User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Favourite Bands with Al Bundy on the Pub Forum

The Garrick Arms, Leicester Square, WC2

8-10 Charing Cross Road
WC2
WC2H 0HG
Phone: 02072405556

Return to pub summary

Pub Type

Greene King

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 5 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Graham Coombs left this review about The Garrick Arms

An old pub on Charing Cross Road which has been modernised to give an open plan feel but still retains a few original features. The bar has been resurfaced in plastic with a curious circular section and there is an assortment of furniture including some random pieces. Not sure about the arty light fittings though, and despite labelling itself as a "Gin Palace" it isn't one. Draught beers seemed to be in good condition though, with Abbot, IPA, and Portobello Star on pump as well as a couple of ciders.

On 2nd October 2018 - rating: 6
[User has posted 2194 recommendations about 2145 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about The Garrick Arms

Reasonably large single-room Greene King pub, with a fairly bright interior and a few features of interest (including floor tiles along counter and a number of small chandeliers). Five handpumps on the counter, and thankfully the expected IPA and Abbot were supplemented by Landlord, Wainwright and Redemption Hopspur (£4.05) on my latest visit. Nothing special, but handy for the attractions around Leicester Square and Trafalgar Square but just off the main tourist routes so usually possible to get a seat.

On 11th September 2014 - rating: 6
[User has posted 6000 recommendations about 6000 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


john gray left this review about The Garrick Arms

Nice busy pub but its Gk so limited choice on the beers but they did have Belhaven -grand slam and the guest was Betty stoggs.Better beers and I would re-visit.

On 29th March 2014 - rating: 5
[User has posted 933 recommendations about 920 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Rex Rattus left this review about The Garrick Arms

This is a Greene King pub with the usual stuff available, but they did have on something called "Garrick Bitter", which was somewhat surprisingly better than the standard GK ales. Standard pubco food ws available of course.

This is a relatively recent conversion from something, but I just can't remember what the building was previously. Anyway, inside it's a typically soulless West End pub. The usual furnishings are here, including tall tables and tall stools, sofas, bucket armchairs but with a couple of token normal tables and chairs. Being a Friday in the West End, the pub was busy with a mix of tourists and office workers unwinding at the end of the week with all manner of outlandish looking drinks. The noise levels were high of course, aided by the bare-boarded floor and high celing, and augmented by the bass thump of some unrecognisable song. I'm not a great fan of Greene King ales, so this was my first and probably my last visit.

On 18th March 2013 - rating: 5
[User has posted 2575 recommendations about 2493 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Roger Button left this review about The Garrick Arms

Situated in the heart of theatreland and close to Leicester Square, this Greene King establishment sells itself as a “Traditional” Pub despite only being opened 6/7 years ago having previously a continental style café / bar. The floral basket exterior and Fish and Chips sandwich board outside will be more likely to attract passing tourists than discerning drinkers.

The interior is a decent sized single room with the bar down the right hand side and alarge central pillar being the only only break from it feeling a bit like on oversized shoe box. The décor is pleasant without being remarkable and the furnishings pubby rather than loungey. There is tiled flooring around the bar with carpeted edges and a bare wooden floor in the central area. A single flat screen TV is housed in one corner and there is piped music in the background at a tolerable level.
Tall windows at front and the high ceiling give an airy and spacious feel and I would guess from my notes a couple of years ago that they have had a fairlr recent redecoration as it does look a bit fresher than my previous visit when paper was hanging off the ceiling and it all looked a bit stale

5 Ales were advertised however my first choice (the seasonal Gangly Ghoul) wasn’t available. Second choice London Glory was fine and at £3.55 about par for the area. The Greene King Trinity of IPA, Speckled Hen and Abbott made up the rest of the pumps. Food was reasonably priced pub grub tourist fare with main courses around £6-£9.

Whilst I have never encountered any major problems among the customer base, a mix of tourists and office workers and the occasional ‘sleb from the nearby radio studios and film company offices, the pub did hit the headlines a few years ago when ex Blue Peter presenter turned DJ Richard Bacon famously got a pasting in the bogs downstairs.

Overall the pub is very run of the mill and lacks any intimacy but I have never seen it it so stupidly packed and does occasionally make a decent place to meet someone in relative comfort before moving on.

On 16th November 2011 - rating: 5
[User has posted 1238 recommendations about 1232 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


BobOs . left this review about The Garrick Arms

So-so pub that always appears to be packed and also has disinterested staff. The only saving grace being that four ales are usually on offer. For London, distinctly average and not worth going out of your way for.

On 12th July 2011 - rating: 5
[User has posted 370 recommendations about 355 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Steve C left this review about The Garrick Arms

Along with the standard and premium lagers that were available during my visit two out of the four ales were off leaving Old Speckled Hen and IPA in this Greene King pub. The barman was nice enough but I found this to be a bland pub with as much atmosphere as the bus stop outside.

On 29th April 2009 - rating: 4
[User has posted 3586 recommendations about 3565 pubs]