User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Those two new Tier 2 rules explained! with rpadam on the Pub Forum

Red Deer, Sheffield

18 Pitt Street
Sheffield
S1 4DD
Phone: 01142722890

Return to pub summary

Pub Type

Punch Taverns
Page: 1 2

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about Red Deer

Very good back-street pub with a traditional, if partly opened-out, interior. The small lounge area to the left as you enter is probably the best spot to sit, but there are a few small tables around the bar and more of a dining area up three steps at the back. Reasonable lunchtime and evening menu. Six real ales in a range of styles were available from the row of handpumps when I visited, including a decent pint of Little Hopper from Little Critters.

On 28th July 2019 - rating: 7
[User has posted 6198 recommendations about 6198 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Tris C left this review about Red Deer

An attractive former Gilmour's pub as described below. It has a notable heritage interior, but as mentioned, there are others which are more impressive.
Also as mentioned, it's rather expensive with my half of J. W. Lees' Manchester Pale Ale rocking up at £1.85, the second most expensive drink of our 13-hole crawl.
Certainly worth including if out on a crawl or even for an extended stay.

On 18th July 2019 - rating: 7
[User has posted 997 recommendations about 982 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Steve of N21 left this review about Red Deer

A good traditional back street pub with a pleasant burgundy and cream frontage and a striking mural on the Pitt Lane side.
The L shaped interior is not the most exciting but there are enough pictures and artwork to at least make it a bit interesting and the seating area before you get to the middle bar section was a decent area to park you bum for a spot of conversation.
But the most striking decorative feature is the growing beer mat collection that now completely covers the middle bar section ceiling and shows this pubs continued dedication to providing a regular changing ale range.
And in that respect the ales available for our visit were J.W.Lees Manchester Pale Ale, Bradfield Farmers Blonde, Abbeydale Moonshine, Little Critters Little Hopper, Bingley Jamestown APA and a very passable Moorhouses Pride of Pendle at £3.70 a pint or £1.85 for the half. And then I also saw a couple of craft keg options which I didn’t note down.
Possibly not in the same league as the some of Sheffield’s heritage interior pubs but a solid inclusion in any crawl of the city.

On 15th July 2019 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1712 recommendations about 1661 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Will Larter left this review about Red Deer

A popular back street pub not far from the university and well frequented by students and staff. Food appears to be good value and the beer range is extensive, with two from the south (Laine of Brighton and Fullers), plus Moorhouses, Robinsons, Revolutions, Abbeydale, Little Critters and Castle Rock from the north and midlands. It's a comfortable pub, with real fires, works of art on the walls and a pleasant atmosphere. I'd like to see more beers from local or regional microbreweries, but that's a minor quibble. And I've never had a problem with the step.

The above was from 16th April this year. A more recent visit found six beers on, with two hand pumps vacant and one with cider as usual. All the beers were from the north or midlands: one from Lancashire, one from Nottinghamshire, two from Derbyshire and the others from local Blue Bee and Little Critters. The 10% Camra members discount is applied to halves as well as pints, but my half of Ashover 1910 Porter 5% was £1.93 after discount, my most expensive beer of the afternoon.

On 18th June 2019 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2643 recommendations about 2492 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Graham Coombs left this review about Red Deer

Gorgeous little old-school pub, tucked round the back only a stones throw from West Street. A nicely traditional dark wood interior, with a good selection of ales and ciders in tip-top condition (Cask Marque accredited). Definitely worth a visit (but the dodgy step is still there!).

On 13th November 2018 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2266 recommendations about 2214 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Bucking Fastard left this review about Red Deer

The pub's location is close to West Street but the atmosphere is a world away from the notorious bars along that thoroughfare.This is a charming,open plan real ale venue retaining some original features.I liked the etched glass windows,and the pleasing exterior.There are 9 handpumps and I noted Old Rosie Cider,Moorhouses Pride of Pendle,TT Landlord,Roosters Yankee (on good form),Box Steam Funnel Blower and Adnams Broadside on my visit.The large collection of pump clips shows that there must be a decent rotation policy here.
Worth including on a crawl of the area,the somewhat irregular steps on exit may give you trouble if you are well oiled !

