User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Disappearing and 'in peril' breweries with Quinno on the Pub Forum

The Old Fish Market, Bristol

63 Baldwin Street
Bristol
BS1 1QZ
Phone: 01179211515

Return to pub summary

Pub Type

Fuller's
Page: 1 2

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Ian Mapp left this review about The Old Fish Market

Another cracking Bristolian Pub. Long and thin Fullers House - with some tables outside and a wonderful interior. Large, long bar. Nooks and crannies around the back of the bar. Chesterfields and other comfy seating.

Range of Fullers on - including a very good ESB.

Expensive.

On 7th June 2021 - rating: 9
[User has posted 846 recommendations about 838 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Pub SignMan left this review about The Old Fish Market

This is a large Fullers pub set in a grand old city centre building which, as the name suggests, was once part of Bristol’s fish market. The pub has a wide, but comparatively shallow interior with plenty of exposed floorboards, parquet flooring and a fabulous, ornate servery through the centre. The bar has a decorative but chunky wooden counter with a stone top and a high dark wood bar back studded with some pleasant mirrors. The entrance porch to the main bar area has an elaborately decorated wooden roof and there are large plain windows along the front wall which let in plenty of light – a real benefit for those who choose to sit at the high tables and stools that run beneath them. Banquette seating is available along the right hand wall with a few tables and chairs further back near a wall covered with chalkboard paint which has allowed the staff to write the full menu on it in large lettering. To the left of the bar, there is a separate room that looked to me like a more formal dining room area, with half panelled walls dotted with a few black and white photos around a space full of regular tables and chairs. Elsewhere, some board games were stacked up at the end of the bar and some TV screens were evident, but all were switched off in favour of some pop music, which played quietly in the background during my visit.
This is a Fullers pub and three of their ales were available on the handpulls – London Pride, Oliver’s Island and ESB. However, the Moor Brewery were staging a tap takeover on my visit, which meant no less than six of their brews were also available on cask and I decided to sample their Comrade Games – a tasty 6% IPA that was perhaps an ambitious first beer of the day! The staff here were all very warm and friendly, especially the very helpful barman who talked me through the various Moor beers. I also stopped off here for some lunch and found the food to be tasty if perhaps a little pricey for the amount you get.
I really liked this one and thought it was a step up from many of Fullers similar London based outlets. My impressions may have been favourably influenced by the tap takeover, which meant the ale selection was considerably more interesting than it might otherwise have been, but the pleasant, comfortable surroundings, high cellarmanship standards and incredibly friendly staff meant this was a winning start to my crawl around the city.

On 4th January 2019 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2620 recommendations about 2620 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about The Old Fish Market

Sometimes I get a bit of a taste for a Fullers London Pride, so this pub didn't disappoint. We popped in on Thursday eve and the pub was dimly light apart from the candles on the tables, which gave a good atmosphere. The service was quick, but did feel uncomfortable standing at the bar, so we got a seat. The barman didn't seem to like the idea of drinkers standing at the bar for some reason.

On 19th November 2014 - rating: 6
[User has posted 3035 recommendations about 3035 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Rex Rattus left this review about The Old Fish Market

This is another pub that has remained unchanged in recent years, being much the same as when the previous reviewer visited a couple of years ago. It's still a Fuller's pub with the usual range of ales on. The couple of pints of ESB that my companion and I enjoyed here at the end of the evening following the Pubs Galore tour of the city's best pubs, and a superb curry, rounded the day off very nicely and ensured a good night's sleep. The ESB was £3.85 a pint and seems good going to me (at least by London standards).

The pub itself is quite large, stretching around the old fish market into various nooks and crannies. The covered old courtyard is still there on the left, and provided something of a peaceful refuge from the noisy main bar area. As usual with these sort of places, the majority of furnishings are tall tables/tall stools, but with a good number of standard tables/chairs, as well as one or two sofas.

I would not put this pub near the top of my Bristol "to do" pubs, but it is a good enough pub, and provided a welcome nightcap after a hectic, but tremendously rewarding, day out with Pubs Galore regulars.

