User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Pubs near train stations with Pangolin on the Pub Forum

Star Inn, Penzance

A30
Crowlas
Postal town: Penzance
TR20 8DX

Return to pub summary

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Aqualung . left this review about Star Inn

This village local consists of a single room that is split into different areas. There is a central bar and to the right a raised area and an area with a pool table. On the left is what looks like a dining room and an area with comfy chairs. The dart board by the window in the central area was obstructed. I got here soon after midday on a Thursday and it was largely quiet until approaching late afternoon.
The bar has twelve hand pumps which had five Penzance beers and Milltown Black Jack Stout (£3.30). I tried the lot and found the Penzance brews to be very pleasant old school beers despite including two Boring Brown Beers!
They were Crowlas Bitter (£3.00), Potion No 9 (£3.10), Brisons Bitter (£3.20), Crow An Wra (£3.30) and Lamorna Gold (£3.80).
I thought this was an excellent place and would gladly return.

On 4th July 2018 - rating: 9
[User has posted 2143 recommendations about 2143 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Gill Smith left this review about Star Inn

Everything that aleand hearty said. Cannot fault this place at all. It is a mecca for beer lovers, and the ale quality is superb. 4 Penzance beers available and we had IPA, Brison's Bitter and Potion No 9. Also enjoyed the guest which was Sheffield Brewery Mild Steel. Locals rubbed it in as to how good it is living so close to such a good pub, but it is friendly banter with strangers you feel comfortable with. Will be back, again and again.....

Above June 2011 and we were back there on this year's holiday enjoying the well kept ales. Chose Hop Kettle brewery beer and Potbelly as well as their own beer. No problem.

On 25th July 2012 - rating: 10
[User has posted 1324 recommendations about 1207 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


aleand hearty left this review about Star Inn

Situated on the A30, a couple of miles out of Penzance, The Star is a large, stone-built, roadside pub, with a semi open-plan interior. Featuring a centrally located bar, it has a large collection of beer mats and pump clips and is surrounded by slate flooring. To the right there’s an area that houses a pool table and dartboard and a small raised carpeted section that is enclosed by a slightly imposing arrangement of wooden beams and pillars, as Roger rightly comments. To the left of the bar, there are two rooms. One looks to be for the use of diners only and the other appears to be a function room (cordoned off during our visit.)

Décor is largely based on contrasting green and white artex, lit by Tiffany / stained- glass lamps and softened by wall-mounted agricultural implements, plus the odd bit of horse tack.

Six pumps were on the go during our visit, a mix of the pub’s own Penzance beers and guests from further afield. We tried Penzance Potion No.9 and Pardoe’s Dark Swan and both were very good. Unfortunately, the Liverpool Organic Brewery’s IPA seemed to be on the turn, possibly not getting a decent turnover due to its high strength?

I found the landlord / barman to be friendly and welcoming and the locals willing to engage in a bit of banter at the bar. Although fairly quiet when we called late afternoon, it still felt relaxed rather than oppressive.

I rather liked The Star; probably because it was the first Cornish pub I’d been into that felt like a proper, beer-led, community local and not merely a tourist honey pot. Would definitely call in again, if staying in the area. Recommended.

On 25th August 2010 - rating: 7
[User has posted 416 recommendations about 400 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


graham dunbavan left this review about Star Inn

A proper Pub with Its own Brewery, Good qty beer.

On 22nd June 2010 - rating: 9
[User has posted 78 recommendations about 77 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Gill Smith left this review about Star Inn

Another few weeks in Cornwall and this is one of the pubs on my "not to be missed" list. Cannot fault the quality of the beers and they serve their own superb Penzance beers plus guests from around the country, not just local ones.

Enjoyed Penzance Brisons Bitter and Stringers Victoria IPA this visit. The coming on soon board makes sure you need to go back for more (as if you need an excuse!). Fantastic place. On good bus routes 17 and 18, plus the 300.

On 9th May 2010 - rating: 10
[User has posted 1324 recommendations about 1207 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Roger Button left this review about Star Inn

Crowlas is but a short drive or bus ride from Penzance and the award winning Star Inn is the place to be for the beer enthusiast. The pub itself doesn't court any great aesthetic merits, certainly more appealing from the outside than within. A traditional style local's pub with a central bar, pool and darts areas and a sectioned off corner type snug, it is quite spacious but it wasn't particularly busy at the time of my visit so the atmosphere was a bit dead. The décor is neat and tidy without being noticeable apart from a strange arrangement of beams and pillars and the mass of beer mats and pump clips that give away the main reason for making the effort. Home to the Penzance Brewery, the beer selection is far superior to any pub for miles with the added attraction of their own brews. I tried their own Crowlas Ale and Gopher Gold, both excellent, and there was a good range of others (Coastal beers seem to feature heavily - Erosion and Hop Monster available on my visit as well as Tring Devils Dyke and a couple of others I failed to note – well you would forget after a pint of Erosion). All the beers are listed on a blackboard to one side of the bar and you can virtually guarantee something interesting from the 7 pumps. If you can't then you really shouldn't be here. Prices were below average and if you are a beer enthusiast and happen to be in the area, the Star should be one of the the first places on your list to visit.

On 6th April 2009 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1239 recommendations about 1233 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Quinno _ left this review about Star Inn

A super ale drinkers pub within an easy bus trip of Penzance - the bus stop is pretty much outside. Five good ales on during my visit including a mild and all of them weren't the usual Cornish suspects, which made for a nice change. Home to the Penzance Brewery and there were a couple of theirs on. Beers were well-kept and the barman was knowledgeable, if in a gruff way. It's a fair size inside with a decent atmosphere too in the evening. The interior décor has little to note beyond some old pump clips, I suspect that it's a knocked-through pub. Pool and darts available.

Wished I had stayed for longer, would recommend to anyone staying in Penzance or St Ives.

On 13th March 2009 - rating: 8
[User has posted 4219 recommendations about 4206 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Steve Thorpe left this review about Star Inn

My fave boozer in Cornwall. An ever changing array of beers always in tip top condition and a top couple who run the place. A mecca I hope to be visiting for many a year!

On 7th November 2006 - rating: 10
[User has posted 130 recommendations about 126 pubs]