User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
New pub visits 2022 with ETA on the Pub Forum

The Vineyard, N1

179 Upper Street
Islington
N1
N1 1RG
Phone: 02072266276

Return to pub summary

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Graham Coombs left this review about The Vineyard

Strange pub in a long arched building, set back a little from the road through a nice patio area. The L-shaped room has a slightly garish décor and seems to be mainly fitted with padded seating groups for, err, groups. the ales were a bit disappointing, with just Doom Bar and a house beer from Portobello on pump, and the latter was not very nice. A selection of craft fonts were also present. It certainly gives no clue it was once a Wetherspoons.

On 4th December 2019 - rating: 5
[User has posted 2609 recommendations about 2553 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Tris C left this review about The Vineyard

I think that this was probably once one of the area's myriad long-closed cinemas into which I was dragged as a group a few days ago.
You enter from the street and pass down the central aisle of a spacious patio with electric heaters into a fairly large single-storey building which goes back a fair way, with a long bar along the left wall. You don't need a pub guide to immediately notice that this is a bar aimed squarely at the twenty-something age bracket who probably travel a fair distance to reach here.
Décor is modern and contemporary as you'd expect with no freaky novelties - a bit of a lounge bar but with one or two games machines, a jukebox and an acoustic duo doing a Bowie tribute at a bearable volume. Food flits from what Americans call 'food' to Italian, tapas...
Ales: one clip reversed, thereafter Sharp's Doom Bar and Fuller's London Pride which was ok, but then again Pride is never going to get the pulse racing. I didn't clock the price as we were in rounds but the cost didn't cause eyebrows to raise, though this area's hardly cheap.
All in: a passable bar but not my type of thing, though I think my relative level of enthusiasm would probably dwindle if visiting on a Friday or Saturday night or if there's a game on at the Emirates.

On 15th September 2017 - rating: 4
[User has posted 1519 recommendations about 1497 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


custodian 42 left this review about The Vineyard

Quite a large place but there wasn't much in the way of real ale. Won't be returning.

On 19th January 2017 - rating: 4
[User has posted 1693 recommendations about 1691 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about The Vineyard

Slightly odd place, housed in a former who-knows-what, with a right mix of furniture and eclectic decor under a barrel-arch roof and in a side branch at the back. Also has a decent-sized patio at the front for the better weather. Menu a bit more upmarket than most Stonegate pubs. Three real ales on handpump: Broadside, Robinson's Trooper and Proper Job (£4.00).

On 20th March 2016 - rating: 6
[User has posted 7039 recommendations about 7039 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Pub SignMan left this review about The Vineyard

This large pub on Upper Street was previously a Wetherspoons called The Moon Under Water but is now run by the Stonegate pub group. The pub has a large L shaped interior with the servery running down the left hand side. The first thing to catch the eye is the attractive vaulted brick ceiling which runs the length of the pub and gives the place a nice aesthetic. The bar area is bare boarded and the servery, which you access by passing through a gaudy square archway decked with fiesta flags and sombreros for no discernable reason, boasts a padded leather counter front and dark wood bar back. Sofas can be found opposite with a mix of standard, high stool and tub chair seating elsewhere. The walls have been decorated with some smart art prints, a set of antlers draped with a Mexican flag and a couple of book shelves. Impressive floral displays bookended the bar counter and the room was fitted with a number of fancy looking light fixtures. A second arch marks the start of a quieter rear space which doglegs round to the left and offers simpler seating under a crazy wall mural and some framed artwork. The pub also has a pretty attractive garden to the front, with plenty of seating on a partly covered decked space with lots of fairy lights strung around the place. Music played quietly throughout my visit and I noted pizzas were available for around £9.00 alongside the bog standard Stonegate menu.
I wasn't expecting too much at the bar, so was a little surprised to find Wychwood Hobgoblin and Loch Ness Brewery Loch Ness available on handpull. I tried a pint of the latter which was a rich, malty brew but perhaps a bit past its prime.
This was a decent enough place for a quick post-gig pint but I felt that the pub's target audience probably leant more towards the young professional and that this perhaps led to some compromises in the pub's presentation and ale range. Nice to stop in the garden on a bright day but there are better pubs just a short walk away.

On 11th August 2015 - rating: 5
[User has posted 2805 recommendations about 2805 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


hondo . left this review about The Vineyard

Barrel vaulted interior with a decked area outside. 3 real ales and food served.

On 19th March 2014 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2824 recommendations about 2766 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


john gray left this review about The Vineyard

This is a nice pub with a lovely vaulted brick ceiling. Busy on my mid-week visit. 2 real ales Bombadier and Ringwood-49er which was in decent condition.Stylish interior and outside seating.

On 26th October 2013 - rating: 7
[User has posted 965 recommendations about 951 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Steve C left this review about The Vineyard

The Vineyard has a large part decked and part paved seating area out the front behind a gated entrance where an A-board proudly displays the fact that this pub is a sport free zone, so not a good start in my opinion. As I approached the entrance the choice of music was apparent and I thought to myself that it’s a shame the pub isn’t an inane boy band free zone. There’s a premium and standard draught selection available alongside Doom Bar, Landlord and Greene King IPA, but if the standard of the Guinness was anything to go by I would give the ales a wide berth as my pint was undrinkable. In fact the service left a lot to be desired and the cock sure barman had no idea no idea how to pour the black stuff. The pub was empty early Saturday evening, but all of the tables at the rear and most at the front were reserved for groups so even thought there were hardly any other customers there was still nowhere to sit. I got the feeling that later in the evening the crowd would consist of early twenty-somethings who take advantage of the 1am closing. There is also an extension until 1am on Fridays and an extra half an hour on Sundays and There is live music every Thursday night.

I was left feeling like I’d just wasted fifteen minutes of my life as I left here and I cannot imagine returning.

On 10th October 2010 - rating: 2
[User has posted 3948 recommendations about 3925 pubs]