User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Pub Of The Month - July 2020 with ROBCamra on the Pub Forum

Bon Accord, Glasgow

153 North Street
Glasgow
G3 7DA
Phone: 01412484427

Return to pub summary

Pub Type

Star Pubs & Bars (Heineken)
Page: 1 2

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Aqualung . left this review about Bon Accord

This is probably the most famous real ale venue in Glasgow having been a pioneer of it for many years. Today it is also big on whisky having hundreds on sale at the bar. It's been well described below but briefly it's a long open plan room with the bar on the left and a large area of low seating at the rear. There seemed to be a lot of football memorabilia but I only saw one TV screen which was showing music videos.
They do nine beers and a cider here but on my visit the cider was off. One row of pumps was blocked by bar stools and the chalked list only showed the beer names so all I know is that two beers were Caledonia Deuchars IPA & Edinburgh Castle and the one I had was North Yorkshire NYPA. This was in good nick but at £4.00 was on the expensive side.
It is worth a visit and you don't have to walk as Charing Cross Rail Station is just the other side of the Motorway. It's GBG 2018 listed.

On 18th May 2018 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2143 recommendations about 2143 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Pub SignMan left this review about Bon Accord

This quality, traditional pub and whisky house feels like something of a survivor, perched rather precariously on the side of the M8 which thunders past outside and must’ve come close to swallowing this place up, as it did with so many premises back when it was being constructed. Thankfully, the pub survived and now offers a warm and welcoming environment along with good selections of both whisky and ale. You enter into a bare boarded room with the servery over on the left hand wall. Some nice bench seating is available under the front windows and this is ably supported by further tables and chairs and the odd drinking ledge in what is essentially the main bar area. You know you’re in a Scottish pub, as a huge picture of Jim Baxter and Billy Bremner celebrating a Scottish victory at Wembley hangs next to the bar, alongside shelves full of whisky boxes and whiskey appreciation books. An attractive pub mirror to the right has a TV screen above showing a live football fixture with the commentary still audible. The bar is a lovely feature, with its curved, wood panelled counter and grand dark wood bar back topped with more whisky boxes. Somewhat incongruously, a tall tropical fish tank stands on one end of the bar, whilst a shelf above holds a collection of footballs from various clubs around the UK. A mirrored pillar opposite the bar splits the pub in two, as beyond, the room opens out into a decent sized rear seating area. A lot of CAMRA certificates and other such indicators of excellence have been put on display here, along with a signed photograph of Archie Gemmill. The rear space feels a little more generic than the front bar, but there are lots of good seating options back here and some decent panelling, suitable partitioning and muted lighting made for a reasonably atmospheric spot to settle down in.
A no nonsense landlord and chatty barmaid presided over proceedings on my Monday evening visit where a good ale line up was available, consisting of Caledonian Deuchars IPA and Edinburgh Castle, Green Duck Duck & Dab, Kelburn Carte Blanche and Stout Keith. I gave the Duck and Dab a try and thought it was in really good shape, to the point that I nearly abandoned my plans to tick off a couple more pubs before closing, so that I could stay here and try some more of their beer (although the call of the crawl eventually won out, as it so often does).
I really liked this place which felt in a way like a fairly authentic old Glaswegian boozer given a bit of a tidy up. The welcome was warm, the beer was great and the pub is well worth spending a little time exploring, making this one of the city’s must-do pubs.

On 27th April 2018 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2472 recommendations about 2472 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Komakino . left this review about The Bon Accord

Stuck in Glasgow for a few days after the end of Feb / start of March 2018's "Beast from the East" snow inundation, this was stumbled across after the varied quality central city Wetherspoons had been exhausted as it was on the route back to my guesthouse. I'd always associated the name with the team that (allegedly) suffered the heaviest ever defeat in British football history - a 36-0 reverse to Arbroath in the 1885 Scottish Cup. Well described below, this had 10 handpumps - five either side of a mirrored column. Playing safe, Bingham's Coffee Stout and Space Hoppy IPA were in superb form. The Wetherspoons are your best bet for decent real ale in the centre, but if you want a proper pub, don't be afraid to make a ten-minute walk to visit this gem.

On 2nd March 2018 - rating: 8
[User has posted 962 recommendations about 962 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Steve C left this review about The Bon Accord

Through the entrance of the Bon Accord the bar on the left-hand wall faces some booth seating that runs down the right. At the end of the bar some steps lead down to a larger seating area and the toilets at the rear. Plasma screens are located throughout and Sky Sports is advertised, although a muted music channel was airing during my recent early Tuesday evening visit. Live music is held here on Saturdays and the 3rd Tuesday of each month is time for traditional Scottish music.
I counted ten hand pumps on the bar alongside a range of standard and premium keg products. Food is available all day, and I must say that it is very reasonably priced with cheeseburger and chips coming in at £5.25.
There are a couple of picnic tables on the path out the front and another couple in the rear yard area where access can be gained to the Bon Accord Whisky Shop.
I’m a big fan of traditional boozers so I was not disappointed with this place. It is a bit of a walk from the main drag, but worth it for the good atmosphere and friendly service.

