User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Beer of the Week (w/e 10th November 2019) with Bucking Fastard on the Pub Forum

Swan with Two Necks, Stockport Central, Stockport

36 Princes Street
Stockport
SK1 1RY

Return to pub summary

Page: 1 2

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 8 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Pub SignMan left this review about Swan with Two Necks

Walking through Stockport's retail district, the last thing I expected to find was this marvellous old Robinson's pub - a real survivor in a heavily redeveloped area. The pub has a classic lobby bar set-up, with a nicely tiled porch leading you through into the lobby where the bar appears over on the left hand side. There are three or four small tables opposite served by low stools, under some excellent wood panelled walls. The bar has a short, smart counter and rather unusual, blocky bar back with a clock set into it. The front porch has a second door which leads you into the front left vault bar which is a cosy carpeted room with standard tables and chairs, an upright piano, a large poster detailing the pubs of Manchester and Stockport and some more excellent wood panelling. Beyond the bar there is a Smoke Room - arguably the nicest room in the pub with its worn carpet, padded banquettes, fully panelled walls decorated with salvers, jugs, clocks and the like and a very attractive fireplace which breaks things up nicely. A corridor runs to the rear of the pub past some old whisky mirrors to a rear door with a fine stained glass pane depicting the eponymous two headed swan. From here you can access a rear patio garden and the outdoor toilet block.
There are five handpulls on the bar, but just the one ale was available on my visit - Robinson's Unicorn - with Old Rosie cider occupying a second pump and Robinson's Old Tom still conditioning 24 hours after the main PuG crawl passed through. I tried the Unicorn and thought it was in fine shape. I'd pulled up a stool at one of the tables opposite the bar and after a few minutes I was joined by an old boy who told me I was sat at 'his' table - it's that sort of pub. We chatted about pubs in Stockport for a bit and the cheery barman chipped in occasionally between serving customers.
I thought this was a very pleasant little pub that deserves to have survived the threat of redevelopment and has flourished into one of the town's top pubs. The staff and clientele were very friendly and welcoming and the beer, whilst not anything out of the ordinary, was certainly kept very well. A real treat this one and an ideal bolt-hole if you find yourself being dragged around the shops.

On 10th January 2018 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2339 recommendations about 2339 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Quinno _ left this review about Swan with Two Necks

A CAMRA heritage Robbie's pub (naff battleship grey exterior paint job excepted) which was slated for demolition for a shopping centre previously. A porch entrance with a room to the left, lobby bar and a wonderful lounge (‘smoke’) room beyond this, naturally lit by a skylight. Vast amounts of light varnished oak wood panelling, clock-inlaid bar back, bell-pushes and traditional seating, a real museum piece (“last refurbished in the 1920s” proclaims a sign). Upright piano spotted. Four pumps with one ale – Unicorn – (the Old Tom was sadly still conditioning) which was in great shape. There were also two pumps for (unavailable) cider. A shame that given the timing (Friday), only one beer was on, surely a bit of pump mismanagement there. Would have been a higher mark otherwise. 7.5

On 1st December 2017 - rating: 7
[User has posted 3921 recommendations about 3909 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about Swan with Two Necks

The fine exterior of this splendid Robinsons pub has been given a slight makeover in battleship grey which might suggest some gastro-pubification inside but fortunately nothing could be further from the truth. The entrance corridor leads to the drinking lobby in front of the main part of the bar counter, with the attractive Smoke Room beyond. A separate 'vault' at the front features an old piano and has its own counter from the side of the central servery, and all three rooms have very atmospheric wood panelling. We found three of five handpumps in use, offering Unicorn (£1.57 half) plus Old Rosie and Rosie's Pig ciders, with a clip for the seasonal Old Tom which was undergoing conditioning on the fourth. So, despite the limited beer choice, this one is well worth a visit.

