User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Beer of the Week (w/e 26th June 2022) with Mobyduck on the Pub Forum

The Myrtle Grove (JD Wetherspoon), Bingley

141 Main Street
Bingley
BD16 1AJ

Return to pub summary

Pub Type

J D Wetherspoon

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Rob Hunter left this review about The Myrtle Grove (JD Wetherspoon)

Called in today at around 1:30pm so still busy with the lunch trade. The place was absolutely packed out. There are two banks of five hand pumps offering, at the time of my visit, Saltaire Pacifica IPA (the one I went for, at £1.15 for a half), Wobbly Bob, Gravitas (did not note the brewery), Saltaire Citra Pale Ale (was initially unclipped but came on later), Ilkley Mary Jane, Abbot Ale, Theakston Old Peculiar, Thornbridge Jaipur, Ruddles and Doom Bar. A pretty decent selection on the real ale front, especially considering this is a smaller Spoons.

The French doors were open at the time of my visit, which was very pleasant especially as I managed to get a table near them. The benefits of the fresh air without having to sit on one of the handful of tables on the street outside.

The guy serving seemed a bit strange, couldn't quite put my finger on it, nothing unpleasant but I wouldn't want to be his only customer.

There is only one floor so the bogs are downstairs, eliminating the usual climb to return what you have just consumed.

So much busier than the other pubs in Bingley this lunch time, but I guess that is the benefit of having a recognisable brand for people to flock to.

On 7th August 2018 - rating: 8
[User has posted 678 recommendations about 560 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about The Myrtle Grove (JD Wetherspoon)

Quite a few people sitting out along the pavement on our sunny Friday afternoon visit. The French doors along the front were also opened back to let a bit of a breeze in. The interior was Spoons bog standard cream and red painted walls. The curved bar was about the only thing of interest. Luckily for us on this visit, they had two ales from Little Critters Brewery Sheffield, so we went for the Little Hopper English Pale Ale, which was superb.

On 9th July 2018 - rating: 6
[User has posted 3092 recommendations about 3092 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Aqualung . left this review about The Myrtle Grove (JD Wetherspoon)

Apparently the Myrtle Cinema closed in the late sixties. You have to wonder wht happened to it after that as apart from the high ceiling this one is not an obvious cinema conversion.
It's not one of the larger Spoons either and consists of a single open plan room.
Despite that the bar has ten hand pumps which had no Available Soon or doubling up. Beers were the JDW Trio Of Doom, a cider, Acorn Epic IPA, Springfield Surrender & Left Lion, Saltaire New World Red, Kelham Island One Step Beyond and Stancill Stainless. I went for the Acorn Epic IPA (£2.50) which was in good nick. While the building is uninspiring I found this to be a good well run Spoons.

On 12th October 2016 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2143 recommendations about 2143 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about The Myrtle Grove (JD Wetherspoon)

This pleasant 'spoons looks fairly modern both inside and out, but apparently it is the converted Myrtle cinema dating from the 1920s. The front has an airy feel due to a high ceiling and a row of large windows. More closed-in at the back, with the bar to one side and a row of booths on the other. Ten handpumps on the counter, with a reasonable selection including Moorhouse's Cold Spell (£2.20).

On 21st February 2015 - rating: 6
[User has posted 7001 recommendations about 7001 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Old Boots left this review about The Myrtle Grove (JD Wetherspoon)

bijou and compact Wetherspoons opposite the now boarded up and disused Bradford and Bingley Building Society HQ. A standard sort of spoons, tall tables to one side, a raised family area to the other, a bigger than usual collection of bandits in the middle. The curved counter is in the back corner and some booths form one side wall. The front wall is all French doors which are blocked off from the pavement by railings. Decor is fairly minimal with a couple of Rothko like pictures and some prints and photos of old Bingley. There are two sets of five pulls bracketed by T bars with the usual mix of beers, the quality of which is pretty good. The staff, when you see them, are pretty good and overall as spoons go this is quite a good one.

On 19th August 2013 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2592 recommendations about 2360 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Quinno _ left this review about The Myrtle Grove (JD Wetherspoon)

Modern Spoons housed in a shop conversion of some sort. Not one of their better architectural efforts either inside or out, the only feature of note is the attractive curved bar with faux Victoriana steel light fittings hung from the ceiling. Six guest ale pumps with one coming soon. My initial choice of Black and Tan was flat and not clearing but was happily exchanged by an above-average barmaid for JDW (on the skills front, anyway). The replacement was in fair shape. The large and bare walled/floored interior meant that noise was uncomfortably amplified into a clattering cacophony. There was a preponderance of fruit machines even by Wetherspoons usual standard. Wrote down ‘quirky bogs’ but I can’t remember what merited note. Given this is quite a new outlet, I do wonder whether it is partly responsible for most of Bingley's other pubs being up for sale or shut? Given what I saw here, that'd be a sad way for them to be taken out.

On 31st August 2012 - rating: 4
[User has posted 4401 recommendations about 4387 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


peter ashworth left this review about The Myrtle Grove (JD Wetherspoon)

From the outside The Myrtle Grove appears a little drab and boring,and on entering the mood continues in a similar fashion,although must say the pub was clean and tidy.Called in around 9-30 on a Tuesday morning,and apart from a barmaid preparing some hot drinks at the far end of the room,the bar and surrounding area was void of any customers,with my first thought being RESULT no mandatory 4 minutes wait for service.I gave all the 10 cask beers on display a going over before deciding on a Stout,and after waiting a good couple of minutes,frequented the toilet,came back,where the bar was still empty and the barmaid had vanished into a small room at the left of the bar.Stayed at the bar for another 2 minutes and decided enough was enough,so i made a sharp exit and caught the bus to Shipley.Worth a try if you have got plenty of time on your hands.

On 15th September 2011 - rating: 3
[User has posted 2215 recommendations about 2175 pubs]