User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Beer of the Week (w/e 15th September 2019) with oldboots on the Pub Forum

Arden Arms, Stockport Central, Stockport

23 Millgate
Stockport
SK1 2LX
Phone: 01614802185

Return to pub summary

Page: 1 2

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 7 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Pub SignMan left this review about Arden Arms

There is something unmistakably exciting about discovering a pub with some sort of feature that you've never encountered before and amazingly, this rather unassuming Robinson's pub turned up a great example of this. The pub is dominated by its large D-shaped servery which squeezes the room around it so that customers only have a relatively narrow, tile floored space to move through. The counter is divided into a number of segments, each with their own sash window under some pleasant pot shelves. The reason for such a large servery soon becomes apparent, as staff and customers alike push their way through the swing doors, into the serving area and then out into a snug beyond. With so much footfall, a large serving area is definitely required and several times I witnessed near misses as customers haplessly wandered out of the snug, nearly knocking into barmaids laden with drinks. It's a great feature though and I was a bit disappointed to find the snug already packed full with diners on my lunchtime visit. In fact, the pub is very much set up for food, with all the tables in the rooms either side of the bar occupied as well. One of these rooms has tile flooring and lovely fixed bench seating with original bell pushes and etched glass windows, whilst the other is more of a formal dining room with standard tables and chairs and a sign asking you to wait to be seated. The walls throughout the pub have been decorated with interesting old posters and a few old mirrors and there was a soundtrack of 80's pop music playing quietly in the background.
All of the handpulls are sited on the bar back, which took me a while to figure out. They had a good selection of Robinson's ales on the go, with options including Unicorn, Dizzy Blonde, Dark Vader, Wizard, Trooper and Double Hop. I gave the Wizard a try and thought it was one of their weaker brews, but it was in decent enough shape and I found I had to drink it sat at the bar as there was literally nowhere else to sit, such was the pub's popularity.
I clearly timed my visit here badly and should've heeded the warnings of my fellow Pubs Galore crawlers to avoid this place at peak dining time. It would've been great to sit in the snug, but tables are clearly at a premium here and I will have to save that experience for another day. The place is clearly worth a look for it's unusual interior layout and had one of the widest ranges of Robinson's beers I found around town, but you'll need to time your visit better than I did to get the most out of it.

On 10th January 2018 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2303 recommendations about 2303 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Quinno _ left this review about Arden Arms

A Robbie's CAMRA heritage pub and one of the Stockport ‘must-visits’. A Georgian building, inside it’s a multi-roomer and one of these is - get this - accessed through the central bar (apparently this is by invitation only but we just ambled straight through anyway). Service at a central part-glazed hatch a bit like the Beacon in Sedgeley. Six on, all Robbie's (keep an eye – there are two banks of three at the back of the bar!). My Double Hop was fine. Now the downsides; it’s pretty heavy on the food so at busy times you’ll struggle to find a table and standing at the bar isn’t really an option. Also, the awful piped music (for the diners, I imagine). It's well-worth a visit if you’ve not been before but whether you prioritise it the next time, when there a number of other excellent Robbies pubs in town, is perhaps a different matter. I suppose it depends if you want to eat.

On 1st December 2017 - rating: 7
[User has posted 3899 recommendations about 3887 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about Arden Arms

Solid Robinson's pub that, whilst quite plain externally, somehow looks if it ought to be interesting inside (and it certainly doesn't disappoint). The first thing you see on entering is the dining room - or rather, two conjoined rooms - to the right (still doing good business late lunchtime on a Friday). To the left comes the curved bar, with part-glazed screens creating hatches serving the compact drinking lobby. Beyond that is a comfortable corner room with its own counter, but you have to go back to the bar to find the famous fourth room, a snug known as 'the Select', which has to be accessed through the servery with permission from the staff. Unusually too, the two banks of the three handpumps are located on the bar-back, all dispensing beers from the Robinson's range, including the Dark Vader (£1.70, half). All-in-all, I would rate this as a 'must visit' for anybody seeking out heritage pub interiors.

