User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Beer of the Week (w/e 26th June 2022) with aleandhearty on the Pub Forum

The Armoury, Stockport

31 Shaw Heath
Stockport
SK3 8BD

Return to pub summary

Page: 1 2

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 7 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Steve C left this review about The Armoury

There are two bars in the Armoury, the one to the left is served by a counter to the right that supports three hand pumps that were drawing Robinson’s Unicorn (x2) and Dizzy Blonde. The keg options are Coors, Carling and Hopnik Citra IPA. Banquette seating runs along the front wall and halfway up the left wall. There is a dartboard on the rear wall. There is another room at the rear with seating and another dartboard above a fireplace. The right hand bar has an L-shaped serving counter that supports four more handpumps that were also drawing Unicorn and Dizzy. More keg. In addition to lots more banquette seating is an impressive copper fireplace. Both bars have televisions that were off. I was the only customer during a recent Tuesday evening visit so the barmaid was entertaining herself by watching the Depp v Heard trial on her i-pad (or whatever the big screen thingy is called these days). Yes I was the only customer, but I liked it in here as it has a friendliness about it, no problem going back.

On 12th June 2022 - rating: 7
[User has posted 3929 recommendations about 3905 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Pub SignMan left this review about The Armoury

Located a short stroll from Stockport station, this is a nice, welcoming Robinson's pub with a simple two bar layout. Turning right from the entrance lobby, you enter into the main bar which is carpeted and has some great curved banquette seating around the perimeter which forms into independent booths of sorts. To the right there is a very attractive fireplace with an old brass hood underneath a collection of regimental insignia and other such memorabilia. The servery is to the rear left and has a pleasing curved dark wood counter and smart bar back. Decor is rounded off with a few excellent old brewery mirrors dotted around the room and a large TV screen which was showing a football highlights programme with music playing in the background. The left hand bar has limited seating and a relatively short section of bar and was most notable for its dartboard and impressive trophy cabinet. Both rooms boast some attractive etched glass windows and the pub has achieved a nice balancing act between a traditional pub and a modern day venue which seems to have gone down well with the locals as there was a good crowd in on our Friday evening visit.
There were four Robinson's beer on the bar, so not the widest of showcases for the brewery, although they did have one beer on that I don't recall seeing elsewhere, namely Mercian Volunteers - a charity brew that lined up alongside Trooper, Dizzy Blonde and Unicorn. I think I tried them all except the Unicorn over our extended visit here and from what I recall, they were all in pretty good nick. The barmaid who served me each time was very friendly, as were some of the locals congregated around the bar.
This is far from the best pub in Stockport but is nevertheless a solid, dependable kind of place that I could easily imagine enjoying regularly if it was my local. I found the pub very friendly and comfortable and the beer well kept, which is really all you can ask for. Well worth a look on your way to or from the station.

On 9th January 2018 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2795 recommendations about 2795 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Quinno _ left this review about The Armoury

A brief stop before the train back down south. As expected, no change. I went for the Robbie's Unicorn and got an excellent half for my troubles. It’s a solid stop here. 7.5

January 2017
Well-placed for the railway station and Stockport County, this is a straightforward Robbies pub that has hung on to a decent amount of a refit in the 1920’s (note the brass footplate at the bottom of the bar and the large curved banquettes). A large main lounge bar and a couple of rear rooms (one specifically for darts), traditionally decorated though the colour scheme wasn’t to my taste and it is a bit plain compared to somewhere like the nearby Crown. Three Robinson’s ales on, I tried the Xmas and Unicorn which were both in decent nick, though I am not really a fan of their beers. It’s a decent little stop. Rated 7

On 1st December 2017 - rating: 7
[User has posted 4401 recommendations about 4387 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about The Armoury

A well supported locals pub, where on our visit I noticed one of the bar staff respectfully aiding an elderly chap across the busy junction, most probably on his way home. I found this pub to be comfortable, with decent seating areas and carpeted throughout. The main features in the main bar area was the brass 1920's brass fireplace and the brass foot plate, around the bottom of the bar. I went for the Unicorn which was good condition and priced reasonably.

