User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Beer of the Week (w/e 19th January 2020) with ROBCamra on the Pub Forum

The Full Moon (JD Wetherspoon), Dudley Central, Dudley

58-60 High Street
Dudley
DY1 1PY
Phone: 01384212294

Return to pub summary

Pub Type

J D Wetherspoon

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 5 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Al Bundy left this review about The Full Moon (JD Wetherspoon)

A by-the-book Wethers. Long and thin with, depending on which way you enter, an extension to one side. 12 handpumps with all ales doubled up, which meant the usual crap plus 3 beers from Exmoor today (Fox, Stag and Beast). It doesn't seem to have the attraction of being any cheaper than the other pubs in the town centre. And apart from Ruddles you won't be paying less than £2.35, which is still not bad.

On 1st July 2017 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 3378 recommendations about 3295 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Aqualung . left this review about The Full Moon (JD Wetherspoon)

From outside this looks like it will be a smaller Spoons but inside the narrow room stretches back a long way. It's a bit drab and dark as a result but was doing a roaring trade on my Saturday lunchtime visit. The beer selection was not that great. Although there are twelve pumps four were unused and four took up the two usual GK beers. This left two Lymestone beers, Upham Punter and Jennings Cocker Hoop as an uninvited guest.
I went for the Upham Punter which was in good nick but at £2.15 not dramatically cheaper than the Batham's pubs. In fact, the Spoons in the affluent London suburbs of Chingford and Northwood Hills are cheaper than here.
The rather average beer selection and dark shop conversion let this place down for me.

On 3rd March 2014 - rating: 4
[User has posted 2146 recommendations about 2141 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Gill Smith left this review about The Full Moon (JD Wetherspoon)

Called in on our way to Dudley Beer Festival, and found it was a typical Wetherspoons. There were no new beers available for us, so we had O'Hanlon Stormstay. This former Department store has made it into the 2011 Good Beer Guide, but there are better Wetherspoons around.

The above was December 2010, and we went there on Tuesday to meet up with a couple for a wander round a few pubs in Dudley area. There were no new ales for us, and we chose Everard's Sleigh Bell and Black Hole Brewery Supernova. Condition ok.

On 2nd January 2014 - rating: 6
[User has posted 1297 recommendations about 1187 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about The Full Moon (JD Wetherspoon)

Situated in the middle of the pedestrianised street, on the left hand side after getting off the No.74 bus. This is the longest and narrowest Spoons I've been in to date. One of the locals told us it used to be a former Debenhams store. There were eight ales on handpump, I went for the Jennings Crag Rat.

On 9th September 2013 - rating: 6
[User has posted 2934 recommendations about 2934 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Andrea Hughes left this review about The Full Moon (JD Wetherspoon)

As Wetherspoons go, this wasn't so bad, they had a good selection of seasonal ales and the food was okay. We'd spent ages mapping out real ale hostelries for Dudley and totally overlooked all the Lloyds/Wetherspoons! I think there are four in Dudley. But what can you say about Wetherspoons? Some have a range of well kept ales, some don't bother at all, The thing I remember most about our short visit to eat here, was the length of the pub! Is that why the Christmas party in fancy dress needed their own key to the disabled loos because they couldnt manage the stagger to the rear of the pub?

On 28th December 2010 - rating: 4
[User has posted 21 recommendations about 21 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Soup Dragon left this review about The Full Moon (JD Wetherspoon)

A rather uninspiring terraced half brick and half blue facaded Weatherspoons.

The interior is Spoons through and through, being a long narrow room set out with tables for food. The bar is to the left on entry and someway into the pub. The decor is the plain, but different coloured walls, with the usual mix of old photos and prints, with a couple of historic information boards. The service was good, the clientele so few you could almost here the silent TVs with Sky Sports, as there was no music either. Oh, and the food was pretty bland.

Beer; tap stuff with Ruddles and Abbots as ever, with three or four more - i had Northumberland Premium Ale which was fine.

I wouldn't rush back, but at least the beer was fine.

On 14th May 2010 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 3053 recommendations about 3048 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Danny O'Revey left this review about The Full Moon (JD Wetherspoon)

A typical Wetherspoons, near the centre of Dudley, one long room with the bar to the side, normal decorations and tables/chairs set out in lines. Nothing exciting or different here but offers the usual McSpoon fare, including cheap beer

On 24th November 2009 - rating: 4
[User has posted 1276 recommendations about 1253 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Anonymous User left this review about The Full Moon (JD Wetherspoon)

The sign depicts a full moon over Dudley Castle which overlooks the town.

On 15th April 2009 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 0 recommendations about 0 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Andrew Garbett left this review about The Full Moon

This is a typical cheap pub.It has cheap beer but not of good quality, although, the wine and spirit selections are quality. The food is quite poor

On 25th July 2007 - rating: 4
[User has posted 3 recommendations about 3 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Alan Hickens left this review about The Full Moon (JD Wetherspoon)

As with all the Wetherspoons Houses in this area, The Full Moon is a cheap beer drinkers pub, beers, wines and spirits on offer here are always the cheapest in the town. Sometimes being as much as £1 cheaper than other establishments. Excellent value

On 4th September 2004 - rating: 8
[User has posted 3 recommendations about 3 pubs]