User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Random news of the day with sheffield hatter on the Pub Forum

The Moorings, Sowerby Bridge

1 Warehouse Canal Basin
Sowerby Bridge
HX6 2AG
Phone: 01422833940

Return to pub summary

Pub Type

Greene King

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Will Larter left this review about The Moorings

A Greene King pub in a canalside building, it's a good looking building in a great location. It doesn't really do it for me as a pub, though my half of GK Land of Hopportunity was ok (apart from the name). It's as much like a hop-forward American pale as GK IPA is like an IPA. There were two other beers on the bar, a rebadged GK beer and Landlord. It was moderately busy with people eating mid-afternoon - where do they put it all? Maybe the best thing about this pub is the view through the back windows to the canal basin, but there was a video screen on the wall near our table with a view of a tropical beach - is this a pub or a travel agent?

On 21st June 2022 - rating: 5
[User has posted 3141 recommendations about 2950 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Al Bundy left this review about The Moorings

Very much aimed at diners it does have 4 handpumps on the bar though only 3 were on today and sadly they were an insipid choice of Abbott, Greene King IPA and Old Speckled Hen. A cluster of clocks decorate the wall to the left of the bar. Windows overlook the canal boats moored outside. Its just about worth a visit and as its along the towpath from the Navigation it saves you a walk up the steep hill.

On 18th March 2016 - rating: 4
[User has posted 3453 recommendations about 3359 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about The Moorings

A pub more set out for dining, rather than drinking. Most of the tables seated four and had ridiculous lengthy menus offering a choice of too many meals for my liking. There where a couple of features in here like the original mechanical winch fixed to the roof near the large window opening and a feature wall with various quotations. Four ales on hand pump, we went for the Dark Star APA, priced at £3.40 a pint.

On 8th November 2015 - rating: 4
[User has posted 3121 recommendations about 3121 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Alan Winfield left this review about The Moorings

The Moorings is a pub converted from a canalside wharehouse.
Once inside there is a long oblong shaped room which is rougly divided into three areas,the bar is to the right in the middle section,there is a large raised area to the right,which has comfy bench seating and some normal tables and chairs,this area is carpeted,the lower areas have some setees for seating.
There were three real ales on the bar,i had a drink of Moorings bitter was was nothing special,the other beers were GK IPA and Old Speckled Hen.
The pub was quite empty on my Saturday afternoon visit,which is surprising with its views of the canal basin.

Pub visited 29/8/2015

On 29th August 2015 - rating: 6
[User has posted 6113 recommendations about 6113 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Old Boots left this review about The Moorings

A converted canalside warehouse with lots of small spaces, there is lots of exposed stone and a nice new flag floor. Four pulls serve Greene King IPA, Old Speckled Hen an own badge from somewhere, probably the Westgate Brewery, and a guest, on this occasion from Butcombe and not in bad condition. It's a nice building in a choice location but perhaps not fully utilised.

On 1st April 2014 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2639 recommendations about 2404 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


ROB Camra left this review about The Moorings

Called in again yesterday to give this place another chance. What really annoys me about this pub is that it's got great potential, but it's just so average. It should be so much better than it is. Of the 6 handpumps, 3 were off leaving a choice of GK IPA, Moorings Ale, whatever that might be and Black Sheep Bitter. The Black Sheep was OK but not great. We sat inside, overlooking the canal though a large window. I have to say it's typical Greene King, bland and inoffensive, which is what offends me.

06/04/2010
Oh dear, what have they done to this place. I used to call in here quite often when a mate of mine had a boat moored on the canal here. It used to be a decent boozer that welcomed the canal folk (they all go up to the Puzzle Hall now and I don't blame them). There's a dining area to the left as you enter and the bar to the right in a large lounge area. Six handpumps serving the Greene King range. I had a GK Hare Raiser which was pretty poor all round. There's an all-pervading smell of over used chip fat throughout the place and it's full of people who think they're trendy. You're not! I wouldn't bother if I were you. Try The Works or The Shepherds Rest they're both much better.

On 28th June 2013 - rating: 4
[User has posted 3026 recommendations about 2941 pubs]