User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
New pub visits 2022 with Mobyduck on the Pub Forum

Rutland Arms, Sheffield

86 Brown Street
Sheffield
S1 2BS
Phone: 01142729003

Return to pub summary

Page: 1 2

Reviews (Current Rating Average: 8 of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Brainy Pool left this review about Rutland Arms

As below, an uncompromising pub knocked through into one room, typical slightly scruffy alehouse with a raucous atmosphere early on a Friday evening. Handy for the university and station, it seems very popular and for good reason. Fine range of ales and decent value food, entertaining jukebox and clientele.

On 14th May 2022 - rating: 9
[User has posted 895 recommendations about 868 pubs]


Moby Duck left this review about Rutland Arms

Quite a big lump of a pub with a roomy interior to match that had a quite appealing well lived in feel about it . It was pretty busy on a thursday night adding to a great atmosphere. With six beers to choose from I enjoyed a pint of Bristol Beer Factory Delray Beach. I would certainly have a look in here again.

On 14th September 2021 - rating: 8
[User has posted 1524 recommendations about 1505 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about Rutland Arms

A really striking detached building having a symmetrical, angled frontage with the former Duncan Gilmour lettering still present. Very traditional bar, decorated with pump clips and other ephemera, with a decorative glazed name panel beside the door through to the pleasant rear patio garden (where a strange mural on the side wall can be puzzled over). Six handpumps offering a good range of real ales featuring two from Blue Bee (including Reet Pale, £1.50, half). An excellent place, well worth seeking out, and I'll definitely stay longer next time.

On 22nd July 2019 - rating: 8
[User has posted 6951 recommendations about 6951 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Tris C left this review about Rutland Arms

One cannot fail to spot this pub with its Art-Deco façade which looks a bit like a 1920s' picture palace, sporting its original Duncan Gilmour & Co livery to the faience tiling and etched windows - I don't think I've ever seen anything like it!
Quite close to Sheffield Hallam, I'll bet that it pulls in the students, attracted by the jukebox, Wednesday to Saturday midnight licence and prices, with my half of local steel supplier-inspired Blue Bee's Hillfoot Best coming in at just £1.50, the cheapest drink of the crawl and probably the best Best I've ever had.
You know you want to experience that Rutland sound...

On 17th July 2019 - rating: 8
[User has posted 1502 recommendations about 1481 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Steve of N21 left this review about Rutland Arms

Another of Sheffield’s heritage pubs with a fine yellow and red tiled exterior containing the name of the Victorian brewer Duncan Gilmours and Co, and then a traditional dark wood carpeted one room interior with some superb period coloured glass decor to match. Several eclectic collections of can, bottles, beer mats and strange manikin parts cover most surfaces.
Yes I agree the outside courtyard area at the back is a bit scruffy but was a good area to sit when the sun was out as it was for us.
Seven of the hand pumps in operation with a good offering of different ale styles as described in Mr Fastard review below, and all I can add is that the Glutenus Minimus is brewed by Brew York. I also went for the Marble Macchiato Porter and the Uppe Helga Natten was indeed superb.
And for the record one of our party went for the Tiny Rebel Assault Trifle which indeed looked and tasted like a sickly sweet trifle. So if you are more partial to brown bitters, probably best to give this one a swerve if you find it on the pumps.

On 14th July 2019 - rating: 8
[User has posted 1807 recommendations about 1745 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Bucking Fastard left this review about Rutland Arms

I was deeply impressed by this pub,the tiled exterior is matched by a traditional interior to the one roomed pub and the ale selection was outstanding.Either side of the front door there are fitted bench seating and modest sized tables,with a bit of room for vertical drinking near the bar and to one side.There are horror style decorations dotted about including rubber handparts coming out of former light recesses,it's all a bit jokey.There is a beer garden out the back with wooden bench seating but it's a bit scruffy.
There are two side located handpumps for real cider (just one working on my trip) and 7 ale handpumps drawing Tiny Rebel Assult Trifle,Shiny Paradise Mosaic Pale,Northern Monk Imperial Stout,Glutenus Maximus from a brewer I couldn't make out,Blue Bee Best Bitter and Reet Pale and a very well kept Marble Uppe Hela Natten.
There is also a wide selection of craft keg,and the service was swift and friendly.
This was a brief crawl visit,next time I'm in Sheffield this pub will get the full session treatment,when it could well attain full marks.