On 18th July 2014 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2087 recommendations about 2087 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


John Bonser left this review about Red Deer

This is a traditional back street pub in the heart of the University area, but pleasantly hidden away in a side street off the main West Street student drinking “run”.

It’s a former Tetley’s pub and etched windows demonstrate that, before that, it was a Gilmour Windsor Ales pub.

On my recent visit, somewhat discouragingly, a sandwich board outside was advertising a “Swap Shop” exhorting one to bring your unwanted womens clothes, shoes, accessories etc and swap them for something different. Tickets for this events were going for £ 10, or £ 6 if you brought a donation with bubbly and nibbles on arrival.

There’s more room inside than the small frontage would suggest and a split level interior extends back quite a way, ending in a small patio outside at the back. The internal layout would suggest it was once multi roomed. It’s a comfortable, carpeted interior with little of specific note. It seems to have had a bit of a spruce up ( and change of ownership ?) since my previous visit in 2009 and, on my recent early lunchtime visit, the lack of custom and atmosphere created something of a hotel bar feel.

Having said that, there are clearly times when the pub is busier. For instance, we see advertised Square Hole Comedy Nights on every second Monday and acoustic sessions every first Thursday.

The pub is clearly now offering a much more adventurous beer range than when last visited by me in 2009 and there is now a growing pump clip collection on the walls by the bar.

On my recent visit, beers on were Copper Dragon’s Golden Pippin, T T Landlord, Toolmakers Yankee Driver, Raw Jester IPA, Kelham Island Easy Rider, Moorhouses Pride of Pendle and North Star Endeavour ( ie – including several local micros that wouldn’t have been on the bar a few years ago ) . The pub is listed in the 2014 CAMRA Good Beer Guide and beer quality was fine on my visit.

Worth a look in if in the area, which wasn’t the case previously

On 13th May 2014 - rating: 7
[User has posted 560 recommendations about 560 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


ROB Camra left this review about The Red Deer

Called in again last Thursday during a mini crawl round the area. Much quieter on this visit, so the service was very good, as were the ales. Still not the most inventive selection in Sheffield, but well worth a visit now.

30/10/2010
Called in again on Tuesday evening to see what changes have been made. Much better selection of beers than previously although 3 clips were turned round. This may well have been because it was packed as there was a Halloween based quiz on. The pint I had was well kept and the other half says the wine was OK as well. With it being so busy I couldn't really see much of the inside, although the outside looks a lot better. Up a point for now, due to the better beer selection, but we'll call in again for a proper look soon.

09/11/09
This is a nice enough pub built on two levels. Quite comfortable but not really an outstanding interior, or exterior come to think of it. Has 5 handpumps but not a very inventive selection and they never seem to change either. Black Sheep Bitter, Adnams Broadside, Landlord, Deuchars, nothing to write home about. I had a Broadside which was very good, the other half had a Deuchars that she wasn't impressed with (and she's had quite a bit of experience of drinking Deuchars). It's OK but not one to go out of your way for.

On 7th January 2014 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2866 recommendations about 2786 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Danny O'Revey left this review about The Red Deer

Traditional local pub with real fires, although the pub has been opened up to make a bigger space, but still very traditional feel.

Its slightly 'worn' but nice.

5 real ales of very good quality

On 17th December 2013 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1281 recommendations about 1258 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about The Red Deer

Eight ales and cider on offer on our visit. Straight away I went for Moorhouses Pride of Pendle, which is one of my fav brewerys. Have to say the barmaid was very welcoming and chatty on our visit. As Will mentions the prices were steep. Have to to say if you're out and about round Sheffield, this pub should be on your list, as it is a proper traditional pub.

On 22nd April 2013 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2976 recommendations about 2976 pubs]

Page: 1 2