User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Lockdown 2 with oldboots on the Pub Forum

The Old Ale House, Truro

7 Quay Street
Truro
TR1 2HD
Phone: 01872271122

Return to pub summary

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 8 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Danny O'Revey left this review about The Old Ale House

Nice moody interior, long bar, folk music and Skinners beers

On 1st July 2019 - rating: 9
[User has posted 1281 recommendations about 1258 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Alan Winfield left this review about The Old Ale House

Looks a bit gawdy from the outside.
Once inside there is a long oblong shaped room which runs to the rear,the bar is on the left side,the floor bare boarded,the seating pew seats and normal tables and chairs.
This is Skinners brewery tap,we had a drink of Skinners Cornish Knocker,which was a very nice drink,the other Skinners beers were Lushingtons,Betty Stoggs,Porthleven and Hops & Glory.
Too quiet and too real ale orientated for our liking.

Pub visited 14/8/2017

On 30th November 2017 - rating: 7
[User has posted 6113 recommendations about 6113 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about The Old Ale House

The Camra Kernow pub of the year 2017 is currently covered in scaffolding so is not looking its best from the street, but the dark-wood alehouse interior is just what I was expecting. Low ceiling, dimly lit and doing good business in the early afternoon. Six Skinners real ales on the ten handpumps, with several I had not come across before (e.g. the Penny Come Quick stout, £3.80), plus Abbot as a guest. Also had six draught ciders from a further bank of eight handpumps. Well worth a visit.

On 15th April 2017 - rating: 8
[User has posted 6198 recommendations about 6198 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Aqualung . left this review about The Old Ale House

This is an old pub with wooden floors and wooden beams. It consists of of a single room with old furniture strewn around. I failed to spot an upstairs but gather it is now used for dining.
It's an Enterprise pub now run by Skinners Brewery and had seven of their beers on. I went for their Seven Hops (£3.70) which was an improvement on any of their other beers I've tried but not a classic. I thought it was rather expensive but that's probably down to Enterprise.
Despite not being a great fan of Skinners I thought this was a pub well worth a visit.

On 26th June 2016 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2143 recommendations about 2143 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Gill Smith left this review about The Old Ale House

This pub is now the brewery Tap for Skinners, and is getting a bit of TLC with scaffolding around the outside and looking tidier inside. The beers we tried were well kept. All the ales on handpulls were Skinners, and there were a couple of guests on stillage.
Above was summer 2013, and called in on 27th May. They had a guest ale from Padstow brewery as well as Skinners on handpulls, and where the stillage was they had ciders. The two Skinners ales we had were fine.

On 1st June 2014 - rating: 8
[User has posted 1308 recommendations about 1197 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


I L left this review about The Old Ale House

Wonderful exterior with a dark low wood beamed ceiling and wood clad walls, this is a place we always visit when in Truro. A good renege of ales on hand pump and on gravity. our most recent visit had two Keltek ales plus Gangley Ghoul, ruddles County and Hogoblin on gravity.The only hand pull in use was Courage Directors.the Keltek Majik was very nice.

On 30th October 2010 - rating: 8
[User has posted 287 recommendations about 284 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Gill Smith left this review about The Old Ale House

Always call when in Truro and is brilliant for food, especially the large "hands" which are bread bloomers with various toppings and very filling.

The beers I find variable in quality, but there is a choice of about 5 or 6 from both handpump and stillages.

On 9th May 2010 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1308 recommendations about 1197 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


James Joines left this review about The Old Ale House

This former Beer Pub of the Year and Bargain Pub of the year for Food should be a must for all visitors to Truro.

On 6th May 2009 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 841 recommendations about 835 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Roger Button left this review about The Old Ale House

This city centre pub not only has an eye catching exterior but also offers one of the better selections of ales we found on our recent travels around the area. The interior of the pub is atmospherically dark and dingy with bare floors and a tatty feel but full of character with shed loads of beer mats, drink towels, old adverts, beer fest menus and pump clips stretching across the walls and ceilings. Some of it has obviously been there for years and the general impression is that anything that gets put on the walls stays there until it rots and falls off. The floors are strewn with the shells of complimentary peanuts so probably not the best place for sufferers of nut allergies but it is fun to crunch them all underfoot. Many of the tables and even some seats are made from converted barrels. A couple of old Redruth Brewery windows can be found, one a telephone box sized booth. The usual mix of entertainment is listed including quizzes, live music and (unfortunately) karaoke. There is a pool room upstairs (both the pool and jukebox are free after 7 on Mondays). On my viist there were 8 available ales either from the 10 handpumps or direct from the 7 casks behind the bar. Ironically many of the guests were familiar to me so I ended up opting for the regular house ales Skinners Kiddlywink and Cornish Mutiny, both excellent. Others available included Spitfire, Pitch Black, Adnams, XB, Deuchars and Taunton cider. There was also a selection of unusual fruit wines. I didn't find it particularly expensive and overall thought it was a great pub but sadly I didn't get time to stay as long as I would have liked although I would definitely return.

On 19th March 2009 - rating: 8
[User has posted 1238 recommendations about 1232 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Philip Carter left this review about The Old Ale House

Nice pub. Sells real ale, 7 taps. Does food all day, though there may be a bit of a delay, as it's cooked to order. Dogs not allowed.

On 31st January 2008 - rating: 8
[User has posted 753 recommendations about 716 pubs]