On 13th July 2019 - rating: 9
[User has posted 2309 recommendations about 2309 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Aqualung . left this review about Rutland Arms

This is a small wedge shaped pub consisting of a tiny carpeted single room with a prominent jukebox. It was rather dark and busy on my Thursday evening visit but I managed to get a seat.
There are eight hand pumps but it was far too dark and busy to note all the beers. I did notice Blue Bee American 5 Hop & Born In the USA plus Crouch Vale Amarillo. I went for the Born In The USA (£3.65) which was excellent.
I thought this was a great little pub and my favourite of the three "normal" ones visited in Sheffield.

On 22nd February 2017 - rating: 9
[User has posted 2143 recommendations about 2143 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Al Bundy left this review about Rutland Arms

This pub is a short walk from the station and is worth a detour from the city centre. A slightly garish exterior gives the place a unique feel. Inside is described below though there are a few paintings dotted around that were possibly done by an alcoholic child or a blind monkey, but that's 'modern art' for you. That said there are 7 handpumps dispensing Hillfoot Best Bitter, Rest Pale, Chinhook Pal - all from Busy Bee, Mallisons CM, a stout from someone and a beer from Stansil. A nice pub.

On 10th March 2016 - rating: 8
[User has posted 3445 recommendations about 3353 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Pub SignMan left this review about Rutland Arms

This rather grand looking pub, with it’s eye-catching ‘Duncan Gilmore & Co Limited’ branding, is actually a fairly compact affair which manages to retain a traditional feel whilst still seemingly appealing to the hip student types who made up the majority of the Saturday evening custom on my recent visit. You enter through a lovely stained glass porch into a room with the bar to the left and a carpeted seating area on the right hand side. The glasswork throughout the room is a highlight, with the aforementioned porch standing out alongside frosted front windows and some more stained glass panes on the rear wall. The servery is tucked away efficiently in the rear left corner and is lined with various boards listing food and drink options and the usual pump clip collection associated with pubs that offer a good choice of ales. Tiled fireplaces can be found at either end of the room, both adding a degree of charm to their respective areas and no doubt much welcome warmth in colder months. A few banquette booths separated by smart partitioning screens can be found along the front wall, with standard seating options elsewhere. An interesting collection of beer bottles and cans run along a high shelf, which is worth a quick browse. Elsewhere, decoration includes plenty of nice old pictures of pubs from yesteryear.
This place has a pretty good reputation for good beer and the ale range on this visit was very encouraging, comprising Blue Bee Bee’s Knees Reet Pale and Bitter, Lincoln Green Five Gold Rings, Marstons Pedigree New World Pale, Brass Castle Burnout and Bob’s Brewing Goblin. Keg options were fairly eclectic and included beers from the likes of Freedom, Magic Rock and Brew by Numbers although I was put off from risking the keg range when I found out that a pint of Stone Smoked Porter cost £10! I instead sampled the Reet Pale, which was in great shape and a good beer to round off an excellent day’s pub crawling.
I’d never previously visited this pub due to its relative isolation from the majority of the city’s great pubs, but in hindsight it’s actually only a short walk from the city centre and less than five minutes walk from the train station, so I’m sure I will be adding this pub to future crawls around Sheffield.

On 6th February 2015 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2783 recommendations about 2783 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about Rutland Arms

There were seven ales on offer on our Thursday eve visit. The pub was moderatly busy and had a relaxed and laidback sort of atmosphere to it. Music from the jukebox was playing on a low to medium volume. They also serve food. On the ale front, I went for the Brass Castle Cliffhanger and Welbeck Abbey Red Feather.

On 28th April 2013 - rating: 8
[User has posted 3073 recommendations about 3073 pubs]

Page: 1 2