User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Date for Summer 2022 crawl in Winchester. with Tris39 on the Pub Forum

The Calverts Court (JD Wetherspoon), Stockport

13 Saint Petersgate
Stockport
SK1 1EB
Phone: 01614746750

Return to pub summary

Pub Type

J D Wetherspoon
Page: 1 2

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 6 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Steve C left this review about The Calverts Court (JD Wetherspoon)

Calvert Court is a long and thin Wetherspoons with a bar along the right hand wall and a mix of seating throughout. Standard and premium keg is available and there are two banks of five handpumps. The usual suspects were all in attendance alongside Ringwood Old Thumper, Peerless Skyline and my new favourite beer, Titanic Plum Porter which was £2.10 a pint! I found this pub to be better than the outside suggests and I’d have no problem returning for those prices.

On 8th June 2022 - rating: 7
[User has posted 3932 recommendations about 3908 pubs]


Rob Hunter left this review about The Calverts Court (JD Wetherspoon)

Despite having been drinking in Stockport several times, I had never paid the Wetherspoon pub a visit, as there are so many other great pubs nearby that warranted my attention first. However that changes on Friday lunchtime when I went for a meal. The real ale selection was surprisingly good, with Titanic Plum Porter, Titanic Iceberg, Peerless Full Whack and Lymestone Stone Cutter available as guest ales. The Full Whack (6%) and Plum Porter slipped down very nicely indeed. The food was pleasant and good value, and the service was friendly when our drinks were brought over (we ordered via the app).

This is a fairly narrow but quite deep Spoons, and there is a beer garden to the rear.

It was actually a lot better than I imagined it would be.

On 15th November 2021 - rating: 8
[User has posted 678 recommendations about 560 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Pub SignMan left this review about The Calverts Court (JD Wetherspoon)

This is a long, shop-converted Wetherspoons pub, centrally located at the top end of Petersgate. The pub very much falls into the chain's 'drab conversion' category, with no real effort made to make the place particularly stand out from the many other former retail outlets they've opened up around the country. The pub is carpeted throughout and has a long servery along the right hand wall with a fairly standard counter and bar back. Standard tables and chairs run through the centre of the pub but there were a few nice banquette booths down the left hand wall that looked like they were probably the best seats to grab. Elsewhere, a few high tables and stools make up the numbers and the usual 'Spoons information boards provide details about the original Calvert's Court from which the pub takes its name and explain the history of a long since demolished local theatre. Decorative features were very thin on the ground, but I did note some grotty panelling which was very unpleasant to look at and an unusual layered ceiling decoration which was quite stylish but hardly a talking point. The place was quiet by 'Spoons standards on our Friday evening visit but busier than expected when I dropped in for breakfast the following morning.
I noted four guest ales on the bar alongside two 'Spoons regulars and two real ciders. I gave the Saltaire Cascadian Black a try and thought it was in reasonable condition, if not quite on a par with some of the beer we'd enjoyed around town that day. The food was the usual cheap but hearty fayre and did a good job as a quick refuelling stop.
With so many fantastic pubs around town, the 'Spoons really only has the draw of a cheap pint to tempt you in and as such it stood out as one of the weaker pubs of my time in Stockport. Whilst not a particularly bad branch of Wetherspoons when taken in isolation, it fails to match the warm welcome and exciting, well kept ale line-ups offered by many other pubs around town, most of which had far more interesting interiors as well, making it really only worth popping in if on an extended crawl or in need of a quick bite to eat.

On 9th January 2018 - rating: 6
[User has posted 2795 recommendations about 2795 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Steve of N21 left this review about The Calverts Court (JD Wetherspoon)

