User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Yet another list with Mobyduck on the Pub Forum

The Devereux, Temple, WC2

20 Devereux Court, Essex Street
The Strand
WC2
WC2R 3JJ
Phone: 02075834562

Return to pub summary

Pub Type

Taylor Walker (Spirit Pubs)
Page: 1 2

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 6 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Tris C left this review about The Devereux

Not visited for 7 years, but a regular haunt at the time, this was a decent, carpeted backstreet boozer which one wouldn't expect to find in the heart of London's legal district. A tiny lav, carpeted, conventional furniture to the rear with some taller stuff towards the front and a very friendly and welcoming landlord. Perhaps it could have done with a lick of paint but otherwise this was a decent, simple pub.

On 30th March 2017 - rating: 6
[User has posted 912 recommendations about 899 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Quinno _ left this review about The Devereux

Being flogged by Greene King as 'unviable' (as if!). Closes Feb 26th

August 2011
Popped in here on my way to the Edgar to see what I may be missing. Tucked away in a narrow courtyard away from any main rod at the edge of the Temple, the building dates from 1676. The L-shaped interior is a rather sterile affair and quite chainy, all stripped wood and neutral colours. That said, it was spik and span and there was the odd interesting touch – the intricate cornices the large curtain pulled back to divide the two dining areas and a few semi-booths. Four ales to choose from – TT Landlord, Youngs Special (or was it Ordinary?), Viking (that’s what my notes say, anyway) and Woodefords Wherry. I sampled the latter and at £3.50p/p was a bit steep but the quality was very good indeed. The menu looked reasonably priced with standard mid-range pub cuisine advertised. No world beater but a decent place that is aimed squarely at the local employees of the law firms in the vicinity. If you’re nearby, it might be worth poking your head through the door to see what’s on. Rated 6

On 11th February 2017 - rating: 6
[User has posted 3904 recommendations about 3892 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


hondo . left this review about The Devereux

Tucked away from the main drag the pub is now under the Greene King branding. 5 real ales and food served.

On 25th November 2016 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2580 recommendations about 2524 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about The Devereux

A nice enough basic TW pub, with an enthusiastic barmaid, as we perused the four ales on the bar. The pub wasn't overly busy, compared to it's neighbours, on our visit. The best choice, beer wise was the Truman's Runner and have to say that wouldn't inspire you to stay.

On 29th July 2015 - rating: 5
[User has posted 2844 recommendations about 2844 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about The Devereux

Re-branded as a Taylor Walker house since my last visit over five years ago, but little else seems to have changed in that time. Usual sort of traditional London pub furniture and decor, with plenty of dark wood around. The main part of the bar is in the upper section of the 'L'-shaped layout, supplemented by the upstairs Templar Room for those dining. Only three of the five handpumps were in operation this time, with Doom Bar, Tribute and a decent pint of Truman's Runner (£4.25) on offer. Overall, not a bad place, and being slightly more hidden away than some of its better-known neighbours you have a fair chance of finding a place to sit if you call in at a busy time.

On 1st February 2014 - rating: 7
[User has posted 5639 recommendations about 5639 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Rex Rattus left this review about The Devereux

This pub is essentially unchanged from PSM’s visit about a year ago. I visited on 31 Oct so, like in PSM’s experience, Hallowe’en tat was everywhere. Taylor Walker seem to have really bought into the Hallowe’en experience which might well be appreciated in some of their pubs, but I expect that it’s totally wasted in this pub which is in the very heart of The Temple’s legal-land. Harmless enough I suppose. But this pub is tucked away in a fairly quiet and peaceful area a stone’s throw from the madness of The Aldwych, and with the delightful Fountain Court through a doorway to the front of the pub.

There were five ales on when we were in there – Hobgoblin (on in every pub we visited on 31 Oct!), Doom Bar, Young’s London Gold, Oxford Ales Trick or Treat, and Colchester No1 (£4.05 a pint). Taylor Walker seemed to have moved away from the glossy menus they’ve favoured in the past, as both TW pubs we visited that day had single sheet menus attached to clipboards. The food wasn’t overly inspiring, but fair enough for the area I suppose. The Big Ben Burger is £10.99, and the cod and chips £11.99.

The pub itself is a standard enough Taylor Walker affair, with the same range of furnishings you tend to see in them all, but this one was surprisingly quiet at lunchtime and actually quite comfortable. I’ve visited here several times in the past, and will no doubt end up in here again sometime.

