User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Disappearing and 'in peril' breweries with london calling on the Pub Forum

The Dagda Bar, Lauriston, Edinburgh

95 Buccleuch Street
Edinburgh
EH8 9NG
Phone: 01316679773

Return to pub summary

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Ian Mapp left this review about Dagda Bar

One roomed tenement pub that is very popular. A (nice) battle to get to the bar for friendly service.

Good Beer guide 2019 entry. Oakham Citra spot on.

Would return if in the area.

On 13th August 2019 - rating: 9
[User has posted 563 recommendations about 558 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about Dagda Bar

Compact yet comfortable bar, with a small 'U'-shaped counter and traditional furniture / decor. As you would expect from the area, the clientele is mostly students; but, as a well-known ale-house, there were several other people obviously doing a similar trip round the local hostelries too. Four handpumps on the counter, offering the 'house' Dagda's Ale of undisclosed origin (£3.40), Hit the Lip from Cromarty Brewing plus Pennine Pale and American Brown Ale from Allendale. Also has five craft keg beers too. Well worth seeking out.

On 18th September 2014 - rating: 8
[User has posted 5697 recommendations about 5697 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Will Larter left this review about Dagda Bar

Two beers from Cullercoats - Watch House Winter Warmer and Rocket Brigade, plus Oakham Citra and the house beer, Dagda's Ale, which is described as being brewed in Scotland and with cascade and chinook hops, but no brewery named on the pump clip. I had the winter warmer, which was fine, and then we tried the Williams Brothers' Caesar Augustus on keg, their lager/IPA crossover. The pub was very busy, with people settling down for what appeared to be a quiz night, though we didn't stop long enough to hear any of the questions. Definitely my favourite of those I've tried in this part of town.

On 21st February 2014 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2381 recommendations about 2251 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Old Boots left this review about Dagda Bar

A small square low ceilinged room with a square counter on the back wall, the remaining space is taken up with bench seating at a variety of cast iron based tables and two barrels. A few Scots landscape pictures plus a frieze of pump clips from all over. Four handpumps with nice beers from Scotland and Northern England with a selection of interesting kegs noted as "craft beer" on the obligatory blackboard. There's a good range of malts too. There seems to be some sort of tie up with Black Isle but none of their beers were on sale except a couple of kegs, unless the house ale is one of theirs. Plain but interesting I could easily spend a few happy hours here and it's GBG listed.

On 25th January 2014 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2070 recommendations about 1926 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


hondo . left this review about Dagda Bar

Old style interior as described below serving 4 real ales and 5 "craft keg". Situated off the main drag but worth seeking out. It makes a good triple header with The Southern and The Cask And Barrel(southside)

On 22nd October 2013 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2582 recommendations about 2526 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


ROB Camra left this review about Dagda Bar

This is a cracking little bar on the southside of the city, close to the university area. It's a one roomer with banquette seating on 3 sides and the bar counter directly facing you as you enter. It's nowhere near as modern on the inside as it looks from the outside. There are some interesting prints around the walls and the floor is old stone flagging. Four handpumps on the bar serving ever changing guests. On our visit these were two from Tempest, one from Cromarty and another where notes fail me. The two I had Tempest Temptation & Cromarty Happy Chappy were in excellent condition. The landlord was very friendly and was happy chatting away about beer, football and all things pubby. We called in for one, but ended up having two, it's that sort of place. If we hadn't have been on a pub crawl we'd have probably stayed for another. A must visit pub when at this end of the city and makes a good double header with the Cask And Barrel Southside which is just up the road. It's also quite rightly in the GBG 2012.

On 18th April 2012 - rating: 9
[User has posted 2707 recommendations about 2636 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


David Ross left this review about Dagda Bar

Judging by the name and the rather garish pub sign outside, I had expected this to be an ultra-modern bar aimed at attracting students from the nearby University. I was pleasantly surprised to find that the tiny interior has a much more old fashioned atmosphere, with some tables made from recycled beer casks and four real ales on tap. The barman even went into some detail about the merits of each one. My companion and I were the only customers, although it was a Friday afternoon, but the Dagda would be very crowded with even a couple of dozen people in it.

On 11th December 2011 - rating: 9
[User has posted 769 recommendations about 683 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Clive Thompson left this review about Dagda Bar

On a recent visit it was quieter than my first experience and reinforced my first impression that this is a very good bar. Nice laid back atmosphere with unobtrusive background music and friendly staff who are happy to chat about the beers, the local area or life in general. Beers were mostly from the local Stewart Brewery with one from Rudgate. There are plenty of large ornate pubs in Edinburgh, this isn’t one of them but is well worth a visit.

On 25th April 2010 - rating: 8
[User has posted 737 recommendations about 676 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Clive Thompson left this review about Dagda Bar

I didn't spend much time here but it's definitely a bar that I want to return to. There were three Scottish ales plus a big range of bottles including Duvel, Le Chouffe, De Konnick and Krusovice. It's a small one room bar with stools at the bar, seating around the outside and a stone floor with a large barrel acting as a table in the centre. The reason I didn't stay longer was a group of loud drunken students debating everything from, philosophy to creationism to sexual fetishes to absolute b*llocks. Normally this would entertain me but one of the girls had one of those loud whiney yank accents that can disturb dogs three streets away. It spoiled the experience a bit but I saw enough of the pub to appreciate how good it is and to make me want to return next time I'm in Edinburgh.

On 25th May 2009 - rating: 8
[User has posted 737 recommendations about 676 pubs]