On 24th November 2017 - rating: 7
[User has posted 3092 recommendations about 3092 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Steve of N21 left this review about The Armoury

This was the last pub of the crawl before disappearing off to the train station due to its ideal location a short stroll from the Edgely entrance/exit of the station. I parked myself in the comfortable lounge bar in one of the pleasant banquette seating areas, and didn’t move from there so cannot comment on the other rooms of the pub.
To achieve Feng shui on the day I went for the same Robinsons beer I tried in the first Robbo’s pub of the day some six hours earlier and can also confirm that the Unicorn was a well-kept pint in this pub.
Clearly not the strongest of the pubs we experienced on our crawl around Stockport, but still a very comfortable pub with good ales that definitely deserves a visit.

On 23rd November 2017 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1816 recommendations about 1754 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Bucking Fastard left this review about The Armoury

By a busy road junction and quite close to the side entrance to Stockport station ,this was the last but no means least of the PuG crawl around town.A Robinson's tied house with a two room layout ,a public bar to the left with a darts board,with its own back snug in green leather while the busy lounge was to the right with several banquettes,comfy and warm as the night drew in and where it was discovered that two of the PuG crawlers were perfectly colour co ordinated.
The four handpumps were drawing three ales on my trip Trooper,Dizzy Blonde and Unicorn (decent).A good friendly boozer ,clean and tidy throughout with some pleasing features despite the presence of some flatscreens which were at least on mute.Worth including on a crawl.

On 19th November 2017 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2338 recommendations about 2338 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Aqualung . left this review about The Armoury

This is a multi-roomed Robinsons corner pub that is GBG 2017 listed. As you enter there is a door on the left and one on the right. I took the left door as it sounded like there was a TV in the other. On a late Tuesday afternoon this room was empty. I assume it's the public bar as there is a decent darts area at the back. There are two small TVs that were turned off. Behind the darts area is a small snug that I was dismayed to see was dominated by a large TV which was turned off. I didn't venture into the bar with the TV turned on. Although there are three hand pumps in the bar I was in and I thought I saw four in the other bar only three Robinsons beers were available Dizzy Blonde, Unicorn and Pint Of Thrones. I went for the Unicorn (£3.00) which was excellent.
I found the TVs here a turn-off and doubt that I would return. There are places in Stockport with a much better range of Robinsons beers. It's GBG 2017 listed.

On 24th May 2017 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2143 recommendations about 2143 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


ROB Camra left this review about The Armoury

Multi roomed Robinsons pub close to the Edgeley exit from the station. The lounge to the right has a big screen TV racing, a couple of booths and a fine copper fireplace, there's also a jukebox. The room to the left has a dartboard and had speakers set up on my Friday afternoon visit. The room to the rear left has another dartboard and also a large TV screen which was turned off at the time. All the room are nicely decorated with green, leather look seating. Lots of pictures of old Stockport around the walls. There's a beer garden to the rear as well. Upstairs is another room (not visited) which sometimes hosts live music and can also be used as a function room. 4 handpumps on the bar with 3 ales available Dizzy Blonde, Trooper & Unicorn. The Dizzy was a good pint. It's close to Stockport County's home ground, so it's probably best avoided when they're at home.

On 18th December 2015 - rating: 8
[User has posted 3000 recommendations about 2917 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Al Bundy left this review about The Armoury

A pleasant 2 roomed corner pub by Edgeley Park footy ground. 4 cask ales on. 3 from Robinson's plus 1 guest.

On 24th August 2015 - rating: 7
[User has posted 3447 recommendations about 3354 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about The Armoury

A pleasingly traditional Robinsons pub, with a compact 'L'-shaped lounge and separate vaults (public bar). Comfortable furniture, especially the low curved booths. Unicorn, Hatters and Dizzy Blonde (£2.44) available from the five handpumps. Overall, worth stopping off if in the area.

On 6th April 2012 - rating: 7
[User has posted 7001 recommendations about 7001 pubs]

Page: 1 2