User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
New pub visits 2020 with ROBCamra on the Pub Forum

The Bank Bar, Dundee Central, Dundee

9 Union Street
Dundee
DD1 4BN

Return to pub summary

Pub Type

Star Pubs & Bars (Heineken)

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Steve of N21 left this review about The Bank Bar

I visited here on a late Friday afternoon when it was beginning to fill up with the after work and after shopping crowd and a lot were coming in for the traditional pub grub menu.
I however was only here for a real ale and in that respect the Bank Bar is one of the few places in Dundee that provides you with a choice in that respect. For my visit the four pumps had Marstons Pedigree, Stewart Brewing 80 shillings, Fyne Ales Jarl and a creamy stout from William Brothers Called The March of the Penguins.
I went for the stout and managed to bag one of the few remaining tables right at the back of the pub to enjoy it. In keeping with previous reviews I cannot say I was overwhelmed by this one but was certainly not underwhelmed either and quite enjoyed it as a pub.

On 1st September 2019 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1698 recommendations about 1647 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Will Larter left this review about The Bank Bar

There were four ales available on the bar at the time of my lunchtime visit: two from England, two from Scotland (see photo). Most of the customers at the time of my visit were clearly there for the food or to rest their weary legs from a shopping trip. I was just pausing on my cycle ride through Tayside having just completed the surprisingly downhill crossing of the bridge over the Tay river itself. Although this sidestreet bar is apparently just one room (not having explored the depths of the pub like PSM below), it is split into booths with glazed, chunky wooden partitions; the floor is also of wood. I quite liked the way the room has been adapted for pub use and spent a pleasant few minutes here with my half of Fyne Ales Jarl. My experience, with rather more gammon and chips and rather less rock music, would probably fit Pub Sign Man's anticipated underwhelming one.

Date of visit: 5th June 2018

On 29th June 2018 - rating: 6
[User has posted 2509 recommendations about 2370 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Pub SignMan left this review about The Bank Bar

This is a nice, unpretentious city centre pub with much less of a corporate feel to it than many others that I tried around Dundee. You enter to a scuffed floorboarded room with a run of nicely screened banquettes down the left hand wall and a servery down the right side of the room, with a few pillars and other structural supports in between. Standard tables and chairs run through the centre of the room and a fair bit of standing room has been kept as well, which is handy for nights when the pub is packed, such as on the night of my visit. The reason for this was that he last booth along the left hand wall had been cleared out so that some live music could be staged and this had drawn a pretty large crowd as well as a fair number of musicians all waiting their turn to get up and play. Beyond all this, there is a rear raised lounge-style area with chairs and fixed benches under some nice modern photographic prints, bare brick walls and a bookcase. A fireplace to the right has a big stove in it and there were also local sketches and a couple of brewery mirror on show. I initially took a seat in this rather homely space only to find the bands were using it as a dumping ground for all their equipment, so I was quickly blocked in and upon escaping, spent the rest of my time propping up the bar where I had a good view of the bands.
There were three handpulls in action, dispensing Theakston XB, Stewart Jack Back and Fyne Ales Jarl. I tried the latter, which was in very good nick and having decided to spend the rest of my evening in here watching the live music, I sank a fair few before tottering back to my hotel.
This is a fairly unremarkable pub that benefits from having a sense of its own identity, unlike many other pubs around town, and seems to know how to keep a good pint of ale. I enjoyed relaxing here with some decent beer and music but can also imagine it might provide a rather underwhelming experience if caught at a different time of the day.

On 27th June 2018 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2402 recommendations about 2402 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about The Bank Bar

Surprisingly good city-centre pub with a bit of an alehouse feel. Partially opened-out at some stage to leave various small seating areas, with remnant brick pillars and stub-walls around the bar. Four real ales on handpump too: Fyne Ales Jarl and Stewart Edinburgh Gold (£3.75) plus Robinson's Trooper and Fuller's London Pride from considerably further away. Also features regular live music, with a very proficient singer / songwriter on my Sunday evening visit.

On 18th February 2018 - rating: 8
[User has posted 5940 recommendations about 5940 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


David Ross left this review about The Bank Bar

One of the few real ale outlets in the city, with four hand pumps, only three of which were in use, dispensing McMullen's County Bitter (at £3.50 a pint), Mad Hatter's Tea Party and Adnams Southwold Pale Ale. Guinness, Belhaven Best, Caledonian 80 Shilling, Foster's and Three Hop lagers and Strongbow cider are also on offer. Food is available, but most customers were just drinking on the Friday afternoon of my visit. The Bank has a nice, welcoming pub atmosphere and is definitely one of the better pubs in Dundee city centre.

On 20th March 2016 - rating: 9
[User has posted 769 recommendations about 683 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


hondo . left this review about The Bank Bar

Usual draught selection plus up to 4 real ales and food served. The pub features exposed beams and brickwork Walking distance for the town centre and train station.

On 21st November 2012 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2667 recommendations about 2610 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


David Ross left this review about The Bank Bar

Although nothing special to look at from outside, this is probably the best pub in the centre of Dundee. One of the few real ale outlets in the city, it offers four on tap, in addition to the usual keg beers. A pint of Pentland IPA, at £3, was relatively expensive in comparison to other pubs in the vicinity, but The Bank is definitely a cut above most of them. There is entertainment in the form of folk singers some nights, but it's usually just a good place to enjoy a decent pint.

On 18th February 2012 - rating: 9
[User has posted 769 recommendations about 683 pubs]