User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
How Will Pubs Open? with trainman on the Pub Forum

The Goat Major, Cardiff

33 High Street
Cardiff
CF10 1PU

Return to pub summary

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Aqualung . left this review about The Goat Major

My only previous visit to this pub was back in the 1990s when I recall it having a very thick pile carpet. The L shaped room now has tiled and wooden flooring with comfortable green leather furnishings and wood panelled walls. A TV was showing subtitled news. It was fairly quiet on my Wednesday afternoon visit.
There are seven hand pumps which had one unused that seemed strange as the SA one was isolated further down the bar. The other five Brains beers were Dark, Bitter, Rev James, Cafe Phoenix and Bragging Rights. The latter two are from their "Craft" brewery. The Bragging Rights (£3.45) was not that crafty but was in good nick. I enjoyed visiting here and would return.

On 3rd December 2018 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2143 recommendations about 2143 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Quinno _ left this review about The Goat Major

Well well well, what a let-down. Whilst the interior and range of Brains ales remain the same, there were a number of major downers this time. The stink of egg inside. The loud fan that made a regular and loud ‘clack’ every few seconds. The broken toilet seat in the ladies. The Brains Dark which was as flat as a pancake. Exchanged after a protracted kerfuffle but not taken off. Very disappointed by that, this is meant to be Brains' main ale showcase outlet?? At least its replacement (Gordian) was decent. Oh dear, an embarrassment - has the old Goat gone to the dogs?

June 2009
A laid-back Brains pub by the castle walls, with an inviting mock-Tudor façade. The unusual name is in homage to the handler of the Welsh Guards mascot, a goat; the handler being referred to, of course, as the Goat Major. Three Brains ales on - nothing too exciting mind, just the core range but kept and served in excellent condition. The interior is cosy and kept well with a fairly ornate bar, brass fittings, wood panelling, tiled flooring and plush leather armchairs. There are plenty of items of military and goat memorabilia to keep you amused. An enjoyable place to sup your beer, this was my favourite Cardiff pub on my recent trip and I’d make sure to visit again. Rated 8

On 10th October 2014 - rating: 5
[User has posted 3997 recommendations about 3985 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


John Bonser left this review about The Goat Major

Visited in November 2010
Located down the far end of the High Street, just a stone’s throw away from Cardiff Castle is The Goat Major, a fine welcoming Brains house that has pleasingly remained unspoilt.
Larger inside than it looks from the outside, the interior features a single L shaped bar and a traditionally furnished and decorated interior with much wood panelling, comfortable upholstered seating and a tiled floor contributing to a somewhat old fashioned, austere atmosphere.
The “goat” part of the pub name relates to the mascot of a Welsh regiment which was taken to the Russian front during The Crimean War. There’s various items of goat related memorabilia, including the Goat Major ( the person not the pub |) receiving the British Empire Medal from Prince Charles. There’s also a photo of Henry Cooper with a goat.
On my recent lunchtime visit, the impressive bank of 9 pumps were serving 4 Brains beers – Dark, Bitter, SA and Gold. The Bitter was in good form. The pub is listed in the CAMRA 2011 Good Beer Guide.
Brains pubs are not exactly thin on the ground in Cardiff. The Goat Major strikes me as probably being one of the better pubs in town to sample their beers.

On 16th November 2013 - rating: 7
[User has posted 560 recommendations about 560 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Danny O'Revey left this review about The Goat Major

Smart city centre pub on the High Street and very near the castle.

Dark inside with heavy panelling and leather benches and seats. Feels a bit like a Gentlemans Club lounge, of the toff variety. Tidy, efficient and nice.

3 Brains beers available, well kept

On 8th May 2013 - rating: 8
[User has posted 1276 recommendations about 1253 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Pub SignMan left this review about The Goat Major

Clean and cosy Brains pub on the High Street, near Cardiff Castle. I counted nine hand pumps, all of which appeared to be in use - mostly dispensing various Brains ales, but with one or two guests on including something from Brew Dog. The beers were in top condition and the Brains Dark in particular could have kept me going all night. Pump clips on the wall behind the bar suggest that Fullers and St Austell beers have been popular in the past, but a number of less obvious names were on display as well.
The interior comprises of a reasonable sized L-shaped room with plenty of seating including some comfy looking banks of sofas on the rear wall. Service was prompt and friendly and a quick glance at the menu revealed an award winning pie chef in residence who had thought up some unusual combinations to fill his reasonably priced pies with.
The pub's name refers to the Royal Regiment of Wales, who have a goat as their mascot. It appears that the person in charge of taking care of the goat is known as the 'Goat Major'. To illustrate the point, there are loads of pictures of the goat on display around all points of the pub.

On 11th March 2010 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2466 recommendations about 2466 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Darren Bestley left this review about The Goat Major

traditional pub, worth a visit makes a change from city centre trendy bars

On 31st December 2008 - rating: 6
[User has posted 10 recommendations about 10 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


graham dunbavan left this review about The Goat Major

A proper pub not many left these days,
worth a visit if you are in Cardiff.

On 15th December 2008 - rating: 8
[User has posted 78 recommendations about 77 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about The Goat Major

Really rather good for a city centre pub - probably sufficiently old-fashioned to keep some of the more disruptive elements out. Four Brains real ales on draught, including a nice pint of Dark.

On 25th September 2008 - rating: 8
[User has posted 6002 recommendations about 6002 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


ROB JONES left this review about The Goat Major

i always call here when i am home, there is no better place to be for great beer and food, staff cant do enough for people, i would highly recommend a visit

On 2nd September 2005 - rating: 10
[User has posted 1 recommendations about 1 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Alan Winfield left this review about The Goat Major

The Goat Major is a decent looking black and white pub that is situated at the top end of the high street,fairly close to Cardiff castle.
Once inside i went into a smart looking room that had a cosy feel to it,the seating was comfy, luckily most football fans had left by the time i got here.
The pub is a Brains tied house,there were three real ales on the bar,i had a drink of Brains Dark which was a very nice drink,the other beers were Brains bitter and Brains SA.
I quite liked this pub.

Pub visited 28/5/2005

On 28th May 2005 - rating: 8
[User has posted 6113 recommendations about 6113 pubs]