User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
WHERE are you drinking RIGHT NOW. with Spinko on the Pub Forum

Royal Oak, York Central, York

18 Goodramgate
York
YO1 7LG
Phone: 01904628869

Return to pub summary

Pub Type

Punch Taverns
Page: 1 2

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Gill Smith left this review about Royal Oak

Called in this pub while visiting York last month. Another decent well kept old multi roomed pub. We chose Treboom Orion's Best from the ales available which was fine.

On 12th August 2019 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1296 recommendations about 1186 pubs]


Jon B left this review about Royal Oak

Another lovely pub in this area of York, this one does have the feeling of a pubco operation but it remains clean, cosy and friendly in all of its many rooms. A few good guest ales on including Hop Studio Vanilla Porter. Well worth visiting along with next door.

On 21st April 2019 - rating: 8
[User has posted 656 recommendations about 645 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Alex Conway left this review about The Royal Oak Inn

Located directly next to the golden slipper is another great real ale pub down goodrungate. There is a main bar to the front with bench seating and a classier seating area with tables to the back but be warned drinkers will be askeed to move in busier times to make way for diners which annoys me a little. The pub is nicely decorated with good wallpaper and lighting. on the bar you will always find Rev James (£3.60), Old perculier(£3.70), Theakston XB (£3.40) and Abbot ale plus three rotating guests with one of them on my visit being Exmoor dark another Daleside blonde and one i failed to note. The prices are defiantly on the steep side but a 20p CAMRA discount is offered to soothe the sting. An all round good pub with very nicely kept beers. if you can grab a seat in the back its worth keeping but this pub gets very busy in the evenings and at weekends.

On 1st May 2016 - rating: 8
[User has posted 431 recommendations about 431 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Old Boots left this review about The Royal Oak Inn

Traditional styled pub dating from the 17th century but the interior has been remodelled probably in the 19th century. Two rooms at front, the left hand one with a corner counter and there's a split level room at rear which appears to be for dining, although there's a counter with the better choices of beer. The foody smells in here at mealtimes do make it less than perfect for enjoying beer.

The front bar had Brains, Theakstons, and Greene King while the three back bar pulls had beers from Orkney, Ridgeside and a local newby Ainsty Ales. Needless to say I missed the board with all the choices and the be-clipped wicket on the front counter end, before spotting the different shaped pump clips next door, thus avoiding a disappointing choice. It's friendly and comfortable with leather benches, a Victorian floor and William Morris wallpaper, a nice place to relax with a decent ale so I thoroughly agree with Real Ale Ray - well worth a visit if in Goodramgate.

On 29th November 2015 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2145 recommendations about 1994 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about The Royal Oak Inn

Well worth a visit this one, mainly used by friendly locals. The pub consists of a separate small lounge on the right, with the bar area on the left serving both the front and back room. The rear lounge area had traditionally patterned colourful wallpaper and upholstered seating to match. Up a few more steps to a glass covered seating area, which displayed a wall tapestry. Two ales tried were Salamander Swathe and Hop Studio Gold. Friendly and chatty staff.

On 12th August 2013 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2915 recommendations about 2915 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


hondo . left this review about The Royal Oak Inn

6 real ales and food served from a 2 sided bar that serves the 3 rooms that make up the pub.

On 18th May 2013 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2648 recommendations about 2591 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Peter Rydings left this review about The Royal Oak Inn

Nice pub clean and staff friendly worth a visit

On 30th November 2012 - rating: 8
[User has posted 948 recommendations about 917 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Will Larter left this review about The Royal Oak Inn

I went in the Oak bar which is on the left on entering from the street. It seems to have been recently refurbished, with plush covers on the stools and new leather on the bench seating. The wallpaper is in a very old-fashioned style and there are reproductions of old paintings, including a rather lovely one of Elizabeth of York, who became the wife of Henry VII and therefore one of the few members of the House of York not to be murdered by the Tudors.

Four hand pumps were serving Theakstons Old Peculier, Greene King Abbot, Timothy Taylor Landlord and Westons Old Rosie cider. Chuck Berry was playing on the CD player - I wonder what Elizabeth of York would have made of that?

On 29th April 2011 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2457 recommendations about 2319 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


John Bonser left this review about The Royal Oak Inn

Situated next door to the Golden Slipper is the Royal Oak, a pub with a distinctive Tudor style exterior.

It describes itself as a "Traditional 15th Century Haunted Inn". You might be starting to think that being a ghost is a productive career in this city!

Whilst retaining its multi bar layout, I found the interior relatively bland and characterless by York pub standards. A small basic bar at the front has fixed seating round the edges and was empty, apart from a group of mature customers enthusiastically playing dominoes. A larger bar at the back is similar in style, but a bit more comfortable and had a TV showing motor racing when I popped in in late June. A third room, on the other side of the corridor, seemed to be a bit newer and, of particular note here, is a framed photo of the fire at York Minster in July 1984.This bar is serviced via a hatch in the corridor. There's rather basic outside toilets

Food has a rather naff Tudor theme - eg Henry VIII pie

The pub is in the Punch Taverns portfolio and is, according to the local press, due for a refurb in July ( about now then !). Beers on were Copper Dragon's Golden Pippin, GK Abbott and TT Landlord, a somewhat disappointing selection by today's standards. The Golden Pippin ( served in a Timothy Taylors branded glass ) - £ 2.90p - was reasonable.

This pub didn't particularly excite me and there's a fair few pubs in York that I'd rank ahead of this one.

On 15th October 2010 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 560 recommendations about 560 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


ROB Camra left this review about The Royal Oak Inn

Pub is as described by Rex below. It's one of those pubs that we call in sometimes when in York. We always think "Yes, it's OK in here" but it's not a pub we call in every time we're in York. 4 handpumps on serving TT Landlord, GK Abbott, Kelham Island Pale Rider & Westons real cider. On this visit I had the Pale Rider which was fine. We have eaten here in the past and the baguettes were pretty good as well. It's a decent pub in a city full of great ones.

On 17th September 2010 - rating: 6
[User has posted 2761 recommendations about 2688 pubs]

Page: 1 2