User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Beer of the Week (w/e 13th October 2019) with Thuck Phat on the Pub Forum

The Treaty of Commerce, Lincoln

173 High Street
Lincoln
LN5 7AF

Return to pub summary

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


custodian 42 left this review about The Treaty of Commerce

Last pub before getting the train back. Narrow place with bar to the right. Beer garden to rear. Five weak real ales so had to go for cider.

On 24th June 2018 - rating: 4
[User has posted 1451 recommendations about 1449 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Alan Winfield left this review about The Treaty of Commerce

The Treaty of Commerce is a decent looking pub that is handy for the train station,so this is usually our last pub of the day when in Lincoln.
When i first went in this pub is was an Ansells tied house,things have improved since then.

Once inside there is a single long oblong shaped room which runs to the rear,the bar is to the left,there is some bench seating to the front,the rear area has normal tables and chairs.
There were about five real ales on the bar plus two real ciders,we had a drink of Ashover Citra which was a decent enough drink but slightly too hoppy for my liking,the other beers i noted were Batemans XB and as beer called Plum Porter.
The pub was very busy on our mid evening visit.
The prices were very high with out pint and a half being well over £5.00.
We were a bit dissapointed with this pub.

Pub first visited 25/3/1983

Recent visit 6/12/2014

On 7th December 2014 - rating: 7
[User has posted 6113 recommendations about 6113 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Soup Dragon left this review about The Treaty of Commerce

This is a narrow terraced Bateman's pub, with a patio area at the back. It is a mock-Tudor look, with the upper storeys in white and black beam, with large sash windows, one projecting, with a small gable perched on top. The ground facade is in black and white with leaded tracery windows.

The interior is a long room, broken into two parts; a bar at the front and dining at the back. A side corridor takes you to the patio and bogs. The decor at the front has cream and wood panel, with olive green, white upper wall and ceiling, with a wood floor. There is perimeter seating and stools. After passing through a tartan wallpapered arch, the back, which is barrel-vaulted, is in cream, white and red, with a red patterend carpet. I didn't eat here, so can't comment on the food. There is a TV, but this wasn't on and the background music was quiet and general. The service was friendly and there were a few locals in, mainly younger.

Beer; usual tap stuff with handpulls containing; Bateman's XB, XXXB, Jewel in the Crown, Sheppy Neame Whitstable Bay, Caudle Bitter (which was off) and Thwaites Nutty Black MILD, which was decent and dispensed from a squaky pump, making the lads at the bar laugh.

A nice little pub with a good selection of Bateman's and other beers. Definitely worth a visit and it is difficult to stay for just one (hence i had two).

On 28th June 2012 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 3053 recommendations about 3048 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about The Treaty of Commerce

A decent pub this one and well worth a look in. The front of the pub had a comfortable seating area, the back of the pub where the dining area was situated seemed a bit cluttered to me, too many tables and chairs and was also poorly lit. Six ales on our visit, Batemans XB, XXXB, and the Batemans Special was Eggs-B. The other ales on were Blue Monkey PG Sips, Salopian Darwins Origin. The Hook Norton First Light really hit the spot. All the ales were excellent.

On 7th April 2012 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2859 recommendations about 2859 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Will Larter left this review about The Treaty of Commerce

There's been a refurbishment here recently, but the ale selection and quality remain the same. The main difference is that the bar, which previously made tentative appearances in both the front and back rooms, has now been moved forward so that it is entirely in the front room - the back room is now set out for diners. There's a large mirrored bar back and the furniture in the front room is now more typical pub seating - red leatherette benches in the window and stools around the bar. A great pub, within sprinting distance of the station if you've only time for a quick one.

On 7th December 2011 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2417 recommendations about 2281 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


ROB Camra left this review about The Boardroom

This pub has a very narrow frontage but goes back a long way when you get inside. It’s all one thin bare floorboarded room with comfortable seating at the front with some great seating that looks almost ecclesiastical. Towards the rear are a load of bar stools. It’s a fine little pub with a fine pub dog, a Labrador, with a constantly wagging tail and a really friendly attitude. 6 handpumps on the bar, 4 selling Batemans and 2 guests. I had a pint of Batemans GHA which was excellent. Well worth a visit.

On 27th April 2010 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2729 recommendations about 2657 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Steve Thorpe left this review about The Treaty of Commerce

This must surely rate as one of Lincolns No1 ale houses. A Batemans pub with guest beers. A real shame I only get there twice a year but with a call, the landlord is more than happy to get a barrel of Batemans Mild in!

On 7th November 2006 - rating: 10
[User has posted 130 recommendations about 126 pubs]