User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
WHERE are you drinking RIGHT NOW. with Brainypool on the Pub Forum

Shakespeares, Sheffield

146-148 Gibraltar Street
Sheffield
S3 8UB

Return to pub summary

Page: 1 2

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Tris C left this review about Shakespeares

Yes, little can be added to that below, the number of ales sold passed the 5,000 mark in 2017 so God only knows what number they're up to now! A very attractive and commanding exterior gives way to a wonderfully atmospheric interior. There's a minimum midnight licence, extending to 1.00am on Friday and Saturday and live music every night.
Ales: see below, my half of Blackjack's Dead Man's Hand was excellent and was £1.70 a half, slightly above the average price of our 13-hole crawl.
Obviously this is a destination pub for anyone who likes real ale and heritage pubs with interesting interiors, though it's strange that CAMRA doesn't seem to be quite so enamoured.

On 19th July 2019 - rating: 9
[User has posted 912 recommendations about 899 pubs]


Steve of N21 left this review about Shakespeares

Another fine Sheffield Georgian pub originally built in 1821 as a coaching inn. A well worn excellent traditional multi roomed interior that has to be explored in full and then a spacious external courtyard garden area for alfresco drinking when the weather permits.
A very good mixed style ale range on offer as detailed by the reviewer below and I do like a good chocolate porter and in this respect the Wilde Child Gimmie S’more was truly gorgeous.
A pub that a real ale drinker can just blend into with ease, this is indeed an outstanding pub and one of the best beer drinking haunts I visited during my two days in the city.

On 16th July 2019 - rating: 9
[User has posted 1663 recommendations about 1612 pubs]


Bucking Fastard left this review about Shakespeares

Outstanding pub both for it's interior and for it's ale selection.The internal layout is traditional ,with a front tap room,a corridor winding around to two snugs,one with a most impressive clock and the corridor ending at a darts board area.So many original features,you must spend time wandering about.
9 handpumps were operational on my crawl visit offering Wild Child Gimme S'More,Firebrand Double IPA,Weird Beard Morning Light,Wild Weather False Sense of Security,Abbeydale Deception,Wild Beer Pogo,Stancil Barnsley Bitter,Anthology New England Session Pale and Blackjack Dead Man's Hand (good nick).That's a more than impressive line up,and next time I will spend a session in here,possibly to upgrade to full marks.
A must visit and for my money the best pub in Kelham Island.

On 13th July 2019 - rating: 9
[User has posted 1977 recommendations about 1977 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Malden man left this review about Shakespeares

A fine old ex-Ward's house with the old signage and a splendid stained glass window still remaining. The bar is in the front room then a corridor runs through past another side room and a staircase to a room at the rear with a single large table and then around again to the opposite side where there is a long boarded room with a dartboard and disabled toilet at one end, basic bench and table seating here. Belgian beer posters and beermats all over the walls, an old beer engine and a 1950s juke box are on display. A door leads out to a rear garden, not very appealing in the snow.
The beers are listed on a board in the bar with another board in the back room listing an extensive choice of bottles. Nine on handpumps, Abbydale Deception, Hogarth's The Invasion and Explosion in a Laboratory, Stancil Barnsley Bitter, Hopjacker Pyrites and also Bro Jack, Red Willow Weightless, Northern Monk New World IPA and Siren Cold Blooded. Five keg beers also. A pretty decent selection by anyones book.
Another great pub in a part of town so rich in choices, there are still a few more we didn't have time for so probably unfinished business around here.

On 6th March 2018 - rating: 9
[User has posted 1681 recommendations about 1658 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Al Bundy left this review about Shakespeares

Another very good pub in the area. 9 handpumps dispense an excellent array of real ales. Its a multi roomed pub that's well worth visiting. A large blackboard to the right of the bar tells you what ales are on. I had Brodie's Archer Pale.