On 25th November 2017 - rating: 8
[User has posted 5796 recommendations about 5796 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Steve of N21 left this review about Swan with Two Necks

We came here from the Calvert Court ‘Spoons and you cannot get a bigger contrast as far as pub interiors go.
With an interior still intact from the 1920’s there are three rooms reachable from the main corridor as well described by previous reviewers. The Smoke room is good but I particularly liked the third room with its period wall paper and fireplace which was a dead ringer for my old Nan’s parlour.
Of the five handpumps on the bar one was unused, two had ciders and then the remaining two had Robinsons Unicorn and Old Tom, which was fortunately conditioning as it was far too early for an 8.5% beer. So only really Unicorn as far as ales go but fortunately it was a well kept pint.
And also still has the outside gents accessed across the small outside patio drinking area. I didn’t find anything not to like about this pub.

On 21st November 2017 - rating: 8
[User has posted 1686 recommendations about 1635 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Bucking Fastard left this review about Swan With Two Necks

Through the shopping area,this Robinson's gem has survived and it's a must visit for the traditional interior.Immediately on your left beyond the front door is the entrance to the front snug ,with an upright piano and it's own bar access.The main tap room is straight ahead and has lots of wood panelling and a series of small tables opposite the bar,while there is a rear room marked Smoke Room with leather buttoned back benches and bell pushes on the wall with the old control panel still visible above the bar.
There are 5 handpumps serving two real ciders,a decent Unicorn while Old Tom was conditioning and one pump was unused.
Dont miss this one if crawling around town,I felt this was the most charming interior of many fine pubs visited by the PuG crawl.

On 19th November 2017 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2015 recommendations about 2015 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


ROB Camra left this review about Swan With Two Necks

What a cracking little pub. Several wood panelled rooms, all one behind each other makes it a deceptively big pub on the inside. The outside is narrow and in black and white tudor style. It's a Robbies pub and out of the 4 handpumps only Unicorn & Old Tom were available. I had a Unicorn and got chatting to the friendly barman about Barcelona where he was going soon to see Coldplay. A couple of regulars joined in and a load of friendly banter followed with them winding him up. A really pleasant atmosphere in a great looking pub.

On 10th February 2016 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2745 recommendations about 2673 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Al Bundy left this review about Swan With Two Necks

Mr Bonsor's review has covered everything that can be said. A good pub with some decent beers. You can sit out front if you like though you will be smack bang in the middle of shoppers.

On 6th October 2015 - rating: 8
[User has posted 3363 recommendations about 3279 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about Swan With Two Necks

Stockpot has some fine pubs, so if you're looking to see another splendid interior from the Camra Inventory, you can't miss this one out. Robinsons Unicorn was my choice here.

On 24th April 2014 - rating: 9
[User has posted 2894 recommendations about 2894 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Harry hall left this review about Swan With Two Necks

As Peter Rydings has already said, this is a fantastic pub with well kept beer and a great food offering, and i too noticed a build up of dirt, my visit was the 12th of Feb.I asked if there had been a change in tenant or landlord, and was told by a member of staff that it was the same landlord/landlady as it has been for 6yrs now. I did also ask why it seemed dirtier than on my previous visits and was told that the landlord and landlady had been making many improvements from a brand new kitchen installation to new fire alarm and rear court yard also i was told that the front of the pub has undergone a face lift, as it was newly decorated and they had removed the opaque georgian wired glass windows and replaced them with normal plane glass windows. I must admit at that moment i felt very stupid, but i am very pleased to see many improvements to such a great pub. look forward to seeing more improvements on my next visit.

On 4th March 2014 - rating: 9
[User has posted 1 recommendations about 1 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Peter Rydings left this review about Swan With Two Necks

Yes a very nice pub i make a point of calling in every time i go to stockport.
Yes called in again on the 14th of March just like before had a good pint of robbie's will call back
Yes called in again on the 6th of Feb sorry this pub as got very dirty whats gone wrong with the place

On 7th February 2014 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 948 recommendations about 917 pubs]

Page: 1 2