User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Pub Of The Month - November 2019 with Real Ale Ray on the Pub Forum

Tiles, Edinburgh

1 St Andrew Square
Edinburgh
EH2 2BD
Phone: 01315573228

Return to pub summary

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Ian Mapp left this review about Tiles

Walked past several times, not recognising the bar bit of the sign that also includes "cafe and bistro". It is the first calling point in walk 1 of CAMRA Pub Walks in Edinburgh so worth a visit.

Handsome interior - always look to the roof in Edinbugh pubs - with a smart central bar. A few Scottish ales on and my Isle of Arran dark was pefect. Football on down the bottom without sound. Very good food and friendly service.

Much to admire.

Visit blogged at: http://bit.ly/2EbetSm

On 5th January 2018 - rating: 7
[User has posted 597 recommendations about 592 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Will Larter left this review about Tiles

Worth a look in just for the tiles, there are also a couple of real ales, and the half I had was in very good condition, though not really to my taste and therefore a half was all I had. Definitely one to include in any circuit of the New Town.

Date of visit: 21st March 2017

On 19th June 2017 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2456 recommendations about 2319 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


hondo . left this review about Tiles

Located on St Andrew square with an ornate interior that lives up to the name. 4 "real ales" and food served.

On 17th August 2015 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2648 recommendations about 2591 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


ROB Camra left this review about Tiles

We did call again on this visit. The beer was good again and we decided to eat here. I don't normally order burgers, but the one here sounded really good. It didn't disappoint either, probably the best burger I've ever had in a pub. It's growing on me is this place and I suspect we'll be back next time.

01/11/2011
The impressive exterior of the building is more than matched on the inside with lots of excellent tiling (hence the name) and an ornate, although new, island bar. Because of the bar you can't actually get as many people in as you would think from the outside and there's quite a few high tables & stools for drinkers as well as standard dining tables. 4 ales served from traditional scottish air pumps. I had a new one to me Howells brewery Howell At The Moon, which was dark and very pleasant. I later found out that it's a Greene King brew, but it was still pretty good. The other half loved the people watching from her high stool and also liked the red wine. I have a feeling that well call in again next time we're in Edinburgh, but I wouldn't want to stay for a session.

On 21st May 2012 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2759 recommendations about 2686 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


E TA left this review about Tiles

A grand, tiled continental-style cafe-bar on a large corner plot in the heart of New Town, a mix of Regency decor and modern efficiency. The bar has very high Edwardian ceilings which, with the abundance of reflective surfaces and imprsseive chandeliers, makes it airy and light, a place to eat and drink in splendid comfort. Food was very tasty and a good price, and the staff coped easily with our group of twelve - they remained pleasant and helpful even as we got louder and more boisterous. There were 4 ales on - I had Atlas Three Sisters and Caledonian Fying Dutchman. Both pints were OK but not the best I've tasted. Overall though a great pub for a crawl, an evening out or a meal, while its location and ambience make it a useful place to sit and ponder while the wife does whatever she does in Harvey Nics, opposite.

On 14th October 2011 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2424 recommendations about 2402 pubs]