User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Lockdown 2 with oldboots on the Pub Forum

The Goathland Hotel, Whitby

Goathland
Goathland
Postal town: Whitby
YO22 5LY

Return to pub summary

Pub Type

Punch Taverns

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 3 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Ian Mapp left this review about The Goathland Hotel

Renamed in part to the Aidensfield Arms in a bid to woo Nick Berry Fans.

Mental Busy. Miserable Staff. Terrible Black Sheep beer in awful condition.

Think I'm exaggerating? Have a look at tripadvisor!

Visit blogged at http://bit.ly/2J4Okah

On 17th April 2018 - rating: 1
[User has posted 691 recommendations about 685 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Andrew Cambell left this review about The Goathland Hotel

This has to be the most unfriendly pub we have ever visited! We were standing at the side of the bar waiting to be served and very abrubtly the bar maid said, "stand in front of the bar, not in the corridor". Then the landlord said, "the family room is there", pointing at a room at the side of the pub. Both were really abrupt, rude, unfriendly and treated us like third class citizens. And to cap it all the prices!!! I agree with other reviewers if it hadn't been for Heartbeat, they'd be history by now. Message to the owners...it's the tourists that keep you in business, not the locals!

On 3rd January 2014 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 1 recommendations about 1 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Peter Rydings left this review about The Goathland Hotel

It was 15 years ago last time we were in here just as it was then very tired now If heartbeat had not been filmed her this one and all the other business would have been closed now. Found the staff not friendly and if it was not for the trips they would be unemployed they want to think about that. AND MAKE PEOPLE WELCOME

On 16th August 2013 - rating: 2
[User has posted 948 recommendations about 917 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Andy Connelly left this review about The Goathland Hotel

got to agree with rosie bloody expensive and go to the fish tank one of the fish wants a fight tap the glass and you will see what i meen lol

On 8th September 2010 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 1 recommendations about 1 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Rosie Williams left this review about The Goathland Hotel

Average food, average service, found only one friendly member of staff and she was very new, landlord very rude - generally if you didn't want to discuss Heartbeat you were treated as inferior clientele, £7.95 for a pint and wine n soda - would I go back er no!

p.s pls clean out the fish tank, ty

On 8th September 2010 - rating: 2
[User has posted 1 recommendations about 1 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Tony Hagger left this review about The Goathland Hotel

I orderered a meal here had my card in my hand and then when I gave the lady who was serving me the card she tells me they do not take cards, I think it is about time this pub got into the 21st century.

On 30th August 2010 - rating: 4
[User has posted 1 recommendations about 1 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Mike Hewitt left this review about The Goathland Hotel

I spent so much time in here in the 70's my Dad used to joke that I lived there. I've only been back a few times since then, but it has'nt changed much and the beer had been just as good. However, our most recent visit was a bit of a disappointment, the beer was warm, the atmosphere was a bit flat and we chose to sit in the beer garden to get away from the tourists visiting the "Aidensfield Arms" from Heartbeat.

On 18th August 2008 - rating: 6
[User has posted 83 recommendations about 71 pubs]