and both the ones I tried were in pretty good shape.
I found this place pretty manic and was rather pleased that I visited later in the day when it was at least free of children. The service was sloppy, the beer was so-so and the customers were mostly clueless, but I at least had a good view and managed to visit twice without having my bag pinched, so this one rates as fairly average with the potential to be pretty good or pretty dire depending on how you time your visit.

On 10th January 2015 - rating: 5
[User has posted 2813 recommendations about 2813 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Danny O'Revey left this review about The Liberty Bounds (JD Wetherspoon)

Nice enough Wetherspoons near Tower of London & Fenchurch Street station.

Panelled walls and a stately theme in a historic way with various areas for seating.

Standard beers with a couple of more individual.

On 18th August 2014 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1353 recommendations about 1330 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Aqualung . left this review about The Liberty Bounds (JD Wetherspoon)

This is a large Spoons in a building that looks like it could have been a bank. It was very busy at around 19:30 on a Saturday evening with a couple of slightly leery groups obstructing the bar.
I counted twelve pumps with two ciders, GK IPA and Abbot, Sambrook's Pumphouse Pale, Milk Street Zig Zag Stout, Dorking Gold, Adnam's Broadside and Banks's Howling Wolf. There were also three beers making a pre-festival appearance, Thwaite's Half Nelson, Marston's Ballast Point Even Keel and Banks's Harpoon IPA. I went for the Harpoon IPA at £3.20. This is a GBG listed pub so I was disappointed to find this pint wasn't clear and had obviously not been given enough time to settle.
Another disappointing Central London Spoons.

On 13th October 2013 - rating: 5
[User has posted 2143 recommendations about 2143 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about The Liberty Bounds (JD Wetherspoon)

One of the better 'spoons, well placed for the Tower of London and Tower Bridge but far enough away to avoid the hordes. Numerous different seating area on various levels, some with good views, others rather gloomy. Interesting picture window above the side door. Usually has a good selection of beer from the 12 handpumps in both the ground and first floor bars, including North Yorkshire's Flying Herbert on my latest visit. Unusually, it has a separate wine list too.

On 24th September 2013 - rating: 7
[User has posted 7108 recommendations about 7108 pubs]

Page: 1 2