User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Those two new Tier 2 rules explained! with Komakino on the Pub Forum

The Golden Lion, York

9 Church Street
York
YO1 8BG
Phone: 01904620942

Return to pub summary

Pub Type

Taylor Walker (Spirit Pubs)
Page: 1 2

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 5 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Old Boots left this review about The Golden Lion

I reckon Jon B nails it with “charmless”. Consider the facts: owned by Greene King, on a tourist hot spot street in a tourist hotspot city, usual half trained bar staff, five warm sad cask beers two of which are from GK, usual suspects kegs, the short measure was a blessing. All that was missing was the chip fat and vinegar smell typical of these places.

On 11th January 2020 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2299 recommendations about 2130 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Gill Smith left this review about The Golden Lion

Called in here last month and chose Isaac Poad A Knight's Ale from the cask selection available.

On 12th August 2019 - rating: 6
[User has posted 1308 recommendations about 1197 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Brainy Pool left this review about The Golden Lion

Charmless sort of city centre chain pub full of tourists and loud sweary twenty somethings. Reminds me of those generic pubs that you get everywhere in the middle of London. stinks of food as well and pint of Dishwater IPA set me back £4.15 in here.

On 18th April 2019 - rating: 3
[User has posted 772 recommendations about 753 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Alex Conway left this review about The Golden Lion

A Taylor walker chain pub and one of two in the center of York, Personally i prefer the other. This is a busy city center pub that gets very busy on evenings and weekends especially if there is a big sporting event.

since Greene King acquired spirit pub company (and thus Taylor walker branded pubs) the Cask ale selection has worsened. Greene King IPA now sits permanently on the bar and a selection of guest ales hand picked by the brewery that are not the best. on my visit three were not in use leaving only Greene king IPA Taylor walkers house golden ale or london glory, non of which really appealed that much to me, I opted for a Guinness at a very expensive £3.75

A bit of a touristy place that can get over crowded and thus suffer in their drinks offerings and service, some of the measures they were giving out were scandalous. An ok pub to visit on a trip to York but usually avoided by locals.

On 4th October 2015 - rating: 7
[User has posted 454 recommendations about 454 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Blackthorn _ left this review about The Golden Lion

A traditional looking pub just around the corner from The Shambles, it looks reminiscent of many of the Victorian pubs in central London, and I had high expectations of a suitably authentic interior. Unfortunately it’s clearly been “renovated” at some point, and whilst the style might perhaps still be described as traditional, it has none of the authentic charm or period features that I had hoped for.

It’s a single room pub with some wooden balustrade and partitioning used to break it up in to different sections, some of which are a slightly higher than others. The walls had mostly dark wood panelling on the lower part, with gold flock wallpaper above. Flooring was mostly carpet with some wood strip near the bar area. A couple of plasma screens were showing a sports channel, although the volume was down when we visited so this was not too intrusive. A forthcoming fixture list was displayed though, so I suspect that this is not always the case. A few obligatory old black and white photos completed the interior. There was apparently a rooftop terrace garden, although we did not investigate this.

The menu looked to be of the “pub grub” variety and offered an extensive selection of pies, burgers, sandwiches, jacket potatoes and sharing platters, with most of the mains being priced somewhere around the £8 mark. We didn’t eat on this occasion though, so can’t comment on the quality.

Beers on tap were Old Peculiar, Eclipse and 1730 from Taylor Walker, Brass Castle Cliffhanger and Rudgate Grain Check. The solitary cider was Aspall’s Suffolk.

On 6th April 2015 - rating: 6
[User has posted 1749 recommendations about 1684 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


john mcgraw left this review about The Golden Lion

Not a very inspiring pub but at least there were four real ales on and the staff were friendly.

On 11th April 2014 - rating: 5
[User has posted 2044 recommendations about 2025 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about The Golden Lion

Popped in here early doors, in fact they had only just opened, so couldn't really get the atmosphere of the place. This is a one room pub, with the bar over on the left-hand side and a staircase to the rear, with a sign up to the roof garden. The deco is fairly non-descript and for the middle of York, quite boring. There were 5 ales in use, I went for the Tring Brewery Side Pocket for a Toad, which was good.

On 8th August 2013 - rating: 5
[User has posted 2976 recommendations about 2976 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


hondo . left this review about The Golden Lion

A Taylor Walker pub with 5 real ale taps 4 on.

On 18th May 2013 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2719 recommendations about 2662 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Will Larter left this review about The Golden Lion

It always used to puzzle me that this pub was a regular in Camra's Good Beer Guide, as it's one of the worst tourist pubs in the centre of York. OK, if all you care about is beer there's good beer to be had here, and some from breweries that you might not find represented elsewhere in the city such as Black Dog of Hambleton's Rhatas. But the general atmosphere is "don't care", with second rate pub furniture scattered about the room and loud, no - really loud - music being blasted out of the loudspeakers for the benefit of their only customer. If I'd obeyed my initial instinct and turned around at the door, they'd have had no one to share their music with (apart from the rest of the street).

On 30th April 2011 - rating: 3
[User has posted 2643 recommendations about 2492 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


John Bonser left this review about The Golden Lion

Situated in Church Street is The Golden Lion.

Outside the pub, an information board tells us that the pub was first licensed to sell ale in 1771. It had a spell when it was named "The Nineteenth Hundred", but, following a refit in 1983, the pub was renamed The Golden Lion.

Inside is a rather standard open plan chain pub interior, with little of specific note. The pub is in the Punch Taverns portfolio.

On my recent June lunchtime visit, upon ordering my pint from the bar, I was told, admittedly in a reasonably polite and friendly manner, that I could not sit at any of the tables marked as "reserved" and where cutlery had been laid out. It transpired that this was effectively 95% of the pub and that drinkers such as myself were effectively banished to several tall tables and chairs by the front windows.

I should have been a bit quicker on the uptake when several serving staff started bringing out cold salad starters to all the reserved tables, but, at 12.15 on the dot, in walked a group of around 60-70 foreign tourists. In true tourist fashion, they seemed to spend an eternity deciding who was going to sit next to who and where, and then spent a further period of time taking pictures of each other standing up, sitting down, holding a beer glass, not holding a beer glass etc. It all seemed quite comical at the time.

Beers on included beers from Northumberland, Abbeydale and 3 Wentworth beers, of which the HPA - £ 2.94p - was a surprisingly good pint.

A rather large buxom lady - who I presumed was the duty manageress - was wearing a black T shirt with the words " Do you love my pub ?" on the front and kept walking past bringing food to the masses, who were now all finally settled and sat down. I resisted the temptation to provide her with my answer to that question

On 15th October 2010 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 560 recommendations about 560 pubs]

Page: 1 2