On 10th March 2016 - rating: 9
[User has posted 3349 recommendations about 3265 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Aqualung . left this review about Shakespeares

The building was covered in scaffolding on my visit so taking any pictures of it was fairly futile. Inside it's another great unspoilt pub with a superb selection of ales. I noticed the name Wards etched on one of the windows which would suggest that it once belonged to them and a look at the 1978 GBG confirmed that.
I counted nine handpumps and beers noted were North Riding Fat Lads Mild, Redwillow Seamless, Blackjack Bramlimg Cross, Blue Bee Real Aussie Pale & Sorachi IPA, Abbeydale Deception, Kelham Island Rye Plains Drifter and Shiny Silver Man.
The other beer was the 8.5% Siren Empress Stout which it took a lot of effort for me not to fork out a fiver on. Also on keg at the same strength was Bristol Beer Factory Double IPA priced at £5.80 which shows just what a rip-off so many keg beer outlets are.
I went for the Fat Lad's mild (£3.00) which was in excellent condition and served in a lined glass.
All in all I thought this was a great pub, but the live music may be a downside for me.

On 17th November 2014 - rating: 9
[User has posted 2130 recommendations about 2125 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


john gray left this review about Shakespeares

Nice enough pub with beer garden at the rear.Famous for its beer range and didn,t disappoint with exceptionally good beers from Steel city and Hopcraft.Could have stayed here all night.

On 13th September 2013 - rating: 7
[User has posted 887 recommendations about 875 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Gill Smith left this review about Shakespeares

Enjoyed our visit to this pub yesterday and there was a good choice of ales on the board. Enjoyed beers from Clarks and Ascot this time. The pub has a friendly welcome and an interesting layout.

On 4th May 2013 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1296 recommendations about 1186 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about Shakespeares

This was defo one of our favourite pubs of the day. Once through the main door we took a right and sat on wooden banquette seating with the bar facing us. There were 10 ales on handpump chalked up on a blackboard on the right hand wall. The barmaid was friendly and helpful and the prices were very reasonable. There was also an assortment of cobs on the bar and at sixty pence each, you can't go wrong with that. They have sold 1000 different type of ales since July 2011. I went for the Pennine Brewery Spring Barley and Raw Brewery JR Best Bitter. Will defo call again.

On 28th April 2013 - rating: 10
[User has posted 2844 recommendations about 2844 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Pub SignMan left this review about Shakespeares

Built in 1821 as a coaching house, this is another fine traditional ale house in a part of town already blessed with many excellent pubs. You enter the pub into a terrazzo floored corridor, typical of many pubs in this part of the world, with the servery situated to the right. There is a small public bar here with a single button backed banquette and some low stools arranged opposite the bar, whilst a covered fireplace with a beer board above dominates the end wall. There are some fine stained glass windows as well, which are worth a look before exploring further. To the left of the entrance is a small, almost snug-like lounge with some tidy seating and an impressive grandfather clock. A folk band were practicing in this room during my stay and the pub has quite a notable musical heritage, playing a key part in the city’s folk scene in the 1960’s and 70’s. The corridor runs round to the rear of the servery, where a relatively open space with some high tables and stools leads to a small seating area before opening into a narrow side room with a dartboard and decent pump clip collection. There is a function room upstairs (Bard’s Bar) which was being used on my midweek visit, and a nice, partially covered garden to the rear. I noticed an old sign in the corridor for the ‘Angel Hotel’, but I’m not sure where it originates from, as this pub doesn’t appear to have used that name in the past.
The range of ales available at the bar was as comprehensive as anything you’re likely to find on a Valley of Beer crawl. I had a choice of Abbeydale Deception, Copthorne Wish You Were Here, Sheffield Brewing Co Five Rivers, Salamander Carpet Bagger, Osset Snow Drop, Liverpool Organic Stella Gold, Raw Citra Pale, Axholme Graizlelound Ginger and Dark Star 1910 Porter plus Brooklyn There Will Be Black on tap as well as Thatcher’s Traditional Cider and Janet’s Jungle Juice. There looked to be a good range of bottled beers in the fridges and some punters at the bar were trying whiskies from a decent list. I tried a pint of the Citra Pale and found myself with an excellent brew served by a very friendly barman.
I thought this was an outstanding pub and one that ranks alongside the best that this city has to offer. Quite how I never made it here on previous crawls I’ll never know, but this will be near the top of the list for a revisit the next time I’m in town.

On 29th March 2013 - rating: 9
[User has posted 2313 recommendations about 2313 pubs]

Page: 1 2