User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Beer of the Week (w/e 26th June 2022) with Mobyduck on the Pub Forum

The Bridge, Conwy

Rose Hill Street
Conwy
LL32 8LD

Return to pub summary

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 7 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Blue Scrumpy left this review about The Bridge

Whilst closed as a pub, you can still enjoy a local craft beer at Johnny Dough's whilst having pizza. Johnny Dough's is a small chain of local pizza shops.

The bar remains, with a wood-fired pizza oven at the end. I sat in a room at a slightly lower level. Beers are from the Snowdon Craft Brewery. I sampled their IPA. The pizza certainly filled a gap.

On 29th September 2021 - rating: 4
[User has posted 1317 recommendations about 1317 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Aqualung . left this review about The Bridge

This is now owned by the N Wales "Gang of Four" brewers who also have the nearby Albion and Australia down in Porthmadog. It's nothing like the Albion being a single room doing food and accommodation. It's a wide rectangular room with the bar in the middle and areas to each side of the bar. It was quite busy on a Saturday night but quieter on the Sunday afternoon. The food is hearty pub grub at reasonable prices and more than adequate. However, I did overhear that the food was going to be contracted out to a Pizza company which seems a shame.
There are six hand pumps which had Nant Chwarden Aur, Fuzzy Duck Mucky Duck & Ruby Duck, Purple Moose Chocolate Moose, Conwy Rampart and Great Orme Welsh Gold which went off on the Sunday. They have the same pricing as the Albion (£3.30 to £3.45). I tried the Chwarden Aur, Mucky Duck and Ruby Duck all of which were in excellent condition.
The Albion is still the best pub in town but this one comes second. It's GBG 2018 listed.

On 20th October 2017 - rating: 9
[User has posted 2143 recommendations about 2143 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about The Bridge

Much refurbished pub near the famous road and railway bridges. The interior is on two slightly different levels, and has semi-modern furniture and light decor throughout. Food now served and B&B accommodation planed. Six handpumps on the counter, offering a decent choice of local beers - Conwy Beachcomber Blonde, Dark Side of the Moose (Purple Moose), Great Orme Welsh Black, Nant Mwnci Nel and a cider. Noted as having received a Camra branch award as the most improved pub of 2015; and it is certainly worth a stop now.

On 20th September 2015 - rating: 8
[User has posted 7001 recommendations about 7001 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Al Bundy left this review about The Bridge

Recently taken over by the same lot who now run The Albion up the road. A good selection of local ales available.

On 10th April 2015 - rating: 7
[User has posted 3447 recommendations about 3354 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Clive Thompson left this review about The Bridge

My first impression was that this was a typical depessing locals pubs full of hard up all day drinkers nursing their halves. I came to like it though and it has a friendly community feel to it. Five handpumps and I tried two, both of which were in good nick. Seems like a genuine free house as the beers on offer were from Wychwood, Morkells, Marstons, Jennings and one other that I can't recall.

On 3rd October 2010 - rating: 7
[User has posted 773 recommendations about 695 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Graham Coombs left this review about The Bridge

On corner of traffic system near bridge and castle. Pleasant enough, but the rows of laid-up tables felt more like a tearoom that a pub. Several good ales on though.

On 29th August 2010 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2598 recommendations about 2542 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Gareth Williams left this review about The Bridge

Good popular basic pub with a strong local following. Sadly the excellent previous tenants have moved on and trade has undeservedly slumped. Tied house but beer is very good with regular real ales and staff friendly. Food good.
Can get crowded at times but a bit empty some evenings!

On 24th July 2010 - rating: 7
[User has posted 15 recommendations about 8 pubs]