User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
How Will Pubs Open? with Thuck Phat on the Pub Forum

The Snowdon, Llandudno

11 Tudno Street
Llandudno
LL30 2HB

Return to pub summary

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Quinno _ left this review about The Snowdon

Multi area'd place that's had a bit too much knock-through for my tastes although the decor is modern and tastefully upmarket, aimed at the gracefully aging Gen X and Boomers who seem to make up 50% of Llandudno. Eight pumps, sporting four ales and two ciders in my visit. I tried the Bass (BNSS 4) and Tim Taylor Knowle Spring (4) - the beer was in great shape and plenty was being poured too. Maybe we were unlucky with our COVID-arranged seating but I didn’t feel too inclined to linger – perhaps there were better places to sit but in these chastened times I couldn’t go exploring to any great extent. Still, can’t fault the beer!

On 5th September 2020 - rating: 7
[User has posted 4042 recommendations about 4030 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Ian Mapp left this review about Snowdon Hotel

I felt this was the best pub in Llandudno.

Good Beer Guide Entry 2019.

Nice covered patio area the front was very present on a summer evening where it was both warm and raining.

Inside, its a couple of houses knocked together with a good bar area and little tables dotted about in alcoves.

Beer wise, I only got as far as the Bass, which was a surprise and in top condition.

Enjoyed our visit.

On 29th July 2019 - rating: 8
[User has posted 697 recommendations about 691 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Danny O'Revey left this review about Snowdon Hotel

Bit average and uncomfortable locals bar, lots of leather seats, doesn't feel friendly and not somewhere you would want to spend a lot of time.

On 27th January 2019 - rating: 4
[User has posted 1281 recommendations about 1258 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Aqualung . left this review about Snowdon Hotel

Although this is called a Hotel it doesn't appear to be used as one. You enter into a large room with a small bar on the right and the rest seeming like a sea of sofas. Over to the right behind the bar is a smaller area with a table or two stools and a dart board. The bar was surrounded by old retired English folk who seemed to be banging on about the EU referendum.
There are five hand pumps with cider, Bass, Cottage Pacific &
Norman's Conquest MM and Wadworth Horizons. I found this choice pretty poor, why go for guest ales from Southern England? I went for the Wadworth beer (£3.50) which was pretty dull to say the least.
I took it to the back area to escape from the EU Bores.
The only thing I liked about this pub was leaving it.

On 21st April 2016 - rating: 3
[User has posted 2143 recommendations about 2143 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


John Bonser left this review about Snowdon Hotel

Situated in a relatively quiet residential side street near the tramway terminus at the foot of Llandudno’s Great Orme is The Snowdon Hotel, reputed to be one of the oldest pubs in Llandudno.

Externally, it resembles two private houses joined together, which, as the pub’s website confirms, is precisely what it is, although, once inside, it all joins together rather seamlessly.

A small bar counter on the right hand side of the main bar serves a large main bar area in front and a much smaller public bar immediately behind.

The main bar is comfortable and carpeted and is dominated by a number of polished leather button back sofas, the quantity and arrangement of which initially immediately struck me as resembling the layout of a DFS store. Pleasingly, there’s some more conventional, but modern, seating around the perimeter of the room. In one corner, close to the bar, are some framed E L O signed photos and, over a fireplace, an impressive large Snowdon frosted mirror.

On the right hand side, effectively behind the bar servery, is a small basic public bar room with a dartboard, but rather marred by a series of prominent pink fairy lights that really did look desperately out of place

There’s a pleasant seating area outside at the front which affords good views of the slopes of The Great Orme, and not Mount Snowdon.

Despite the name, I didn’t see anything to indicate that accommodation was available, nor did I see any mention of food, other than filled rolls.

The pub is listed in the CAMRA 2016 Good Beer Guide and the sticker is prominently displayed, Beers on were Bass ( which I gather is a regular fixture ) , Thwaites Wainwright and 2 beers from Theakstons ( Best, Infallible ). Tasting notes are provided for the beers with, rather discouragingly, Bass being additionally described as “our finest ale”. Quality was good, but it would have been nice to have seen a Welsh real ale being offered, not just a Great Orme keg craft beer.

Bar towels advertise “ Stange & Co “ – a small privately owned company that, according to their website, own about half a dozen pubs in this corner of Wales

It’s a bit of an odd one this. With sofas dominating the main bar area and dreadful flashing fairy lights in both bars, it’s clearly trying to attract a youngish clientele, but, based on my visit, it doesn’t appear to be working, with a more mature customer base being clearly evident.

The most memorable aspect of my visit was that it was here, on a large drop down screen, where I saw the final moments of Japan’s historic 34-32 Rugby World Cup win over the Saffers in a match that had attracted negligible interest from those customers present until those final few minutes.

Taking everything into account, I thought this was a decidedly average place.

On 21st October 2015 - rating: 6
[User has posted 560 recommendations about 560 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Al Bundy left this review about Snowdon Hotel

Nice enough pub serving about 6 real ales. Seating outside with nice views left/right/behind/front depending on which bench you're on.

On 6th July 2015 - rating: 8
[User has posted 3390 recommendations about 3303 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Peter Rydings left this review about Snowdon Hotel

called back this week like i said i would it was a better experience this time stayed for a couple called in a couple of time this week while we were staying near by

On 16th May 2012 - rating: 8
[User has posted 948 recommendations about 917 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Peter Rydings left this review about Snowdon Hotel

Called in one night it looked ok but a yank with a big mouth talking bull shit at the bar put us off going again when we found out he was staying there.
But will call back next time we are over there

On 2nd August 2011 - rating: 4
[User has posted 948 recommendations about 917 pubs]