User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
How Will Pubs Open? with trainman on the Pub Forum

The Greyhound, Newcastle under Lyme

67 George Street
Newcastle under Lyme
ST5 1JT
Phone: 01782635814

Return to pub summary

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about The Greyhound

Another well run, Project William schemed pub, that is traditional in style and décor and the main feature on my visit was the Art Deco designed bar front, found in the main bar. The two main, front steel crittall windows are also of the 1930s Art Deco period.. You can also enter this pub via two main front entrances, the one on the left leads you straight into the main bar. The right hand side entrance leads you into a lobby, from which you enter a tiled snug area and the back lounge. Five Titanic ales and three guest on handpump. Two of the guests were from Everards and the third was from Elgoods Golden Newt. We went for the Elgoods and Everards Tiger, both were very well kept.

On 15th January 2019 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2976 recommendations about 2976 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about The Greyhound

Only had time for a brief visit to this Titanic outlet located between Newcastle and Hartshill, but with several other interesting pubs in the area it makes the walk worthwhile. Pleasantly traditional furniture and decor in both bars (with plenty of dark woodwork), but the front terrace was the most popular spot in the early evening sunshine. Eight of the nine handpumps divided between the two counters were in use, with real ales including Steerage, White Star and Iceberg plus three guests from Kelham island.

On 2nd July 2018 - rating: 8
[User has posted 6002 recommendations about 6002 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Steve of N21 left this review about The Greyhound

I too warmed to this Titanic outlet as it is a proper pub with a decent beer range. I would have been happy with just the offering in the main bar but fortunately mentioned to a local perched on a beer stool close to the pumps that it was a shame the Plum Porter wasn’t on, to be told “yes it is, it’s in the back bar.” So as the reviewer below says, make sure you have a good look in both bars to see what’s on as I didn’t and almost paid the price, and I somehow seemed to miss the board referred to below also.
I do like the Plum Porter and this was a good one, so for me this was a good pub visit.

On 2nd July 2018 - rating: 8
[User has posted 1699 recommendations about 1648 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


ROB Camra left this review about The Greyhound

A two roomed traditional pub operated by Titanic. A good selection of their beers plus a couple of guests. Pretty busy inside on our Friday late afternoon visit, so we ended up sitting outside at the front of the pub on the very busy A52. No matter it was warm and pleasant enough. Well worth the walk out of town to visit this and the other nearby pubs.

On 28th June 2018 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2854 recommendations about 2775 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Bucking Fastard left this review about The Greyhound

Titanic ales feature here in this Project William pub on the outskirts of town,but close to some other fine ale houses.There are two main rooms but it is worth checking out both as there are handpumps in both bar which offer different real ales,including real ciders on the back bar.There is a lot of wood panelling and traditional furniture and the pub was busy afterwork on a Friday.The main bar had 5 handpumps offering Titanic Iceberg,Steerage,White Star and two guest Kelham Island Pride of Sheffield and Fat Cat Milk Stout.Keg taps were offering some craft keg including Titanic Stout along with more mainstrean crap.Titanic Plum Porter,Salopian Harbinger,Kelham Island Pale Rider and Everards Tiger(reversed) were on in the back bar.You know what you are going to get with Titanic,great ale in a good pubby atmosphere and it's another pub that shouldn't be missed on any beer tourism.

On 17th June 2018 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2054 recommendations about 2054 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Quinno _ left this review about The Greyhound

This Titanic boozer (another Project William lease from Everards, I think) is just out of the immediate town centre. Inverse U-shaped interior with a nice boat hull style bar front. Public bar area to the left with lounge round to the right. Nine on in total but consult the board rather than the bar clips as there are more pumps round the back. Deathly quiet on our Sunday afternoon visit. Went for two of the Titanic ales, the White Star had a nasty sweetcorn taste and really should have gone back (brewer fault or the of lack of turnover on a quiet day?). The Steerage was better. The glum barman, naff half of White Star, lack of atmosphere and a gloomy feeling interior on a drab day made for a disappointing visit and this was by far and away the worse of the three Titanic pubs we did that weekend. I’d think twice before returning. 5.5

On 15th November 2016 - rating: 5
[User has posted 3997 recommendations about 3985 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Al Bundy left this review about The Greyhound

A nice Titanic outlet. There are 2 entrances at the front and whichever you take it takes you to either side of the bar. As noted it does serve other beers apart from Titanic. The Cotleigh Honey Buzzard was anything but as sweet as you might expect. That said you can get the Plum Porter which is lovely and the steam porter by whoever it was is very nice. The outside seating area, though noisy, does get a lot of the sun.

On 21st April 2016 - rating: 7
[User has posted 3381 recommendations about 3299 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Aqualung . left this review about The Greyhound

This was the very first Project William pub in conjunction with Titanic Brewery. It's on the edge of the town and is a terraced pub just off the corner of Albert Street. There only appears to be one entrance leading to the left side of the pub which has an island bar that the rest of the pub wraps around. It's certainly a dog friendly pub as there seemed to be a procession of pooches leading their owners around to the right hand side of the pub. The left side of the bar has five hand pumps plus two selling cider and there are another four at the rear. There were four regular Titanic beers on and the others were the inevitable Everard's Tiger, Portobello APA, Glamorgan Thunderbird, Burton Bridge Sovereign Gold and Stockport Cascade. I tried two Titanic beers the White Star (£3.10) and the Plum Porter (£3.15) both of which were in excellent nick but I still don't think that White Star is the beer it was from their earlier days and after being watered down.
As expected this turned out to be another excellent Titanic pub.

On 25th February 2016 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2143 recommendations about 2143 pubs]