User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Yet another list with Brainypool on the Pub Forum

Bakers Vaults, Stockport

Market Place
Stockport
SK1 1EU
Phone: 01614809448

Return to pub summary

Page: 1 2

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Rob Hunter left this review about Bakers Vaults

I've been in a handful of times over recent years, the most recent being on Friday lunch time after discovering that nearby Remedy was not serving food. I can only reinforce the previous reviews - a nice old building done up in a pleasant modern style with a central pillar to break things up a bit.

Service was friendly and welcoming. At the bar are ten hand pulls, split across two banks of five with the right hand bank offering the Robinsons ales and the left hand bank offering the guests. Just one of the guests was off, so a decent line up. Titanic Plum Porter seems to be a regular feature. I'm not a massive fan of Robinsons beers so the guest ales definitely make this place worth visiting in my opinion.

In terms of food it's mainly burgers and hot dog sausages, but decent quality and filling.

A Robinsons pub that's worth a visit even if, like me, you're not mad keen on Robinsons beers.

On 4th June 2019 - rating: 8
[User has posted 541 recommendations about 482 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Gill Smith left this review about Bakers Vaults

Enjoyed our visit to this Robinson's pub where we also found a guest from Salopian brewery which was very good. Large room with high ceilings and arched windows.

On 20th January 2019 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1308 recommendations about 1197 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Ian Mapp left this review about Bakers Vaults

Jukebox definitely works - converted for CD Use :-)

Handsome grade II listed building - big windows, high ceiling, wooden floors.

Didn't realise it was a Robinsons and found an unusual Butcombe Haka which was perfect.

Really nice pub. Would be my local, if I lived here.

On 20th November 2018 - rating: 8
[User has posted 697 recommendations about 691 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Malden man left this review about Bakers Vaults

A great start to our afternoon in Stockport prior to the match at Edgeley Park, a friendly welcoming ambience, great looking leaded arched windows, a high ceiling, fancy gilded clocks but not sure really about the stuffed birds of prey. A huge American 50s jukebox not sure if functioning though.
Robbies beers, well it is Stockport, Unicorn, Trooper, Dizzy Blonde, Cumbria Way, Double Hop but also Titanic Plum Porter and Cappucino Stout, Bridgehouse Holy Cow and North Cotswold Tumbling Jack. We sat outside on the picnic benches facing the market, liked it here.

On 26th October 2018 - rating: 8
[User has posted 1687 recommendations about 1663 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Pub SignMan left this review about Bakers Vaults

This large, bare boarded pub in Stockport’s market square has clearly had a recent refurbishment, creating a smart, clean venue in the heart of the town. The place gets plenty of natural light through a series of high arched windows that run around three sides of the large single room and bear a passing resemblance to the windows of the old market building across the square. A chunky L-shaped servery stands on the rear wall with an attractive angular counter and smart modern bar back topped with some impressive large barrels. High stools and benches run down the left hand side of the room, whilst standard tables and chairs can be found on a raised platform to the front, with plenty of space left over for vertical drinking, mainly around a very large centrally positioned pillar which breaks the room up nicely and hints at the pub’s former layout. The room has a very high ceiling and not too much in the way of soft furnishing, which means it gets a bit loud at times and I noticed a great old jukebox in the front right corner, which presumably adds to the cacophony once in use. Otherwise the decor is fairly limited, with only a small collection of cuckoo clocks really catching the eye. There is a hatch to a kitchen in the rear left corner and the menu looked pretty good from what I saw of it.
There was a nice ale selection on the bar with the inevitable Robinson’s beer – Unicorn, Dizzy Blonde, Trooper, Double Hop – joined by guests such as Titanic Plum Porter Grand Reserve, Potbelly Crazy Daze, Firebird Parody Session IPA and Harviestoun Old Engine Oil. The Plum Porter seemed universally popular but it’s a beer I’ve never really enjoyed, so I tried the Session IPA, which was a decent drop. The bar staff were very friendly and took a bit of time out to chat to us, as did a couple of the locals.
This is a very smart and respectable pub of the sort you would easily be able to convince non-pub going friends and family to visit. I found the service and beer range to be its biggest attractions and given its central location, could imagine stopping by regularly if I lived locally.

