User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Yet another list with Wittenden on the Pub Forum

The Fat Badger, York

4 High Petergate
York
YO1 7EH

Return to pub summary

Page: 1 2

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 8 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Alex Conway left this review about The Lamb & Lion

A very nice and relaxing pub at the entrance to High petergate but at eye watering prices for York. There are six very well kept real ales with beers from York, Timothy Taylor, saltaire, Black sheep, Osset usually featuring. My pint of Saltaire Blonde was in great nick but should have been at £3.80 a pint. There are a few separate rooms and a designated dining room that are all kitted out in a nice modern style. there is a nice atmosphere in here and is a more classy drinking den that your usual boozer. I would probably only return in the summer as this has one of York's best beer gardens and has loads of tables with umbrellas that is perfect for the summer weather. A good pub but a little too pricey and pretentious for my liking.

On 28th February 2016 - rating: 8
[User has posted 454 recommendations about 454 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Alan Winfield left this review about The Lamb & Lion

The Lamb & Lion Inn is situated at the top end of high petergate almost hidden behind bootham bar.
I had a drink in the front room which is fairly small and oblong shaped,the seating is comfy bench type and normal tables and chairs,the room is bare boarded.
There was a decent choice of real ales on the bar,i had a drink of Old Mil Blonde which went down very well,the other beers i noted were Saltair Cascade,Ossett Big Red,Black Sheep bitter and Taylor Boltmaker.
Decent background music was playing,the room i had a drink in was packed on my Saturday afternoon visit.
I was quite happy having a drink in this pub,but should have had a look round as i missed all of the other rooms.

Pub visited 23/5/2015

On 23rd May 2015 - rating: 8
[User has posted 6113 recommendations about 6113 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


hondo . left this review about The Lamb & Lion

A multi-roomed pub serving 5 real ales and food.

On 19th September 2013 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2762 recommendations about 2704 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


. Wittenden left this review about The Lamb & Lion

An interesting small pub in a building of indeterminate age adjacent to Bootham Bar in High Petergate, York. The front door with an intriguing tiled floor, opens into a passage dividing the “pub” side from an adjoining Georgian townhouse containing a warren of snugs and parlours, together with a number of letting bedrooms.
We’d come to York to see our student son early in February, so decided to stay the night here: a good choice, though I managed to break the flush on our lavatory .Having achieved that, we met our son in the bar, a simply furnished space overlooking the comings and goings of High Petergate. We subsequently moved into the Top Parlour in the Georgian area, where we spent the rest of the evening. As is often the case in York, this pub has a decent range of beers the regulars being Great Heck’s Golden Mane, Black Sheep Best, and I believe Taylor’s Golden Best, backed up on this occasion by Copper Dragon IPA, Old Mill Traditional Bitter, together with Yorkshire Blonde from Ossett.All ales were in excellent condition, though I found the Ossett unusually dull.
Mid week in mid winter, we found this highly atmospheric,with an eclectic clientele lurking in various snugs and nooks. The food isn’t bad, either. I would think things get a touch hectic in busier periods, being within tolling distance of the Minster and its bells, but we’d like to return and make use of the inviting beer garden under the city walls.

On 7th April 2013 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 244 recommendations about 243 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Gill Smith left this review about The Lamb & Lion

Enjoyed our first visit to this pub. It has many rooms on different levels so is fun to wander round the snugs and front parlour and bar area. I explored outside and there are stone steps leading up to a fantastic beer garden. We chose Great Heck Golden Mane and Copper Dragon IPA. Both good.

On 5th March 2013 - rating: 8
[User has posted 1320 recommendations about 1204 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


ROB Camra left this review about The Lamb & Lion

Called in again for a pint and ended up sitting in one of the tiny snugs as the top room was full. Pleased to see that there were plenty of people in on a Thursday lunchtime. I had a pint of one of the changing guests which was in good nick as always. It's not a place I would want to spend all night in, but we call in for one every time we're in York.

29/10/2010
I'm happy to report that this pub reopened on 13/10/10. Nothing much has changed and I had an excellent pint of Great Heck Golden Mane. Which with a name like that may well be the new house beer. I hope so, it's much better than Black Sheep Bitter which had vanished. The other 3 guests were still on though.

19/02/10
Well, what can I add to oldboots's description below? Not that much to be honest. Called in twice this week as the other half loves the place. The standard beer is Black Sheep bitter along with 3 changing guests. On our first visit all three were dark and I had a fine pint of Summer Wine Dambuster. The following day I had a Summer Wine Modus which was much lighter. Friendly and helpful staff on both occasions. The beer garden has fine views of the Minster. The people who own this also own Harvilles restaurant on Fossgate.

On 29th January 2013 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2870 recommendations about 2789 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Pub SignMan left this review about The Lamb & Lion

This is a deceptively large upmarket pub situated just inside the city walls next to Bootham Bar. It opened as a pub in late 2008, having previously been a restaurant called Four High Petergate, and is owned by the same people as the nearby Guy Fawkes Inn. The left hand side of the pub houses a compact bar with bare floorboards, a few tables and chairs and large windows giving good views out to the bustling street outside. A corridor leads to a small snug with room for a couple of tables and beyond this signs lead you to the Top Parlour which is to the front right corner of the building. This room has a mix of pew and standards seating, old pictures of York on the walls and a nice fireplace at the rear. The weather was terrible when we visited, but when we walked around the city walls the following day we discovered that the pub has a nice courtyard at the rear where you can watch people go by on the walls or enjoy a fine view of the nearby Minster.
The bar supports four handpulls which offered a choice of Great Heck Golden Mane, Copper Dragon Challenger, Black Sheep Golden Sheep and Walls Glory Days, The Golden Mane wasn’t the most exciting pint of the day but it was at least in decent condition. We tried some food here as well, opting for one of the generously portioned sharing platters. The menu is reasonably priced considering what you get for your money and the other half was quite keen to return for the food again a few days later.
I thought this was a really nice place to stop off for some good quality food, although I’m not sure that it makes the comfiest pub for the drinker, unless perhaps you can bag yourself a seat under the windows in the front bar. Would make a good addition to any crawl around the city walls.

On 28th June 2012 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2546 recommendations about 2546 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


OogyWawa . left this review about The Lamb & Lion

The best beer garden in York which has views of the York walls and more importantly York Minster. Well run pub now that it has escaped the clutches of serial bankrupts The Hattersley Group. Much improved are the quality of the 4 handpulled beers and the new Irish landlord brings some welcome wit and charm to proceedings.Food is supposed to be of good quality if you can get a seat as its always busy due to its location. Well worth the effort though...

On 13th May 2012 - rating: 7
[User has posted 15 recommendations about 15 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about The Lamb & Lion

Boutique style of pub, but a good one at that. Staff very friendly, a multi-roomed pub. If you go out to the back terrace there's a fab view of the Minster Cathedral.
Food looked very inviting will give a go next visit. Handpumps I went for the Copper Dragon Freddie Trueman, Acorn Brewery Old Moor Porter and the Wharfbank Carry me Home. Will return

On 30th July 2011 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2976 recommendations about 2976 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


James Joines left this review about The Lamb & Lion

CLOSED due to a dispute with RBS!!!
[Admin edit: Marked as closed 3/3/10]

On 2nd March 2010 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 841 recommendations about 835 pubs]

Page: 1 2