User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Going with a bang! with oldboots on the Pub Forum

Kings Arms, York

Kings Staith
York
YO1 9SN

Return to pub summary

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Old Boots left this review about Kings Arms

Probably York's most famous pub due to being much photographed from the Ouse bridge and being on the telly news after being flooded yet again. The interior is flood proofed with striped back brick walls and a stone flagged floor. The fireplaces and wooden pillars are not so proofed although the bench seating is on brick bases and have leatherette cushions. A board in the corner shows the flood levels reached , the current highest being on Boxing Day 2015 that point being taller than my, admittedly short, stature. The counter, again in brick, has 15 little keg boxes but don't get carried away, four are for OBB, three for Sovereign, three more for Taddy Lager with one each for Double Four, Extra Stout, Alpine (man in a box / pratt in a hat) and two more for cider. The pub was called the Ouse Bridge Inn according to the etched windows on one side.

On 4th December 2019 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2299 recommendations about 2130 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Brainy Pool left this review about Kings Arms

this rather spartan one roomed Sam Smiths pub is very incongruous with its surroundings- today loud hen parties, drunken groups of twenty somethings and foreign tourists. Maybe they couldn’t believe their luck when they got a £2.15 pint of lager, but only once they got over their horror at the absence of Fosters/Budweiser on the bar. Queues at the door and a strictly policed beer garden this Easter Saturday. the Extra Stout went down well. May be a very different place in winter but for now it’s a welcome antidote to the Slug and Bollocks nonsense going on around it.

On 20th April 2019 - rating: 7
[User has posted 772 recommendations about 753 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Alex Conway left this review about Kings Arms

This is defiantly one of the poorer Sam Smiths pubs in York. The usual beer selection is there (only more reduced) and it has no real ales, only keg versions of their Old brewery Bitter. I was told the reason for this was to do with the cellar and its proximity to the river which meant it is impossible to keep cask ales in good condition. This is also the only Sam smiths pub in York i have visited that charges a few pence premium on its beers compared to the other outlets.

I opted for the OBB in keg for and was very disappointed, i have had really good keg sam smiths in other places but this was not one of them.
Another really annoying thing about the kings arms is how they insist on serving beer in plastic cups for people sat outside on the benches!! do they not trust their customers. this totally ruins the drinking experience and what could be a very good beer garden/seating area next to the river.

On 6th July 2016 - rating: 5
[User has posted 454 recommendations about 454 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Steve C left this review about Kings Arms

Thankfully the Kings Arms was not flooded when I visited on a recent Saturday afternoon. This is a Sam Smith’s pub that unfortunately does not have cask OBB. I ended up having half an Alpine lager that set me back ninety odd pence. An impressive price, but I wasn’t that impressed with receiving a plastic cup to drink it from.

The interior consists of a bar that splits the pub in two giving front and rear seating areas. Many picnic tables line the cobbles adjacent to the river Ouse. Unsurprisingly for this brewer, there was no background music and I didn’t see any televisions.

On 19th April 2015 - rating: 5
[User has posted 3586 recommendations about 3565 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


hondo . left this review about The Kings Arms

Sam Smiths pub next to and often flooded by the river.

On 7th September 2013 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2704 recommendations about 2647 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Alan Winfield left this review about The Kings Arms

The Kings Arms is a nice looking riverside pub that is best appreciated when quiet so you have to go in here very early or when its cold and raining.
This pub is a Samuel Smiths tied house and the only one that i know of in York that does'nt have any real ales on,once inside the pub has different drinking areas and stone floors as the carpets would get wet when this pub gets flooded which is quite regular.
I had a drink of keg Old Brewery bitter and this was ok but not as good as the real thing.
Not one of my favourite York pubs.

On 10th April 2011 - rating: 5
[User has posted 6113 recommendations about 6113 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


John Bonser left this review about The Kings Arms

The Kings Arms is a smallish Sam Smith's pub situated on the northern banks of the River Ouse between the Lendal and Ouse bridges.

It's a typical Sam's pub - unbadged as such of course - with flagstoned flooring, exposed brickwork and lowish beams. The interior is largely unremarkable, although do note the markers indicating how high the floods have been over the years - the highest being approx 6 feet which was in November 2000.

There's a large outside area on the river front, which is a mixture of bench seating and a standing area on the cobblestones.

Given its location, this is a pub that probably doesn't have to make too much effort to attract the punters on a sunny day . My recent visit appeared to bear this out - longish queues for service, no one collecting empties, sticky tables - in summary, a not very impressive show, I'm afraid.

The Sam Smiths OBB - £ 1.61p - is not real ale.

We all like drinking outside when the sun comes out to play, but there's not much else to get enthusiastic about here.

On 15th October 2010 - rating: 3
[User has posted 560 recommendations about 560 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Soup Dragon left this review about The Kings Arms

A very touristy Samuel Smith’s, water front pub, with a great patio area. It is a medieval town design, with a stone lower story and a white plastered overhanging upper story.

The interior is an L-shaped room around the serving bar. The decor is simple; brick and stone, with wooden ceiling and support beams, stone flag floor and a brick fireplace. It has to be simple, as the place has been flooded out on a number of occasions – there is, as the other commentators have said, a marker on the wall, as well as some photographs, of the height the water has reached. There is no TV, there was also no background music. Service was fine. The clientele varies here, depending on the weather. A massive queue can form leading outside on nice days and the pub and patio can get rammed. I of course simply walk past, being miserable, however, at other times it is as quiet as a church mouse.

Beer; all keg Samuel Smiths beers, but without a MILD. The stout was as cold as ever, but fine enough, apart from the fact that it is served in plastic glasses.

It is worth a visit for its location, but the fact that there is no real ale, or keg Sam Smiths MILD and one is subjected to plastic glasses means that I would rather go elsewhere after one (if i get in)

On 4th October 2010 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 3053 recommendations about 3048 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Rex Rattus left this review about The Kings Arms

I dropped into this pub because it was raining outside and we needed to get a bite to eat. I would normally avoid this sort of pub – i.e a Sam Smith’s pub that only has keg beer on. With nothing on handpump, it was the scene of the embarrassing sight of the King Rat in a pub drinking orange juice. Luckily there were no witnesses who knew me (Mrs R doesn’t count in this context!). It has an attractive riverside setting, with several picnic benches outside on the jetty – sadly unused during my visit due to the pouring rain. Inside it’s a fairly decent pub with banquette seating in booths at the front, a bit more seating on the left of the bar counter, and some stools at ledges on the right. The walls are all exposed brickwork, and ancient posts and beams give it a genuinely ancient look. The floor is solid flagstones. There’s an interesting feature near the door, with high flood levels over the years displayed on a board; the highest was in 2000, when it nearly reached the ceiling.
This is a decent pub – shame about the beer. Without a decent ale I doubt whether I shall be back.

On 15th June 2010 - rating: 5
[User has posted 2577 recommendations about 2495 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Mat Nichol left this review about The Kings Arms

One of the most well known pubs in York, partly because it gets flooded by The Ooze every year and has the height of various floods from previous years. Good beer - Samuel Smiths. Great to sit outside and watch the boats go by in summer.

On 1st December 2006 - rating: 10
[User has posted 115 recommendations about 115 pubs]