On 4th January 2018 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2545 recommendations about 2545 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Quinno _ left this review about Bakers Vaults

A large, modern, high-ceilinged place with hipster lights but thankfully the interior has been finished in a professional manner (though the filing cabinet print wall paper was perhaps ill-advised). Star of the show are the marvellous high arched windows which allow the place to be flooded with light, though the cuckoo clocks may win it for those of a more quirky nature. Is owned by Robbies, so I raised an eyebrow when I saw 10 pumps (four of them Robbies) and all were on. My half of Titanic Plum Porter Grand Reserve was amazing though I paid a fair whack for it - £4.30. Very busy for Friday lunchtime with a crowd largely made up of workers enjoying a long lunch. As mentioned, the high ceiling and open-plan layout means that it can get noisy very easily. Those of a particular disposition may not too enamoured by the preponderance of high tables and chairs but some standards were available. I was pretty impressed with this one, having not expected too much on entering. 7.5

On 1st December 2017 - rating: 7
[User has posted 4042 recommendations about 4030 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about Bakers Vaults

Solid brick building of slightly unusual proportions when viewed from the Market Place side, featuring distinctive arched windows at ground floor level. Substantially refurbished by Robinsons since I last visited the town (and a good thing too, as it looked destined for closure at that stage), with a surprisingly semi-modern 'H'-shaped interior under a high ceiling. Two banks of five handpumps dispensing four of the local brewery's beers - Unicorn, Dizzy Blonde, Double Hop (£1.60, half) and Trooper - plus a decent range of guests in a variety of styles leading up to the Titanic Plum Porter Reserve. Overall, a very pleasant surprise.

On 25th November 2017 - rating: 8
[User has posted 6199 recommendations about 6199 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Steve of N21 left this review about Bakers Vaults

Not a lot I can say that hasn’t been said already except to agree that this pub has been revitalised by Robinsons and full marks for allowing such an interesting guest list alongside their own beers. It’s now a bright airy space for a spot of vertical drinking provided by the high ceilings and large arched windows and with a danger of sounding boring and repetitive the Titanic Plum Porter Grand Reserve was truly superb.

On 22nd November 2017 - rating: 8
[User has posted 1712 recommendations about 1661 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about Bakers Vaults

Will had this pub down as a wildcard on our PG crawl and I have to commend him for such a good choice. The pub opened in 1755 as the George and Dragon and later on became a Gin warehouse. The vaults, which are carved in the sandstone, are still intact in the downstairs cellar.
Another piece of interest is that the pub is built next door to a site of a Roman castle. The arched leaded window openings were also a valid feature to this pub. The central bar, was low in height and had an oak counter, the bar front was painted in a petrol blue colour, along with the rest of the interior woodwork. A collection of wall mounted Austrian clocks gave interest on either side of the outer walls. Another highlight of my visit was the Titanic Plum Porter Grand Reserve, which went down a treat.

On 21st November 2017 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2976 recommendations about 2976 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Bucking Fastard left this review about Bakers Vaults

A very pleasant surprise.This fine brick building has been refurbed and cleaned up ,but on entering I feared a gastro makeover until I spied the bar with it's array of 10 handpumps featuring the Robinsons range on the right (Double Hop,Dizzy Blonde,Trooper,Unicorn,Cumbrian Way) with guests on the left side of Harviestoun Old Engine Oil,Potbelly Crazy Daze,Firebird Parody,a real cider and a superb Titanic Plum Porter Grand Reserve.
The interior is rather hip,although a front raised area does have an upright piano.The right wing has a designer mirrored wall piece and the bare light bulbs hand down from the high ceiling on long flexes .There are menus by the entrance and some punters were eating but this pub would most certainly get a revisit due to the range ,variety and quality of it's real ale.Well done to Robinsons for allowing guest ales into what from the outside looks like a strictly tied house.

On 19th November 2017 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2088 recommendations about 2088 pubs]

Page: 1 2