On 21st December 2017 - rating: 9
[User has posted 3586 recommendations about 3565 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Paul McScotty left this review about The Bon Accord

One of Glasgow's (indeed Scotlands) best pubs for real ale and whiskey. There is quite frankly an astonishing array of quality drink avaialle in this bar and seemingly they sell around 800 different beers each year from all over the UK (and I wouldn't disagree when I visited there were at least 10 real ale available and 100s of whiskey bottles). It also hosts 3 beer "festivals" each year in February, June and October (very busy but worth sa visit). When I visited last month (July 2014) I had an excellent Orkney Best real ale for £3.20 (they also had about 7 others on show including Elemental, Deuchars IPA, Jaguar etc). The bar itself is a lot bigger on the inside than it looks when you first enter, dark wood panelling with half cream (and red/orange) walls give it a nice cosy feeling - the bar itself (on the left as you enter) is long with a massive selection of brass beer taps and bottles of spirits looks very impressive indeed ( a few flat screen tv and various pictures add to it all). Bar staff are excellent and they even sell good food. A great bar I just wish it was closer to the city centre , if you haven't been I recommend you vist next time you are in the area.

On 13th August 2014 - rating: 9
[User has posted 44 recommendations about 42 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about The Bon Accord

Despite its relatively recent history, the front bar looks convincingly traditional. The additional seating in the dining areas up and down a few steps further back look a bit more modern. Sport on several TVs, but with volume low enough not to intrude on those not interested. Friendly staff. Didn't go in to eat, but the menu looked good and I enjoyed an excellent fish and chips. Ten real ales on handpump, but a good range of national and more interesting local ales (e.g. William Bros Red, £3.30 and in fine form). Overall, well worth the walk westwards out from the city centre.

On 28th January 2012 - rating: 8
[User has posted 6076 recommendations about 6076 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


E TA left this review about The Bon Accord

Having just celebrated 40 years as a pub, the Bon Accord continues to maintain its high standards and first class reputation as one of Glasgow's premier real ale venues. It also serves tasty, filling pub food, nothing special but representing good value for money, although being so close to the Koh i Noor restaurant, it's a tough call despite the meal deals on offer. Staff are really helpful, pleasant and appear to be enjoying their work; great service is always provided.

Ten ales on this time, I had pints of Heather Ales and Tirril's Balls Up (presumably a football reference), both in excellent condition.

There are a few quirks - a tv screen which was a bit irritating, a weird collection of football memorabilia and an incongruous fish in a tank on the bar looking bemused at the humans' behaviour all add to the character. Overall, though, well worth seeking out, especially as it's just off the City centre. Somewhere I always try to visit when in Glasgow.

On 13th December 2011 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2549 recommendations about 2527 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Roger Button left this review about The Bon Accord

The Bon Accord (which translates as Harmony) is one of Glasgow’s must visit pubs, certainly for Real Ale fans. A placque outside gives a potted history and informs us that the building dates from the mid 19th Century but was used for a number of trades before becoming a pub as recently as 1973.

The interior stretches back further than you expect and is divided into a fairly basic front bare floor main bar and an extended sunken rear section that is raised on one side. A puiano and flat screen TV can also be found in the rear section. There is also some seating outside although the adjacent motorway somewhat spoils any potential trrnaquility.

There are plenty of old Glasgow pictures, newspaper clippings and certificates for its many beer awards. A signed Archie Gemmil photo and a Dundee Utd shirt are on display and eagle eyed drinkers will note the Partick Thistle scarf wrapped around a mounted deers head. The tables all have small placques on the surface, the meaning of which is a bit lost on me.

Despite its relatively recent history as a pub, it was one of the pioneers for the reintroduction of real ales in Glasgow and it remains one of the premier locations for ale drinkers. There are currently 10 handpumps with, on my visit, a mix of mainstream and local beers that included Williams Brothers Gold, Fullers London Pride, Heather Ales Fraoch, Otley O5 Gold, Marstens Pedigree, Theakstons Old Peculiar, Caledonian Deuchers, Woodforde Wherry and Strathaven Duchess Anne with a further pump unbadged. In addition there are over 200 whiskies stacked up on the barback. I didn’t try any food but there was a small menu that looked good value with a selection of main courses around £5-£6 and grills from £6-£9. There were also some 2 course specials advertised.

It was fairly quiet on my visit (an early midweek evening) so I’m not sure how busy it can get but service was fine and the the barman was happy to steer me through anything I wanted to know about the food, ales or whiskies. Despite my flying visit, I get the impression thatbthis is probably as good as it gets in Glasgow and it was certainly among the favourites of the many pubs I tried during my stay. Highly recommended.

On 13th September 2011 - rating: 8
[User has posted 1238 recommendations about 1232 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


John Devlin left this review about The Bon Accord

A pub i could live in the real ale alone would make it worth it.

On 9th October 2010 - rating: 10
[User has posted 3 recommendations about 3 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Neil Evans left this review about The Bon Accord

It isn't possible to give this pub enough praise

On 30th April 2010 - rating: 10
[User has posted 3 recommendations about 3 pubs]

Page: 1 2