On 2nd November 2013 - rating: 6
[User has posted 2513 recommendations about 2431 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


john gray left this review about The Devereux

Nice tidy pub with a good range of beers for the less adventurous.Always found the bar staff friendly.Gets quiet later on in the day whe the commuters have left.

On 27th March 2013 - rating: 7
[User has posted 887 recommendations about 875 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Danny O'Revey left this review about The Devereux

Smart high ceilinged formal pub, tables around a central bar, wood floors, dimmed lights, dark wood, dark red and dark green walls with various portraits and photographs on the walls.

Altogether nice and clean if nothing spectacular.

5 real ales, includingSambrooks Wandle and 'Great British Pub Food'

Part of the Taylor Walker collection of pubs.

On 30th January 2013 - rating: 6
[User has posted 1225 recommendations about 1202 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Pub SignMan left this review about The Devereux

This pub is nicely tucked away in an otherwise unassuming courtyard close to the point where the Stand meets Fleet Street and just a short stroll from Temple tube station. The building stands on the former site of Essex House, home of The Earl of Essex, Robert Devereux, after whom the pub is named. Having traded for many years as the Grecian Coffee House, hosting members of the Royal Society such as Edmond Haley and Isaac Newton, the building was eventually converted to a pub in 1843 and now trades under the Taylor Walker brand. The interior comprises a fairly unremarkable single L shaped room with wooden floorboards and padded bench seating running around the perimeter. The walls have been painted a dark shade of red and there is some fancy wallpaper at the rear of the room, all of which combines with the muted lighting to create a warm and cosy ambiance. There are quite a few old paintings and portraits dotted around the room as well as some black and white photos of the local area above the servery and a pub mirror on the back wall with some book shelves above. In the far rear corner there is a small carpeted area with some standard tables and chairs, perhaps best suited for those wanting food, although no-one was eating on my early evening visit, which might be explained by the pricey and somewhat uninspiring menu (fish and chips for £11.50). Music played quietly throughout my stay and, given that my visit was in late October, there was Halloween related tat everywhere you looked.
Four hand pumps were dispensing Wytchwood Hobgoblin, Orkney Dark Island, Hook Norton Hooky Bitter and Young’s London Gold. The very friendly barmaids were quick to serve me, although they did offer up what I reckon must be the most woefully short measure I’ve ever been given. Thankfully a top up was easily obtained and I was left to enjoy a lovely pint of the Dark Island.
It’s always nice to approach a pub with little or no expectations and leave feeling fully satisfied by the time you spent there, and this was certainly the case with my visit to this pub. It might not be at the top of anyone’s list of ‘must do’ pubs, but it is a pleasant place to spend time over a well kept pint and is worth consideration if you’re visiting some of the higher profile ale houses in this part of the city.

On 22nd November 2012 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2307 recommendations about 2307 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Roger Button left this review about The Devereux

Named after Robert Devereaux, the Earl of Essex and occasional pal of Elizabeth I, whose bust can be found perched high on the exterior wall, the Devereaux dates back to 1676 and was originally a coffee house. The interior sadly offers few reminders of its history and comes across as a rather typical, bland and faceless place. A couple of screens and partitions offer a few intimate areas and there is a widescreen TV for sport but on the whole there is very little that attracts the attention. There is a second bar upstairs bar that I have not been to but seems to be more of a function room.

Since my previous visit, the pub has become part of the resurrected Taylor Walker brand that, for me, generally stands out for being mundane and very run of the mill. The ale range consisted of a corporate selection of Greene King IPA, Doom Bar, Youngs London Gold, Bombardier and Adnams Lighthouse which at £3.50 for a 3.4 beer is quite outrageous even for this prime slot of London Real Estate. A glance at the forthcoming beers (London Pride, Courage Directors, Tribute and Spitfire) suggests that an adventurous ale policy is hardly a major priority. The food was equally predictable with a general pub grub menu, main courses around £8-£10.

Overall, there is nothing particularly wrong with the pub but it feels too much like a place for tourists in a back street that tourists wouldn’t generally venture. Pleasant enough as it is, with 3 or 4 other pubs within close proximity, I generally find myself using the Devereaux as little more than a tick box pub.

On 3rd August 2011 - rating: 6
[User has posted 1238 recommendations about 1232 pubs]

Page: 1 2