User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Covid Rules Stuff with london calling on the Pub Forum

Grove Tavern, Tunbridge Wells

34 Little Mount Sion
Tunbridge Wells
TN1 1YS
Phone: 01892526549

Return to pub summary

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 8 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Pub SignMan left this review about Grove Tavern

This is a very basic, traditional side street boozer located up a rather steep side road off the main High Street. The pub has a simple bare boarded interior with the servery along much of the right hand wall. The front part of the pub is dominated by a popular pool table that various people seemed to be queued up to play on, arguably detracting from the pub’s traditional feel but clearly helping to pull a few extra punters through the door. The bar has a plain tongue and groove counter with a similar bar back that features a promising looking ‘Coming Soon’ ale list. The pool table means that seating is forced along the left side of the room, with some small tables and low stools opposite the bar, broken by a tidy brick fireplace with a plain mirror above and various certificates and other items relating to the pub’s charitable work to one side. There’s a sofa in the rear left corner under a flat screen TV which was turned off on this visit, with a slot machine and small table rounding out the furniture at the back of the room. Playing cards and traditional games can be found in a window sill back here and the decor includes a shelf full of rugby and whiskey themed items as well as some unusual clocks made from old 7” records, which should not be taken as a hint towards the pub’s music policy though – there was no piped music playing at all throughout the course of my stay.
The aforementioned ‘Coming Soon’ board hints towards the pub’s commitment to real ale and they had four active handpulls on the go when I arrived, dispensing Taylors Landlord, Harvey’s Sussex Best, Marston’s EPA and a Pale Ale from a brewery I failed to note. The EPA was in pretty decent shape and set me back £4.00 for a pint, which seems to be about par for the course in these parts.
I liked this pub which made up for a fairly mainstream ale selection by creating a pleasant environment in which to relax over a few pints. The staff were very friendly and the pub had that feel to it that makes you think it will always offer a warm welcome to a stranger. I only had a rushed visit here, but I’d certainly be more than happy to return, as it fitted in nicely with the other pubs on my crawl.

On 31st May 2019 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2512 recommendations about 2512 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about Grove Tavern

Proper pub, in a characterful but somewhat hidden part of Tunbridge Wells a short walk up a steep hill from the High Street. Very traditional look, both inside and out. Pool table and darts board somehow fitted into the compact bar. Welcoming landlord and bar staff. Four handpumps on the counter, dispensing the regular Landlord and Harveys plus Cameron's A-hop-alypse Now (£3.70) as a guest on my latest visit. Remains thoroughly recommended.

On 5th March 2017 - rating: 8
[User has posted 6175 recommendations about 6175 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Mark Davey left this review about Grove Tavern

I agree totally with Just a... proper pub off the beaten track and well worth a visit. Great pint of Harveys on the bar, decent food and a pool table. Nice welcoming staff and chatty locals make this a destination in Tunbridge Wells.

On 11th July 2016 - rating: 8
[User has posted 292 recommendations about 276 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Malden man left this review about Grove Tavern

This is a delightful old pub situated up a narrow hill lane off the High St. It felt like stepping into a bygone era on entering, no music, TV switched off, a clutch of clearly regular locals sat on stools around the bar were chewing the fat over various issues while a friendly golden retriever lay across the floor. A pie warmer contained sausage rolls, scotch eggs and "Kentish pies". A bare boarded rectangular room with the bar central on a side wall causing a small return area each end. The front had a pool table which remained unused throughout my visit while a panelled wall at the other end which was covered in beer mats had a dartboard behind a pair of shutters. Beamed ceilings with beer related quotations and areas of full height boarding to the walls, painted mustard and cream. Apart from the bar stools seating was limited to a handful of Britannia tables. Various framed bits of this and that plus a shelf of whisky boxes forms the majority of the décor.
There are four handpumps, JW Lees Supernova, Landlord, Harvey's Best and a nice drop of Exmoor Gold (£3.60). The JWL and the Landlord were both sparklered which shows an attention to detail.
You don't find too many old back street pubs like this any more, essentially unchanged for years, I liked it in here enormously.

On 26th February 2016 - rating: 8
[User has posted 1687 recommendations about 1663 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Aqualung . left this review about Grove Tavern

This is an old school back street boozer that claims to be one of the oldest in Tunbridge Wells, a claim that I thought was fairly meaningless. I think I can say for sure that it's older than the other three pubs in town I visited.
It's a small local pub with a single room and wooden floorboards. It's fairly obvious that it was once two rooms but not any more. As you enter there is a pool table that takes up a large section of the right of the pub. At the other end there is a large TV screen that was mercifully turned off and there is a jukebox.
The bar is on one side of the room and has four hand pumps. On this occasion they had Landlord, Harvey's Sussex Best, GK Rocking Rudolph and Long Man Long Blonde. I went for the Long Blonde which was in good nick but rather expensive at £3.65 for a sub 4.0% beer.
I thought the beer choice here was fairly dull and while it's a pleasant enough place I didn't think it was anything special, it's just a local boozer. It is GBG 2016 listed.

On 22nd December 2015 - rating: 6
[User has posted 2143 recommendations about 2143 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


stuart farquharson left this review about Grove Tavern

Quite simply, feels like home to me!, friendly, good beer, good company, nothing else compares in Tunbridge Wells if you want a proper pub.

On 22nd October 2011 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 1 recommendations about 1 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Steve C left this review about Grove Tavern

The Grove Tavern is a stones throw from the touristy Pantiles area, but it is tucked up a back street so it isn’t a place that one would accidently stumble upon. This works in its favour as it is a proper local boozer and although quite small it still has a dartboard and pool table. There is also a jukebox and a plasma screen, although I saw no Sky Sports advertised. The 6am start Rugby World Cup games were advertised though and tickets were being sold for the morning breakfast and beer sessions. There were a handful of locals present during my Wednesday afternoon visit and the guy working the bar was very friendly. Along with the Stowford Press, Becks, Staropramen and Guinness there are four hand pumps that were drawing Landlord, Hydes Thirst Aid, Harveys Best and Skinners Splendid Tackle.

If I lived in the area this would be my local as it is easily the best pub I have been into in Tunbridge Wells so far.

On 15th October 2011 - rating: 9
[User has posted 3586 recommendations about 3565 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Roger Pester left this review about The Grove Tavern

Visited this bar at lunchtime, one bar and very quiet,Landlord and Harveys best bitter available plus the usual.Pie and a pint £5. Tunbridge Wells oldest pub.

On 21st July 2009 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 21 recommendations about 21 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Steve Baxter left this review about The Grove Tavern

Simply the best traditional little pub in the old village area of Tunbridge Wells. A haven for all drinks (inc. 3 real ales), pool, darts and friendly chat for locals & newcomers alike.

But then again I'm biased .... being the landlord!!!

On 23rd February 2009 - rating: 10
[User has posted 1 recommendations about 1 pubs]