User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Micropub Definitions with sheffield hatter on the Pub Forum

The Albert, Llandudno Central, Llandudno

Madoc Street
Llandudno
LL30 2TW
Phone: 01492877188

Return to pub summary

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 7 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Danny O'Revey left this review about The Albert

Central pub, open space, lacks atmosphere, ok

On 27th January 2019 - rating: 6
[User has posted 1168 recommendations about 1145 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Aqualung . left this review about The Albert

Formerly a Greenall Whitley house this is an open plan L shaped pub with a mix of wooden, stone flagged and carpeted areas. There is a TV screen but it was turned off. I turned up here mid afternoon on a Thursday when most of the food trade had subsided.
The bar has five hand pumps for beer and two for cider. The beers were slightly disappointing with Young's Bitter, Well's Bombardier Gold, Fuller's London Pride, Purple Moose Dark Side Of The Moose and Great Orme Celtica. I went for the Celtica (£3.00 discounted to £2.80) which apart from the Spoons was easily the cheapest pint had in Llandudno. It was rather cold making it a bit bland. I thought this place was OK and suspect I may have been unlucky with the beer choice.

On 21st April 2016 - rating: 6
[User has posted 2119 recommendations about 2114 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about The Albert

Comfortable real ale pub, set far enough back from the seafront to avoid the hoards on a bank holiday weekend. A decent size inside, with an opened-out and refurbished interior in a generally light semi-modern style that seems to work well for all but the younger end of the market (by the look of the clientele when I stopped by). Also has a reasonable patio area out front, underneath the hanging baskets. The choice from the seven handpumps pretty good too, with Conwy Honey Fayre, Left Field from Bragdy Heavy Industry (£3.65), Three Tuns XXX pale, TT Golden Best, Shepherd Neame Late Red and two ciders.

On 20th September 2015 - rating: 7
[User has posted 5406 recommendations about 5406 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Al Bundy left this review about The Albert

It continues to focus on food and sadly the prices continue on the steep side. It does have a decent array of real ales so its ok tho.

On 2nd July 2015 - rating: 7
[User has posted 3269 recommendations about 3187 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Peter Rydings left this review about The Albert

Yes nice place very foody that looked good six hand pumps on the bar but a bit pricey

On 16th May 2012 - rating: 7
[User has posted 948 recommendations about 917 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Malden man left this review about The Albert

An elongated L shaped space with the bar area in the crook of the "L", traditional seating with continuous banquettes along the long side wall and standard chairs and tables, mostly in fours but a couple larger and some set for two. Stone flagged flooring around the bar, carpeted to the side and wood flooring to the front. The front area opens out to a cafe style pavement terrace. Decor includes local scenes and arty prints, there is a ceiling panel with tiled corner inserts and what looked to be a working fireplace on the shorter side wall. A TV is set up on high towards the rear but this was switched off.
The pub is rather food focussed with the majority of the tables set for eating and a reservation policy in operation, however there were a couple of tables set aside for drinkers as well as a few bar stools. We were however in for a meal and the food was pretty good, there is a standard printed menu plus a specials board next to the bar. Mains average out around £10-11, but a few dishes such as steaks, seafood etc are a bit more. A children's menu is available.
There are four handpumps, the beers were Courage Directors, Black Sheep Bitter, Conwy Welsh Pride and Purple Moose Snowdonia Ale which was excellent especially for a 3.6% ale.
A good spot for a meal and some decent beer to go with it, I'm guessing it may be less foody and more drinker friendly during the week especially away from the holiday season. Quiz night advertised on a Monday.

On 16th October 2011 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1677 recommendations about 1654 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Clive Thompson left this review about The Albert

Target market is clearly Llandudno's older population and visitors, and the pub is very food focussed. There were four handpumps with Courage Best, Black Sheep, Jennings Cumberland and Broadside. One of the more expensive pubs I found at £3.10 a pint. Rather annoyingly all the tables had reserved signs, at 5.30pm on a Saturday so there was nothing I could do but prop myself up at the bar, as did others. I did enquire if they were actually all reserved or just reserved for diners, they missed the point of my question and offered to find me a table if I wanted to eat - which I suppose answered my question. Admittedly the place did start filling up after 6pm and some people had actually booked but I do hate these places that treat drinkers as second class customers. Decent pub though, nice and clean and no doubt serves it’s regulars well.

On 22nd September 2010 - rating: 6
[User has posted 737 recommendations about 676 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


jonathan hargreaves left this review about The Albert

very well run
food was excellent to die for
very clean and tidy
and whats more disabled friendly

On 9th September 2008 - rating: 10
[User has posted 1 recommendations about 1 pubs]