User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
What are you drinking RIGHT NOW with sheffield hatter on the Pub Forum

Quayside Inn, Falmouth

44 Arwenack Street
Falmouth
TR11 3JQ
Phone: 01326312113

Return to pub summary

Pub Type

John Barras (Spirit Pubs)

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 6 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Graham Coombs left this review about Quayside Inn

Modernised pub in main street, decorated in shades of brown and green and with the expected good views over the harbour. There is a mixture of low and high seating. Downstairs there is a cosier bar, although not always open, plus tables out on the quayside. Beers on offer were Doom Bar, IPA, Abbot and Porthleven. Not unpleasant but certainly not exceptional.

On 16th September 2018 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2266 recommendations about 2214 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Alan Winfield left this review about Quayside Inn

The Quayside Inn is situated on on of Falmouth's main shopping streets.
Once inside the bar faces in an L shaped room,the floor is tiled,there is comfy bench seating and chairs and normal tables and chairs and a few tall tables and stools,the front area is up one step and is carpeted,there were normal tables and chairs here.
There is a room downstairs which is more of a sports room with just tall tables and chairs and a large screen showing Man Utd v West Ham,this was on a smaller screen upstairs.
There was a decent choice of real ales on the bar,we had a drink of Skinners Betty Stoggs,which went down very well,the other real ales were Skinners Porthleven,Purity Mad Goose,St Austell Tribute and Doom Bar.
There is outside seating to the rear which is down steps.
The views from the rear windows are very good.
Cheap food is served.
We quite liked this pub and did revisit it later in the week.

Pub visited 13/8/2017

On 29th October 2017 - rating: 7
[User has posted 6113 recommendations about 6113 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Blackthorn _ left this review about Quayside Inn

A good sized pub in the heart of Falmouth with great views across the estuary from it’s elevated position, there is also some outside seating on the quay side. I thought it had something of the look of a chain pub about it, and I suppose that’s what it is although the branding wasn’t obvious and there was in fact a decent selection of drinks available.

Inside it’s one L-shape room with a tiled floor and some wood strip by the bar counter, white wood panelling on the ceiling and a mixture of all sorts on the walls – some green paintwork, some tile effect wallpaper, some flock wallpaper and even rough wooden boards mounted on a 45° angle. A couple of plasma screens were showing the football although the volume was very low so this was not too intrusive. A long Chesterfield sofa at the front of the pub looked a comfy spot to sit and look at the boats out on the river. The barman was very helpful even offering to carry my drinks to the table, although it is perhaps a shame that he couldn’t have cleared up some of the empty tables – perhaps that is someone else’s job.

The menu looked to be a mass produced affair divided in to sections such as sandwiches, jackets, burgers and main meals. The latter options included typical pub grub dishes such as ham egg and chips, fish and chips, scampi and chips, sausage and mash, pork belly, chicken tikka masala, etc., and these were mostly priced around £6 - £7, although I believe many were also available as part of a “2 for £11” deal. We didn’t eat on this occasion so cannot comment on the quality.

Beers on tap were Doom Bar, Black Sheep Monty Python’s Holy Grail and Quayside Ale from the local Rebel Brewing at Penryn. A further two pumps appeared unused. Ciders were well represented with Symonds Founders Reserve, Thatcher’s Old Rascal, Old Rosie and Rosie’s Pig.

On 10th May 2016 - rating: 6
[User has posted 1749 recommendations about 1684 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Gill Smith left this review about Quayside Inn

I always call in here, but taking on board the previous review, I am there for the meals as a tourist. I don't rate the beers very much. They had a Youngs beer as the guest, and the rest were Skinners and Sharps. Meals 2 for £10 are a bargain, but anyone on their own pays quite a bit more. Food was good enough, and a great view over the bay from the tables upstairs, and plenty of seating outside on the front for warmer days.

Above was written 12.5.10 and I revisited yesterday to find only Marstons EPA on. The other 6 handpulls had clips missing or turned round. Very disappointing, so we only ordered a soup. There was very little of it when it came. It is cheap for food and the 2 for £10 was still available, but we left after having the soup.

The above was in July 2011 and we called in today for food as there was a good menu of 2 meals for £10. This went down with Black Rock Pale Ale. Very good.

On 30th June 2014 - rating: 6
[User has posted 1308 recommendations about 1197 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


peter ashworth left this review about Quayside Inn & Bistro

An old four storey town house that close to the harbour and Maritime Museum,and is now a John Barras pub,that seems to concentrate more on the diner than that of the drinker.Called in most nights as the Hotel we were staying at was quite close by,and found a fair selection of beers,the food good and as Gill Smith points out the meals were a bargain at 2 for a tenner.The pub seemed to be understaffed slightly,but did find the barstaff and waiters quite friendly and efficient.

On 7th July 2012 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2115 recommendations about 2079 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


John Horton left this review about Quayside Inn & Bistro

Oh, how this place has changed over the years. Once a fantastic Free House with more real ales than I could name. What is it now? These are the notes I made during my visit. A good pub that has sold out to create an image rather than provide good beer. More a restaurant than a pub. The ales are the usual weak beers of Cornwall - Doom Bar, Knocker & Betty Stoggs - only ale worth drinking was Sharps Special (it was very good). Food expensive & unimaginative - still provide it for the tourists & they'll just accept it. Although light & airy the atmosphere was on a par with the cemetery unlike the lively place it used to be. Shame, crying shame! One star for the Sharps Special.

On 3rd September 2008 - rating: 4
[User has posted 148 recommendations about 148 pubs]