User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Bottled Beer Bargain Alert with rpadam on the Pub Forum

The Enterprise, Holborn, WC1

38 Red Lion Street
WC1
WC1R 4PN
Phone: 02074048461

Return to pub summary

Page: 1 2

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Bucking Fastard left this review about The Enterprise

A traditional frontage with two doors gives access to an open plan interior which does retain some decent features.Along the left wall there are a series of large mirrors hung against some good glazed tiling,below which are a rank of traditional tables.The window recess has green leather bound sofas,while the rear section continues this theme with high backed bench seating ,smaller mirrors and a door to a rear partly covered courtyard.The bar in the middle right of the building has some pleasing wood features and some etched glass,while the dark wooden floor throughout goes well with the green wall coverings.There is ephemera dotted about,dog fighting models of a Spitfire and Messerschmitt ,a small sky light and fairy lighting is used extensively and gives chic character.
The soundtrack was first class and played at a sensible volume and really enhanced my visit.Food is burgers and tapas,there is a shooters menu at £3.90. The 4 handpumps were drawing St Austell Proper Job,Doom Bar,Purity UBU and Dark Star Hophead (NBSS 2.5).
Probably more a young persons bar,but there is enough to justify a visit if in the area.

On 29th February 2020 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2087 recommendations about 2087 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Brainy Pool left this review about The Enterprise

A decent London pub with eclectic decor within. Quite characterful and I walked into a busy pub quiz. sadly only fairly boring ales available- Ubu, Hophead and Doom Bar.

On 14th May 2019 - rating: 7
[User has posted 772 recommendations about 753 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Tris C left this review about The Enterprise

An attractive and highly decorated Victorian pub as described below, though I wouldn't describe it as a gastropub. I'd been here once before about 7 years ago and enjoyed it then though being a Friday, it was very full and noisy.

A return visit early week and things are quieter. The duelling RFC and Luftwaffe bi-planes as well as a monoplane hang overhead but the interior - which features stuffed fish in cabinets above the picture rail to the rear - is spoilt somewhat by the aircon units; the gent's also features the increasingly popular urinal video game. Ales: Sharp's Doom Bar, St. Austell's Tribute and Purity's Ubu at £4.20 which didn't taste right. I wonder if it had the wrong clip?

Certainly worth a visit but not a detour, this isn't a must-do pub, though at least we were in when jazz and blues is playing.

On 5th April 2016 - rating: 6
[User has posted 996 recommendations about 981 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about The Enterprise

Attractive-looking pub from the street, with a bay window set between the two doorways (one of which would probably suffice, given the narrow frontage). Inside, it is light and airy near the front, with plenty of interesting features - especially the tiled and mirrored walls, some of the lighting, a selection of eclectic decorations and a rather grand bar which takes up most of one side wall. It gets rather dark as you move further in, but then lighter again towards the back in what was presumably once a separate room before the interior was opened out. Full early on a Friday evening, but (as in many places hereabouts) there were several reserved tables for groups yet to arrive. Three real ales on handpump: Doom Bar, Tribute (£4.20) and Purity Pure UBU on this visit.

On 25th January 2016 - rating: 7
[User has posted 6198 recommendations about 6198 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Quinno _ left this review about The Enterprise

As mentioned below, this is a ‘long and deep’ pub. The front bar is quite nice with large mirrors and some original(?) green tiling, leading to bottle green painted embossed wallpapered area via a picked colour glass skylight. The rear area is painted green with gold swirls, festooned with mirrors and the odd stuffed fish – it really is quite a riot. Didn’t spot the duelling bi-planes though! Overpriced pub grub offered. Busy on my Friday evening visit (notably so compared to other nearby outlets). Three ales at the bar - Doom Bar, Tribute and a distinctly muted Purity UBU. An odd one, it does undeniably have a bit of character and is worth a look without being overly convincing in terms of demanding a revisit. 6.5

On 1st December 2015 - rating: 7
[User has posted 3997 recommendations about 3985 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Malden man left this review about The Enterprise

A long and deep pub which narrows towards the rear, a side wall towards the front has some splendid tiling and inset mirrors, there is a dark wood bar back also with mirrors. Lacquered flooring, white boarded and beamed ceiling, the walls have a dark green embossed wallpaper. A large vase of lilies sat on the corner of the bar. Décor includes framed pints of flora and fauna and a pair of model WW1 biplanes are engaged in a dogfight suspended from the ceiling. Most of the punters were enjoying the sunshine in the yellow painted walled rear courtyard. A wall mounted TV was off while jazz played at background volume.
Three on, Doom Bar, Tribute and Purity Pure Ubu. Food served but I didn't spot anybody eating. I liked it here, a nice relaxing pub with genuine character and a friendly welcome.

On 12th July 2015 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1687 recommendations about 1663 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about The Enterprise

An attractive looking pub especially when lit up of an evening. It consists of bare floor boards large wooden tables and mix and match wooden chairs. It`s deceiving from the outside as the pub goes back quite a way. The Hook Norton was well worth the visit.

On 13th March 2011 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2976 recommendations about 2976 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Nick Davies left this review about The Enterprise

Smallish Victorian boozer which has suffered, though not too seriously, at the hands of the gastrofiers in recent years. The narrow, bay windowed front remains quite attractive and pubby, there's still a fireplace and many of the original features remain. It goes down hill as you go further back. Even further back there's a yard for smokers. Thanks to the bare boards and overloud music it gets very noisy even when not too busy, meaning conversations become shouted. Not a relaxing experience.

Deuchers IPA, Old Hooky and Black Sheep bitter seem to be permanent fixtures.

Pretty average then, you can find better round here.



On 29th January 2010 - rating: 5
[User has posted 524 recommendations about 516 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Steve C left this review about The Enterprise

I'm not a big fan of gastro pubs, but I think that this one has been tastefully decorated in a Victorian style and is a very pleasant place to have a beer. There isn't that big a choice on the draught front with Carling and three premium lagers along with Addlestones and my trusty Guinness which was well served by a very friendly barmaid. There are also three hand pumps which were pouring Black Sheep, Deuchars and Old Hooky about three weeks ago.

The music was a bit loud for my liking, but there were a lot of young drunk woman at the rear of this long pub that seemed to be enjoying it so who am I to complain!

As I mentioned before, this isn't really my sort of place, but I have friends that would like it in here and I would recommend it to them.

On 23rd January 2009 - rating: 7
[User has posted 3586 recommendations about 3565 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Rex Rattus left this review about The Enterprise

Deuchars IPA, Landlord and Black Sheep Bitter on. The Landlord was £3.30 a pint, which is a bit steep for this area. Now bare-boarded throughout, but still retaining what appears to some original Victorian tiling along one wall. The two large models of Great War bi-planes suspended from the ceiling appeared somewhat incongruous in a pub that clearly has gastro-pub aspirations (“buffalo mozzarella, ripe vine tomatoes, fresh basil and Tuscany olive oil in a granary baguette” = cheese and tomato roll). But who really cares? It has been tastefully decorated, is quite comfortable, and is a decent enough pub if you don't mind the prices. They even have a few seats outside at the back for smokers.

On 8th October 2008 - rating: 6
[User has posted 2577 recommendations about 2495 pubs]

Page: 1 2