User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Beer of the Week (w/e 7th August 2022) with Bucking Fastard on the Pub Forum

The Oxford, Totterdown, Bristol

Oxford Street
Totterdown
Bristol
BS3 4RL

Return to pub summary

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 6 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Quinno _ left this review about The Oxford

Finally made my inaugural visit. An L shaped place that is a go-to hangout for the Guardianista gentrification of Totterdown. All a bit distressed inside with some clashing painted walls and an air of managed scruffiness. Given a small fortune was spent here in the mid 80s it's a bit odd to my mind. Anyway it's GBG19 listed and a number of pumps were available, with 2x Bristol Beer Factory and 2 others I forgot to note. My first one was as flat as a pancake – a listless liquid with no head (not even a faint scum) and no life, more akin to a Lipton Ice Tea…I had to have a long and protracted argument with two staff to get it changed (viz “it’s ale, it’s meant to be like that”; “I don’t drink it”; “nobody else has complained”. After standing my ground I finally got a replacement (BBF Milk Stout) which was fine. As it was put on the bar, I pointed to it with its little mound of foamy head as a clincher to my argument and was told that “well obviously stouts are supposed to have heads”. Absolutely hopeless - this is not in any way a Good Beer Guide outlet, if they don't even understand what it is they are selling. Not as good as it thinks it is, on a number of levels.

May 2008
They made a real effort with this pub 25 years ago and for a while it looked rather good and welcoming, very faux-Victorian with nice black and gold signage and a cast-iron lamp post outside. Admittedly I was far too young to ever see the inside properly as I was walking to and from school each day, but still. Now it looks dilapidated both inside and out. No ale so decided to cut my losses. A waste, given the location, as this area is poshing-up big time. Unrated.

On 1st February 2019 - rating: 5
[User has posted 4422 recommendations about 4408 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Alan Winfield left this review about The Oxford

The Oxford is a decent looking corner pub.
Once inside the bar faces in a single room which runs the width of the pub,the left side is larger,the floor is bare boarded,there are normal tables and chairs plus one tall table and chairs.
There were five real ales on the bar,i had a drink of Beat Ales Raver,which went down well,the other real ales were Bristol Beer Factory Independence and Cardinal,Tap Stone Sona and Theakston Best.
There was decent background music playing (Oasis)a shame that the pub was almost empty on my Saturday afternoon visit.
I quite liked this pub.

Pub visited 29/7/2017

On 28th October 2017 - rating: 8
[User has posted 6113 recommendations about 6113 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Blackthorn _ left this review about The Oxford

A good sized, U-shape pub that has been much improved in recent years and now seems to be something of a community local. A lounge area is off to the left and this had a large stage area as well as some PA equipment suggesting that live bands are a regular feature, although there was nobody on when we visited. Decor wise, there is a wood strip floor and the paintwork is mostly a deep maroon with contrasting dark green on the timberwork. There was also some interesting furniture made out of old logs and an old fire-place was off to one side.

Beers on tap were Sharp’s Atlantic, Tribute, Moor Union Hop and Bristol Beer Factory Seven. A fifth pump for Aussie Pale appeared to have run out. Ciders meanwhile were Thatcher’s Dry and Stowford Press on tap, plus Ganley & Naish Dabinett dispensed from a box on the counter.

On 25th September 2016 - rating: 6
[User has posted 1814 recommendations about 1738 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Brian McCulloch left this review about Oxford Inn

OK if you like your boozers at the "rough & ready" end of the spectrum! Lively in the evening with the punters spilling onto the road outside in warm weather!

On 16th August 2006 - rating: 4
[User has posted 33 recommendations about 33 pubs]