User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Yet another list with Komakino on the Pub Forum

Judge's Lodgings, York

9 Lendal
York
YO1 8AQ
Phone: 01904638733

Return to pub summary

Page: 1 2

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Brainy Pool left this review about Judge's Lodgings

blimey, this place is seriously pretentious - somewhere to sup prosecco with the gals but a pub? Not really, for me. Pleasant garden at the front but you’ll have to share it with posing, pouting nightmares. Thwaites ales available but this is a long way from street corner boozers in Blackburn.

On 19th April 2019 - rating: 3
[User has posted 735 recommendations about 717 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Lester Ford left this review about Judge's Lodgings

Having never been here before & walked past several times we stopped for a pint to keep out of the rain.

This multi floored Thwaites hotel, restaurant & bar used to be Georgian Townhouse. As the name suggests it had links to local judges and a bell system is still evident on one of the walls in the small alcove seating area.

6 hand pumps that were dispensing 4 ales, my pint of Ainsty Ales Moloko Mild @ 3.9% was enjoyable. A good range of gins and whiskies here, seems like they try to cater for the more up market crowd, 2 door staff were on but I guess these were more of a deterrent than for any trouble.

Packed inside, we were lucky to get a seat.

Decent enough bar, worth a visit but for a longer stay there’s better nearby.

On 17th May 2017 - rating: 7
[User has posted 80 recommendations about 78 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Gill Smith left this review about Judges Lodgings

A few years since we have been here, but it was looking really modernised when we called yesterday and we took our beers outside at the rear which was really pleasant, apart from the droning noise of the extractors working. Smoking seating at ground level and a lovely terraced area up a flight of steps to plenty of seating in a no smoking area. We had Thwaites Magoos Brew and Li'l Bewdy, but they also had Lancaster Bomber and Wainwrights. Guests were Taylor Landlord and Treboom Yorkshire Sparkle.

On 30th July 2015 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1306 recommendations about 1196 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


hondo . left this review about Judges Lodgings

As described below a "cellar bar" but at ground level with a mixture of old and new styles. 3 real ales and "craft keg" served.

On 6th September 2014 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2693 recommendations about 2637 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Graham Coombs left this review about Judges Lodgings

Following a major refurbishment, this now has a very modern feel, with lots of white painted briokwork and modern furniture, and a peculiar glazed area behind, quite at contrast with the age of the building, although the upstairs restaurant and terrace have a more historic appearance. Several Thwaites beers on draught but seemed a little too cold to me.

On 2nd September 2014 - rating: 6
[User has posted 2194 recommendations about 2145 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Old Boots left this review about Judges Lodgings

A cellar bar although not actually underground, in the basement of a fine Georgian building, there's one longish room with another off to one side containing a second counter. All the draught beers are from Thwaites and not in bad order if a little pricey. There is a fair amount of exposed brick and some modern flags, as food is a major part of the business the furnishing is mainly tables and chairs with a few bits of bench seating. Service and beer quality seem to have improved but the Gents still reek however.

On 27th October 2013 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2258 recommendations about 2098 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


ROB Camra left this review about Judges Lodgings

Sad to report that this place now appears to be in terminal decline. The last time we were here at Easter they were having a problem with the toilets. They were leaking and the whole place smelt of toilet cleaner. We called in on Wednesday and the toilets were still the same!!!! The choice of several Great Heck beers has disappeared and the only cask available was Greene King IPA & Pedigree and even those had paper cut out pump clips. In a city with so many great pubs we couldn't be bothered with this one's lack of interest, so we just left. It's pretty poor now.

On 26th October 2012 - rating: 3
[User has posted 2850 recommendations about 2771 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


ROB Camra left this review about Judges Lodgings

Called in again yesterday afternoon and had a good pint of Great Heck Final Judgement. It was still very quiet though, despite all the bars around it being busy.

25/10/2010
As Rex says below, this is a very cosy cellar bar with lots of different nooks & crannies to sit in. Usually serves a couple of beers from Great Heck and on Sunday they also had another couple of beers on from Summer Wine. I had a pint of Dave from Great Heck which was well kept and the other half had a red wine that she says is also good quality. The only thing that worries me is that we've been in 3 times recently once at lunchtime and twice on a weekend evening and it's always been quiet. It's a nice bar, go and give them some custom and keep it open.

On 30th December 2011 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2850 recommendations about 2771 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Alan Winfield left this review about Judges Lodgings

This pub is in a cellar and it is in the centre of York.
When i visited this pub is was very quiet and i had a good chat with the landlord.
There are lots of different drinking areas and the place seemed quite dimly lit,on the landlords advise i had a drink of Great Heck David and this was a very nice drink i also had a drink of daleside Blonde which was also very nice there were another four real ales on the bar.
I thought this was a decent pub to have a drink in and the beer quality was very good.

On 10th April 2011 - rating: 8
[User has posted 6113 recommendations about 6113 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Rex Rattus left this review about Judges Lodgings

The bar is in the basement of the hotel, which judging (no pun) by its name must have been where judges lodged at some time. Like all basement bars it does suffer from a lack of natural light, but that is something most dedicated drinkers can live with. It does have an intimate atmosphere provided by the low ceilings and arched exposed brickwork alcoves, and solid flagstones on the floor.
I had something called Newsome Haymaker’s Tipple, which was very good. I also noticed draught Jem’s Stout, which according to the barman is named after a brewery dog that liked to stare into puddles for some reason, and now features on the bar clip staring into a pint of beer. The food menu was OK for a hotel bar, with mains at the £8 - £9 mark, and sarnies at £5 - £6. They had those little wire containers on the tables that contain the sauces and condiments, which serve a useful purpose of course, if making the place look a little less like a pub than a cafe. This is yet another York pub that does decent ale to add to the list, and although it is not one of my favourite York pubs, it’s definitely worth a visit if you like cellar bars.

On 14th June 2010 - rating: 6
[User has posted 2575 recommendations about 2493 pubs]

Page: 1 2