User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Autumn 2019 Shrewsbury Crawl Dates and Venues with Aqualung on the Pub Forum

Boars Head, Stockport Central, Stockport

2 Vernon Street
Stockport
SK1 1TY

Return to pub summary

Page: 1 2

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 7 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Aqualung . left this review about Boars Head

This is a pub I had visited before over 25 years ago. I suspect it's hardly changed since then but the Sam Smith's range of bottled beers certainly has.
It remains a multi roomed pub as described below that wasn't too busy on a Thursday night.
I went for their bottled India Ale (£3.90) which was sweet but more interesting than their cask OBB.
It's a nice pub but it's a shame about the dismal cask choice.

On 22nd October 2018 - rating: 6
[User has posted 2131 recommendations about 2126 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Al Bundy left this review about Boars Head

A fairly decent Sam Smiths pub. I'm not a big fan of Sam Smiths pubs as a whole but they are cheap and usually friendly enough. This is a multi-roomed pub, well described elsewhere so I'll just add my view that its worth a visit and though there are better pubs near I didn't mind this place.

On 19th August 2018 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 3356 recommendations about 3272 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Pub SignMan left this review about Boars Head

Another pub on Stockport’s market square, this is a cracking old-school Sam Smith’s outlet. The pub has a great layout comprising a series of rooms radiating from the servery which is positioned centrally on the rear wall, opposite the main entrance. Two very nicely appointed front rooms seemed to be the most popular area for locals to congregate on my Friday night visit, offering plush seating and relatively easy access to the bar. To the left is a more basic room with limited seating next to staircases which lead to the toilets, guarded by a rather charming pub cat on this occasion. To the right of the bar, the main lounge can be found, with a couple of smaller, snug-like areas formed off of it. The carpeted lounge has been decorated with some very evocative old fashioned wallpaper and has supremely comfortable button backed banquette seating running around the perimeter. Large potted plants, fresh flowers and collections of porcelain add splashes of colour and I found this was a much more relaxed area than the heaving front rooms. Unlike previous reviewers who visited at lunchtime, I found the pub had a very mixed clientele, with plenty of young drinkers rubbing shoulders with old boys, couples and colleagues out for post-work drinks.
This being a Sam Smith’s pub, only the Old Brewery Bitter was available from the hand pumps at the wallet-friendly price of £2.00 a pint. The usual Sam Smith’s keg and bottle range was also available but I fancied the OBB and found my pint was in excellent shape and I enjoyed supping it whilst reflecting on an excellent day crawling round the town’s best pubs.
I found this to be a really lively town centre pub with a great interior and supremely cheap beer. The place clearly offers very different experiences depending on when you visit, but I really enjoyed my time here and was tempted to stay for a second pint. The limited ale selection may put some off, but I would say this is a must-visit pub when in the town centre.

On 10th January 2018 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2323 recommendations about 2323 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Quinno _ left this review about Boars Head

The ‘other’ Sams pub in central Stockport, this one is a fascinating example of Stockport monoculture. Housed in a solid red brick building, it’s a multi-roomer inside with them placed off the servery. The interior is done-out in classic Sam’s style (flock wallpaper + £££ retro-fit = tradition) though I thought there felt like a slight air of shabbiness to things. Star of the show for me was the lovely curved bar. Cask OBB on which unfortunately was a pretty flaccid drop and not a patch on Queens. I could have got unlucky with my beer but I didn’t feel this one had quite as much immediate draw compared to some other pubs nearby (a high bar, admittedly). It’s worth a nose though, for sure. 6.5

On 1st December 2017 - rating: 6
[User has posted 3912 recommendations about 3900 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about Boars Head

A decent-looking former hotel at the top end of the Market Place, with the name spelled out in carved stonework above the main windows. Even for a Sam Smith's house, the multi-room interior (and clientele) are as traditional as you could wish for in a northern town (almost to the point of caricature). Only OBB on the handpump of course, but at just £1 for a half one could hardly complain. Unusually, though, it also has both the Light and Dark Milds on the keg taps. Overall, worth a visit in own own way.

On 25th November 2017 - rating: 7
[User has posted 5735 recommendations about 5735 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Steve of N21 left this review about Boars Head

I’m still chuckling about this one days later.
I am a stickler for traditional pubs and the interior of this one ticks all the boxes. It appears to be stuck in a time warp until you realise Sam Smiths actually spent a sizeable amount of money making it look like it did back in the day. I have to say I haven’t seen wallpaper like this in a pub for many a moon, especially the flock stuff used in the sizeable rear lounge room. But the other two rooms are equally impressive in their aged look.
But what keeps me chuckling is something that What Pub eluded to in their entry when they finish with the comment “Tends to attract a mature clientele”. They are not kidding. Even though I now qualify for an age 10 greater than David Gower’s first class batting average I was reassuringly the youngest person here and there wasn’t a spare seat or stool to be had at 1.00PM on this Friday lunchtime and myself and fellow PuG crawler BF below lowered the average age of the entire pub when we entered.
The reason why became evident when we made it to the bar and ordered a couple of halves of the OBB on hand pump as they came in at £1 for a half or £2 for a pint.
So if you haven’t got a Labour or Conservative Club within walking distance where else are you going to be on a Friday lunchtime for a £2 pint?
I really hope this place survives and as is, as I fully intend to visit in 15 years time when I should fit right in..

On 21st November 2017 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1673 recommendations about 1622 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Bucking Fastard left this review about Boars Head

A Sam Smiths pub with a Tardis feel with a series of rooms ,it was packed with a mono culture of elderly northern men all well into retirement which made me feel like a youngster in their midst.The rear room also has the curry house flock wallpaper from yesteryear.The furniture is all pleasingly traditional with much bottoned back leather on display.Only Old Brewery Bitter on handpump,it's cheapness drawing the punters but sadly too boring a beer for me to spend a whole session in here.Worth a squint on a crawl.

On 19th November 2017 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1994 recommendations about 1994 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Will Larter left this review about Boars Head

A traditional multiroomed pub which was very busy before noon on a Saturday with usual Sam Smiths offerings and customers. There was a good, friendly atmosphere and it was easy to feel included in the general banter. Just one cask beer, of course, and that served too cold, but at less than £2 a pint, who's complaining?

Date of visit: 14th January 2017

On 19th June 2017 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2417 recommendations about 2281 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


ROB Camra left this review about Boars Head

A real warren of a pub with multiple small rooms. The one to the right as you enter had a real coal fire roaring away on my visit. This is a typical Sam Smiths pub with a real mix of clientele and packed at 5:45 on a Friday evening. I'm not a great fan of Sams only real ale Old Brewery Bitter, so I just had a half of the keg Dark Mild at a ridiculous 67p. I quite liked this one, but it's not for the faint hearted.

On 8th February 2016 - rating: 6
[User has posted 2730 recommendations about 2658 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about Boars Head

Sam Smiths pub with a traditional interior. The pub is well kept and a good few drinkers in, on our mid week, afternoon visit. The pub is bigger than I expected, once through the doors. To our surprise there is a large lounge, on the far left with its own bar. This a very comfortable pub and has a good upbeat atmosphere to it.

On 26th April 2014 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2859 recommendations about 2859 pubs]

Page: 1 2