User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Most seen bands with Pubsignman on the Pub Forum

Lord John Russell, Bloomsbury, WC1

91 Marchmont Street
WC1
WC1N 1AL
Phone: 02073880500

Return to pub summary

Page: 1 2

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


hondo . left this review about Lord John Russell

1 roomed pub festooned with flags on my visit. 6 real ales and food served.

On 29th September 2016 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2692 recommendations about 2636 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Moby Duck left this review about Lord John Russell

Nice looking pub on the exterior with a basic but functional interior as described by Quinno and still decked out in flags as described by Tris C. It was pleasing to see six different ales on,but on closer inspection nothing really grabbed my attention, Caledonian XPA,Youngs Gold,Brains Bitter,Wells Bombardier Glorious English,Trumans Rio Gold and a revived Watneys Pale, I went for the Trumans but found it to be an average beer.
Like Tris below,i'm not likely to return anywhen soon.

On 15th July 2016 - rating: 6
[User has posted 1322 recommendations about 1308 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Tris C left this review about Lord John Russell

Much as described below, with a mix of locals and a few tourists. The place was decked out with flags, presumably remaindered from the Six Nations and looked a bit naff. There's a tiled bar apron, a boarded floor, conventional furniture, a TV (off thankfully) and muted music. The lavatories open directly onto the pub which isn't very attractive.

However, the pub had a varied choice of ales: Jurassic Brewhouse Citrus Maximus, Well's Bombardier Glorious English, Truman's Runner, Brain's Bitter, something from Equinox and Caledonian's Golden XPA which was decent and just £3.60 a pint which is cheap for the area.

Scores points on the ale and price front, but otherwise I can't really see myself coming back.

On 14th April 2016 - rating: 5
[User has posted 953 recommendations about 939 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Quinno _ left this review about Lord John Russell

Almost 10 years to the day I thought I’d do a revisit, as reviews still seem positive elsewhere. And to be fair, this place has got better in the context of the shifting sands of pubs nearby. Still a basic single room with an alehouse feel - worn floorboards, blue padded pew seating and an attractive (if rather battered) curvy bar front. Large plate glass windows and a covered alley beer garden to the side. Lunch (basic pub grub at sensible prices) and Sunday roasts available. An impressive job done on the Xmas decorations. Fairly busy for a Monday afternoon with a mixed crowd and the feel of a true local in the heart of London. Six pumps, all working, with a relatively mid-range choice (my guess is an old S&N tied house?) - Caledonian Edinburgh, Caledonian Golden XPA, Bombardier, Brains Bitter and two more interesting ones in DBA Jurassic and Truman's Swift. I went for half of the Swift and was faintly astonished to be asked for a mere £1.80; 'fresh on too' said the friendly barman and it was certainly in super form. Also noted London Velvet on keg and a guest keg cider. Quite impressed overall; this one has gently improved and kept prices wallet friendly. I enjoyed it here and would call again next time I’m nearby. 7.5 but upscaled to an 8 for the cheapness.

December 2006 I came with high hopes to this place but left feeling underwhelmed – never listen to hype, I suppose. Four beers were on (two Courage handpulls, John Smiths and another dull choice I have forgotten). Still, I haven't seen John Smith's cask for a while. The interior is fairly small and spartan – stripped floors and hard wood seating, plus a couple of large iron columns in awkward places to help hold the ceiling up (ever heard of RSJs?). The piped music veered between sea shanties, jazz and electronica, so at least there's something that's a bit unusual about the place. Not much else of note, really. Overall, this is a slightly above average pub serving slightly above average beer in a slightly above average area. A perfect ‘6’.

On 1st December 2015 - rating: 8
[User has posted 3969 recommendations about 3957 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about Lord John Russell

I wouldn't have stepped in this pub years ago, so wow, what a transformation. The pub now has a very respectable customer base, which is a mixture of locals and the odd tourist from the nearby hotels.
The food menu was popular over the couple of nights we popped in. Six ales on handpump, I went for the Trumans Blindside a good session golden ale.

On 13th February 2015 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2975 recommendations about 2975 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about Lord John Russell

Rectangular bar with a high ceiling and large windows. Traditional furniture and decor. Wooden benches out front, and a side alleyway used as the smokers shelter. Reasonable range from six handpumps: the regular Deuchars IPA, 6X and Bombardier plus Caledonian Autumn Red (£3.60) and beers from Brains and Nethergate Growler. Not a bad spot for a pint if in the area.

On 13th November 2013 - rating: 7
[User has posted 6000 recommendations about 6000 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Nick Davies left this review about Lord John Russell

Nice little pub on a Sunday afternoon at least, and described perfectly below by Maldenman. Pleasant couple of ladies in charge of proceedings and most of the clientele appeared to be locals. Some delicious Sambrooks was available amongst a decent range. It makes a decent spot to kill an hour or to if you find yourself in this part of town of an afternoon, but probably best avoided later on.

On 7th December 2011 - rating: 7
[User has posted 488 recommendations about 480 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Clive Thompson left this review about Lord John Russell

Good real ale pub with 6 handpumps and I've rarely had a bad pint. The location means that the ale side is often overshadowed by the designer lager and white wine set. Like many places in this area it's a good pub during the quieter times but a bit of a nightmare when it's busy.

On 21st January 2010 - rating: 6
[User has posted 742 recommendations about 678 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Malden man left this review about Lord John Russell

Seemingly named after a twice serving Victorian Prime Minister, the pub is just far enough away from the mainline stations on the Euston Rd to avoid that just passing through feel. A single room with a slightly curvaceous (can you describe an inanimate object such?) bar on the end wall. A number of blue cast iron columns support the hefty floor beams over. Wooden floors with a small yet attractive black and red tiled fringe/splash area in front of the bar. Standard wooden tables, with little vases of flowers, chairs and settles, all without cushions. Decor includes an old print of the pub plus a montage of a few of its architectural highlights. A fair old range of beer mats above the bar suggests the two guests change regularly.
Regulars seem to be Deuchers IPA, 6X, Bombardier, John Smith's Stonemason's Reward (what's this?) with two guests, Caledonian Fringe Benefit and Davenports Heatwave.
The food menu, not tried, looked to be honest pub fare at reasonable prices.
I thought it to be ok, the feel of a proper pub, and seemingly with a smattering of regulars early evening.

On 25th August 2009 - rating: 6
[User has posted 1685 recommendations about 1662 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Steve C left this review about Lord John Russell

I had a couple of very nice Hare Raisers in here on Saturday. Deuchars, Bombardier, 6X, St George and John Smiths Cask were also available along with some standard lagers. The pub is basically a stripped out room with a wooden floor, bar and furniture causing any noise to reverberate through the air. Every table has a wine bottle with a candle jammed in the top of it, which I find rather tacky.

The barmaid was nice enough, but the locals sitting all along the bar wouldn't have moved to let me in if I had started pissing on them. There are a couple of plasma screens, but I saw no sport advertised. There is also a picture of the pub site when it was the Marchmont Street Distillery Company.

There are some benches on the pavement outside and there is also limited covered seating under the arch at the side of the pub.

This place could do better, but even with all its faults there is something I like about it and I would still return if passing.

On 6th April 2009 - rating: 7
[User has posted 3586 recommendations about 3565 pubs]

Page: 1 2