In a town that has so many pubs included in the historic interiors list its ironic that the local Wetherspoons offering is one of the blandest of the chain you are likely to experience. Apparently at one time the Petersgate area of Stockport was home to many great buildings, including the original Calverts Court from which the pub takes its name. Sadly not any longer and this must be one of the least attractive of the ‘Spoons chain from the outside being a conversion of a previous retail outlet in a drab 60's building.
Sadly it doesn’t get any better when you weave your way inside past the nicotine bouncers in situ on the small outside drinking section. Internally even by Wetherspoon's standards this is a featureless bland pub with no distinguishing points whatsoever and the long thin room is as characterless as you can get.
On the positive notes, alongside the usual uninspiring house ales there were some interesting guest offerings in the shape of Grafton Brewing Apricot Jungle, Moorhouse Ruby Witch, Black Sheep Rye Mild, Saltaire Cascadian Black, plus Roosters Pistol River and Cairngorm Trade Winds albeit both with the dreaded Available soon clip. And the primary reason for us choosing to meet up here, the usual Wetherspoon’s laminated card of cheap eats delights with its Breakfast Club options available till 12, was all on and I couldn’t fault my Eggs Royale that was done well and served promptly.
So for the main things you rely on a ‘spoons to deliver at an early lunchtime the team at the Calverts Court delivered perfectly fine. But it’s just such a rank boring pub to experience them in, prompting me to implore of my fellow crawlers who decided to meet here, “please tell me drinking in Stockport gets better than this ?” They assured me it did and thankfully they were proved right.

On 21st November 2017 - rating: 6
[User has posted 1816 recommendations about 1754 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Alan Hurdle left this review about The Calverts Court (JD Wetherspoon)

I was not hoping for much after reading previous reviews. To my surprise, I liked the pub. The atmosphere was very relaxed for my 10.30am breakfast visit. I chose a pint of Black Sheep Rye Mild for a weaker drink due to the long day ahead. It was on fine form. My breakfast arrived promptly and was very good. As with most 'Spoons, time of day has as much influence as the décor, so I will score it 7B for my breakfast visit (I guess it might have got 5E if I came back 12 hours later!)

On 19th November 2017 - rating: 7
[User has posted 692 recommendations about 638 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Bucking Fastard left this review about The Calverts Court (JD Wetherspoon)

Quite a small 'spoons in a shop conversion,it's long and thin with a series of semi circular seating booths along the left wall.Standard 'spoons furniture and decor elsewhere with the lavs of the ground floor towards the rear.Two ranks of 5 handpumps with only GK Abbott and Ruddles Best representing the regulars with two ciders and guests of Cairngorm Trade Winds,Moorhouse Ruby Witch,Black Sheep Rye MILD,Saltaire Cascadian Black (decent nick) and Roosters Pistol River (available soon).Decent enough selection,but it's hardly a memorable venue and much more expensive than the various Sam Smiths pubs if you want a boring brown beer.

On 19th November 2017 - rating: 6
[User has posted 2338 recommendations about 2338 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Aqualung . left this review about The Calverts Court (JD Wetherspoon)

This is a fairly typical Spoons consisting of a long narrow room that is narrower at the rear.
The ten hand pumps had a poor selection with two unused, three available soon, the two GK beers, Three Castles Autumn Leaves, Woodforde's Norfolk Nog and Brightside NZ Pale. I went for the Norfolk Nog (£2.45) which was in good nick but expensive for a Northern Spoons and it would have been nice to have a bit more choice.

On 15th November 2016 - rating: 5
[User has posted 2143 recommendations about 2143 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


ROB Camra left this review about The Calverts Court (JD Wetherspoon)

Called in again to find a much poorer selection of ales on the bar with most being doubled up. My pint of Peerless Oatmeal Stout was in good nick though.

20/04/2012
Totally generic JDW converted from a furniture store in 2001. There are no distinuishing features whatsoever in a fairly minimalist long narrow room. The bar design is pretty poor as well with all the handpumps being in the centre of quite a long bar which means that the middle is crowded and you can't get served at the ends. Having said that, I joined the two deep throng in the middle and was served in turn and pretty quickly. There was a decent selection of guest beers on the bar and the pint I had was in good condition as well. It's OK, but it's a pub to call in for one if passing rather than seek it out.

On 12th September 2015 - rating: 5
[User has posted 3002 recommendations about 2918 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Al Bundy left this review about The Calverts Court (JD Wetherspoon)

As average as you can get for a Wetherspoons. Take away the Ruddle's, Abbott and Doom Bore and what's left is quite good.

On 25th August 2015 - rating: 6
[User has posted 3447 recommendations about 3354 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about The Calverts Court (JD Wetherspoon)

Ten handpumps in operation on our visit. We went for the Growler Hell and Hound, customers still congregating in the middle of the bar, waiting to be served. It's ok for a swift one and that's about it.

On 26th April 2014 - rating: 5
[User has posted 3092 recommendations about 3092 pubs]

Page: 1 2