On 26th November 2017 - rating: 8
[User has posted 5639 recommendations about 5639 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Steve of N21 left this review about Arden Arms

Another one of the many Robinson outlets in Stockport but another that justifies a visit due to its interesting interior and especially the small snug room where you have to walk through the bar serving area to get to it. Also different is the fact that the hand pumps are not on the front of the bar but at the back and on two banks of three pumps either side of the snug entrance. Tried the Double Hop in this one and it was well kept.
There seemed to be quite a focus on food also in this pub and the main room to the right as you enter seems to primary function for diners and being a Friday lunchtime it was full to capacity.
Fortunately there wasn’t many drinkers only in so we managed to get a seat in the left hand room behind the bar with its fine Old Tom Brewery Mirror.
Now this is one you could bring a girlfriend to on a first date. Good food, good beer and a very comfortable pub of some character in which to enjoy them.

On 22nd November 2017 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1659 recommendations about 1608 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Bucking Fastard left this review about Arden Arms

A Robinsons tied house with a listed interior which makes it worth a visit.There is a corridor servery with handpumps set against a rear wall to allow customers to cross the floor of the servery and into a snug behind the bar,a very rare feature.There is a seperate front snug by the front door and around the side a further small room with bell pushes.It's all very cosy and welcoming with traditional decor and some interesting mirrors.The 6 Robbies beer on my trip were Darth Vader,Unicorn,Trooper,Wizard,Dizzy Blonde and Double Hop(fine).
Well worth calling in if crawling the town.

On 19th November 2017 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1977 recommendations about 1977 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Al Bundy left this review about Arden Arms

A multi-roomed Robinsons pub and a very traditional one. At least 3 rooms with a centrally located bar. No handpumps on the bar as they are actually behind the bar. There are 6 to be found here and all beers were from Robinsons. The pub is a bit cramped around the bar area. I liked the pub but if youre not a fan of Robbies beers you're gonna be disappointed with the beer.

On 17th November 2017 - rating: 7
[User has posted 3347 recommendations about 3263 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Aqualung . left this review about The Arden Arms

This is a famous old multi-roomed Robinson's pub that is not too unlike their Black Horse in Preston. I arrived here early Saturday afternoon to find it busy so found a seat outside.
Six Robinson's beers were available and I went for their Double Hop (£3.40) which was in decent nick. The most off putting thing here was an over loud soundtrack playing (including outside) which to me just isn't right for such an old fashioned pub.
I've visited this one on both previous occasions I've been to Stockport but somehow it didn't seem as good as I remembered it.

On 15th November 2016 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2127 recommendations about 2122 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Old Boots left this review about The Arden Arms

A real cracker of a multi room pub including one room (The Snug) which can only be reached by going through the servery. The six pulls are all on the bar back and it's a Robbo's pub with a most of their range in excellent nick. Dark wood and stained glass abounds and there are the old bell pushes in position some of which still work. Furnishing is very tradition with bench seating and Britannia tables. Lovely and unmissable.

On 2nd October 2016 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2070 recommendations about 1926 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about The Arden Arms

Well worth a visit for it's listed interior. An unusual feature was the snug, which is only accessible by walking through the central bar. We arrived just after lunch and did manage to view their daily specials menu, which did look very inviting. The prices for lunch were slightly higher than elsewhere, but the choice was above average.
We went for the Robinsons 1892, which was in very good shape, but one pint was enough.
The pub had a large patio area and the original coaching house stables can still be seen.

On 22nd April 2014 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2844 recommendations about 2844 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Peter Rydings left this review about The Arden Arms

Very busy doing christmas meal no time for people that just want a drink had a pint of Robinsons Unicorn not very good.
Must be the wrong time of year just for us drinkers will give it another go

On 14th December 2013 - rating: 5
[User has posted 948 recommendations about 917 pubs]

Page: 1 2