User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Random news of the day with london calling on the Pub Forum

Shepherds Tavern, W1

50 Hertford Street
W1
W1J 7SS
Phone: 02074993017

Return to pub summary

Pub Type

Taylor Walker (Spirit Pubs)

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 5 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Steve of N21 left this review about Shepherds Tavern

Having a Christmas meet arranged in the nearby Ye Grapes I thought I would get to Shepherds Market a bit early and take a look at a couple of the other pubs in the market that I could not remember visiting before.
Now the last week before Christmas never gives a true representation of what the normal pub visiting experience is like, but the Shepherds Tavern seemed to be suffering more than its nearby counterparts with the festive crowds in that when making it through the throng to reach the bar I was greeted with three reverse clipped pumps and a solitary GK IPA ale still on. Didn’t matter how thirsty I was by this point I wasn’t staying for that so turned and left therefore no rating submitted.
And to confirm with the review below this formerly Taylor Walker outlet is now owned and run by Greene King as is also now the nearby Kings Arms.

On 8th January 2020 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 1712 recommendations about 1661 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Bucking Fastard left this review about Shepherds Tavern

A street corner Greene King pub with a modest interior ,and a first floor bar which will only be operational when busy or if hired.
It's all quite unremarkable,with high circular tables to one side and more traditional two seater tables opposite the bar and a few bar stools for blockers.The usual corporate GK menu will offer the usual pub grub.
There are 4 handpumps offering GK IPA and Abbott (yawn) with guests on my trip of Truman's Blindside and Gypsy Queen (ok).
Not much in here to promote a revisit ,it's all a bit predictable and dull.

On 8th March 2019 - rating: 5
[User has posted 2088 recommendations about 2088 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about Shepherds Tavern

An average one room corner pub, with an upstairs lounge, which I didn't see. Four handpumps, the Truman's Runner was about the best choice, on the day.

On 12th February 2015 - rating: 5
[User has posted 2976 recommendations about 2976 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about Shepherds Tavern

Good location near Shepherd Market, with a typical Taylor Walker interior featuring traditional furniture and decor. Due to lack of available seating in the bar, ventured upstairs for the first time to find a very attractive room with some light-wood panelling (which is certainly worth an extra point on the rating). Four handpumps, dispensing Pride, Westerham 1730, Purity Mad Goose and Truman's Runner (£4.20) on my latest visit.

On 17th November 2014 - rating: 6
[User has posted 6199 recommendations about 6199 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Rex Rattus left this review about Shepherds Tavern

Woodforde Wherry, Timothy Taylor Landlord, London Pride, and Young’s London Gold were all on handpump. This is not the most exciting of ale choices, but it’s a decent enough selection nonetheless. This is a small one-room pub, and being Taylor Walker branded the usual pub grub menu was available.
Furnishings were mainly standard issue tables and chairs, but with a couple of tall tables/stools on the left by the window. Just like any other Taylor Walker pub then. There was a TV on (muted) showing a news channel. The pub has some nice latticed bay windows, but otherwise I didn’t spot anything of note.
This pub was desperately busy on a desperately hot day in late May. In fact Shepherd Market pubs always seem to be very busy, and this one’s no exception. It’s OKfor a swift pint, but to be honest there’s nothing about this pub that would entice me to make a special effort to return.

On 11th June 2012 - rating: 5
[User has posted 2577 recommendations about 2495 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Chris 87 left this review about Shepherds Tavern

Single room pub adjacent to the Curzon Mayfair which myself and a friend ducked into after a film. Pride, Courage Directors and Bombardier on cask, and rather disappointingly a music channel was on the telly rather than soccer saturday. If I was in the area again, I'd give it a swerve and duck into the Market Tavern nearby as it has a better selection of ales.

On 17th January 2010 - rating: 4
[User has posted 179 recommendations about 179 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Steve C left this review about Shepherd's Tavern

There's nothing spectacular about this pub and it is a lot quieter than its peers, partly due to it's location just off the main square and also due to it being very average.

The Spitfire was off, but Pride and Greene King IPA were available alongside Staropramen, Leffe and a standard draught selection. There's not really much to the pub and although there is a plasma screen there are no sports shown on Sky. Even standing on the pavement outside isn't the nicest experience due to umpteen black cabs whizzing around the back streets.

I didn't have any problems with the staff, but I'll still not bother with this place again.

On 1st September 2009 - rating: 5
[User has posted 3586 recommendations about 3565 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Philip Carter left this review about Shepherd's Tavern

Not too bad a place, real ale on sale. Sells food all day.

On 13th January 2007 - rating: 6
[User has posted 753 recommendations about 716 pubs]