User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Pub Of The Month - July 2020 with ROBCamra on the Pub Forum

The Three Judges, Kelvinhall, Glasgow

141 Dumbarton Road
Glasgow
G11 6PR
Phone: 01413373055

Return to pub summary

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Ian Mapp left this review about The Three Judges

Good Beer Guide Pub. Mainly for blokes.

Sunday Lunch Time - all other punters were solo, heads down in the papers. Barely a noise.

Ales hadn't been labelled up on my arrival - landlady was just doing it. A request for a Boring Brown Bitter was met with an adequate Stonehenge Ales Spire Ale. From Wiltshire.

Everyone else was on Tenants. Not sure how they can keep so many real ales on and fresh - but they must do, as its in the GBG 2020.

On 3rd October 2019 - rating: 6
[User has posted 648 recommendations about 642 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Pub SignMan left this review about The Three Judges

Located on a busy junction in the Kelvinhall neighbourhood, this is an angular street corner pub with a good reputation for putting on a wide range of ales. The pub has an irregular layout with bare floorboards in the main part of the room and a long servery down the left hand wall. The bar has a dark wood counter with a curved end, mirrored bar back and a ceiling covered with numerous pump clips. Some plush, deep padded banquettes run around the rest of the perimeter with basic chairs serving small square tables through the centre of the room. There is a raised seating area to the front right with high stools along a ledge looking out to the aforementioned junction, should such a view capture your imagination. I spotted a couple of TV screens around the room, one of which was off whilst the other was tuned to Absolute Radio, which was then piped through the pub. Items of interest elsewhere around the room included a few old whisky mirrors, some large barrels on a ledge near the side entrance and plenty of interesting old black and white photographs. The pub was full of a more 'mature' post-work crown than those seen in the craft beer bars of Kelvingrove and this place seemed to offer more traditional pub pursuits such as live music evenings and a pub quiz night.
The pub's reputation as a great place to find interesting beer certainly seemed justified by the long row of handpulls which were dispensing Elland Work in Progress, Great Oakley Tatsfield Thunderbolt, Naylors Toffee Mild, Kelburn Misty Law, Springhead Exodus and Triple fff Citra Sonic. A pint of the latter set me back £3.40 for a pint and was in pretty good shape although I was served by a particularly old-school brusque barmaid who didn't exactly make me feel particularly welcome.
This place definitely has one of the widest ale ranges in the city and is well worth a look if you're in this part of town and tiring of the craft keg stuff further along the road. I quite enjoyed stopping off here and whilst I didn't really get a warm welcome, I could imagine sinking a few pints here in an extended session.

On 6th May 2018 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2472 recommendations about 2472 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


peter ashworth left this review about Three Judges

As well described by the previous reviewers the Three Judges is a real ale pub with 9 cask beers on the go and a regular updated blackboard giving all the beers strength,with also a "try before you buy" option.Tried the 6% braveheart stout which was a cracking pint. Definitely worth a visit.

On 19th February 2014 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2108 recommendations about 2072 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Roger Button left this review about Three Judges

Situated in the West End of the city, the Three Judges is quite a stroll from the City Centre albeit quite a pleasant one if you approach the area via the park. The pub itself stands on a busy road junction and has a sort of truncated wedge shape about it.

The interior is a single room with raised seating around the front area, bare floors, solid and unpretentious furnishings and a small but quite cosy alcove of banquettes tucked off to the side of the bar. A couple of large casks sit over the main door and the ceiling is gradually being obscured by a mass of pump clips. There is no music apart from live jazz on Sundays and I didn’t notice any TV’s so talk appears to be the primary form of entertainment.

As for the ales, 5 were available for my visit (although I was told a couple of others would be available later on): Kelburn Misty Law, Elland Eden, Leeds Samba, Caledonian Deuchars, one I couldn’t see (may have been a cider) plus the additional unclipped pumps for later use. Service was very friendly and attentive with what I presumed to be the landlord very chatty and enthusiastic. There are also several themed beer festivals held throughought the year.

It is perhaps not an immediately obvious destination given the distance from the City Centre but is handy for a few local amenities, Kelvingrove Art Gallery, the Botanical Gardnes and is on the way to Partick Thistle FC so if you are in the area, it is well worth stopping off.

On 4th April 2012 - rating: 8
[User has posted 1238 recommendations about 1232 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about Three Judges

Fine, traditional ale house. Irregularly-shaped bar with some wood panelling, several ceiling fans and a number of attractive lighting fittings. Mix of furniture, with some of the old-fashioned narrow tables that can just about accommodate a few pint glasses. Small raised seating area in the outside corner, presumably also used as a stage for the advertised live music events. Nine of the 10 hanpumps in operation, with an excellent range of beers of different strengths and styles. My pint of Inveralmond Thrappledouser (£3.05) was in splendid form. Well worth the trip out from the city centre to nearby Kelvinhall subway station.

On 28th January 2012 - rating: 8
[User has posted 6076 recommendations about 6076 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


David Ross left this review about Three Judges

If the West of Scotland can be something of a real ale desert, then this is one of its lushest oases. A blackboard at the end of the bar lists the ever changing array of ten cask beers, sometimes including a traditional cider, on sale. Prices and strengths are also displayed and at least some of the bar staff are highly knowledgeable about the subject. As with most good real ale pubs, free sample tasters are provided if you ask nicely. The usual staple lagers, heavies and Guinness are also available, as is a varied selection of foreign bottled beer. Food is restricted to pickled eggs, crisps and pork pies, but customers are usually permitted to bring in their own when it’s not too busy. There is no music, except an occasional radio playing and the TV is usually turned down, except during major sporting events. It’s a cosy, mid-sized, wood panelled bar on a busy corner of Partick Cross and the clientele are a mixture of local regulars and visitors attracted by its real ale reputation and inclusion in the Good Pub Guide.

On 26th October 2010 - rating: 9
[User has posted 769 recommendations about 683 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


I L left this review about Three Judges

Fairly modern interior consisting of Comfortable high back vinyl bench seating around the perimeter and small fixed shelf tables maximising the seating areas with stools and a few other small loose tables and chairs on a timber laminate floor. The bar along the rear wall had seven ales on from various parts of the Uk and fridges stocked with foreign beers from Belgium, USA micros and others. There is just one flat screen TV but the is was not showing anything whilst the radio was on in the background during our weekday lunchtime visit. There is a lighted model of the pub in a glass box fixed on one wall by a window. All the ales we tried were in top notch condition. Very handy for the Glasgow underground.

On 18th October 2010 - rating: 8
[User has posted 287 recommendations about 284 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


John Devlin left this review about Three Judges

One of my regular haunts when in Glasgow, a varied selection of ales across the strength range, well worth spending many hours in.

On 9th October 2010 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 3 recommendations about 3 pubs]