On 18th November 2014 - rating: 6
[User has posted 2590 recommendations about 2504 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Malden man left this review about The Old Fish Market

Highly visible as you cross the bridge into the city centre, this Fullers pub is a conversion of part of the port's fishmarket. The large main room has the attractive and highly polished bar on the back wall, wooden flooring, large windows to the frontage and on an end wall a huge detailed mural depicting dockside life years ago. Seating is at a mixture of standard and high tables plus a few sofas. To the side is a cobbled former yard, now roofed over and a quieter spot, the cavernous main room is very noisy due to the hard surfaces and high ceilings. This side room was more popular with those partaking of the pub's Thai menu, which looked and smelled very good. I wouldn't personally choose the end table at the front which is set on the former inclined entrance and so itself leans alarmingly. Decor includes old dock life B&W photos and a couple of Thai drapes in the courtyard.
To the rear is the corridor to the toilets which has a few tables too and then opens out a bit with a few quieter booths, probably the best spot for a chat away from the screens showing sports in the main bar.
A Fuller's house outside Greater London, so to a resident of the capital the beer wasn't going to set my pulse racing, however I had the guest, the more local Butcombe Bitter which was a decent drop. Pride, ESB and Discovery were the Fullers beers.

On 5th June 2012 - rating: 6
[User has posted 1690 recommendations about 1664 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


BobOs . left this review about The Old Fish Market

Good city pub with decent range of beers (Fullers ESB, London Pride, Discovery, Honey Dew and Butcombe's Bitter). I had ESB, Discovery and Honey Dew and all three were in tip top condition. The Thai food is delicious. Above average.

On 16th July 2011 - rating: 6
[User has posted 370 recommendations about 355 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


John Bonser left this review about The Old Fish Market

The Old Fishmarket is a prominent red brick building that used to be, believe it or not, a fishmarket, but is now a roomy high ceilinged Fullers pub. Formerly branded as one of their Ale and Pie Houses and last visited by me as such, it doesn’t seem to have changed much internally, but there is now more emphasis on televised sport – games are shown in 3D with glasses for hire – and serves Thai food as well as more traditional pub fare.
The front bar is bare boarded with much wood in evidence, large windows and high tables and stools. A more comfortable area at the side is favoured by diners. Round the back is a quieter area with a number of more intimate seating booths where the sport can be avoided.
The pub advertises a lunchtime “Thai quicky” which, before you all start rushing down to Bristol hoping to get your leg over, I should explain is a lunchtime quickly served Thai meal ( £ 5.45p) specifically designed for office workers with limited time.
On my recent visit, the normal range of Fullers beers was on, supplemented by Butcombe Bitter as a guest. The London Pride - £ 3 – was reasonable. The pub proudly advertises the fact via a large poster that it is in the 2011 CAMRA Good Beer Guide.
I don’t dislike the pub at all but, living close to Fullers heartland, I prefer naturally to try different beers while I’m away. I doubt therefore that I’d specifically come here again, unless there was a big televised game on that I particularly wanted to watch.

On 22nd November 2010 - rating: 6
[User has posted 560 recommendations about 560 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Andy Ven left this review about The Old Fish Market

A smart enough place with good service and easy-going clientele. The front is a wide barroom but there is more intimate seating available to the rear of the bar and a separate (block-paved) dining area to the side. The food was good, the big screen was also good for watching the World Cup in HD. The ales consisted of 4 Fullers: Discovery, London Pride, Seafarer and ESB plus one guest, Butcombe Bitter, which I preferred to the house ales.

I'd happily go back for one or two but I personally preferred the choice at the Kings Head on the way back to Temple Meads.

On 14th June 2010 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 244 recommendations about 240 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Blackthorn _ left this review about The Old Fish Market

Large pub a few minutes from the city centre, which can get fairly packed at times. A couple of plasma's around which tend to show major sporting events. Friendly enough staff and a large bar.
Several Fuller's beers on tap, including ESP, Discovery and London Pride, plus Butcome Bitter. A couple of more unusual ciders on offer - Symonds Founders Reserve and Aspall's Suffolk.

On 20th December 2009 - rating: 6
[User has posted 1771 recommendations about 1701 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about The Old Fish Market

An interesting old building, with a smart and tidy layout in the main area in front of and to the sides of the bar and some characterful wooden booths further back. A wide selection of Fullers beers, including the seasonal Red Fox which was in excellent condition and which went very well with the Thai food.

On 10th October 2009 - rating: 7
[User has posted 6591 recommendations about 6591 pubs]

Page: 1 2