User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Beer of the Week (w/e 15th September 2019) with Mobyduck on the Pub Forum

The Wellington, Kelham Island, Sheffield

1 Henry Street
Sheffield
S3 7EQ

Return to pub summary

Page: 1 2 3

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Tris C left this review about The Wellington

Into the Valley of Beer rode the 16. Well tram actually, and probably the world's most expensive transport system with a ride of around 200 yards costing £1.85 - in London I can travel that distance in a sedan chair, held aloft by eunuchs for that price!
A very traditional and simple little pub this, with an interior that was refitted in 1940, giving a CAMRA rating of having an Interior of Some Regional Importance.
My half of Great Heck's Mosaic was just £1.55, the second cheapest half of the day and was most welcome.
Certainly worth seeking out when in the city.

On 18th July 2019 - rating: 8
[User has posted 912 recommendations about 899 pubs]


Steve of N21 left this review about The Wellington

This was our next pub after the Red Deer and I should really have walked here, but the lure of a tram ride ( we don’t have them in North London see) was too much and the pub Is conveniently located next to the Shalesmoor tram stop.
A corner pub originally dating from 1839, the exterior has probably not changed greatly in overall appearance from when it was refitted out in the 1940’s. I believe it’s another Sheffield entry in the CAMRA historic pub interiors list it is now internally two rooms located around the smallish central serving area which can get quite busy if a few people arrive at once, with the carped lounge room to the left and then there is a smaller room off the central serving are to the right. Then right past the toilets takes you to a very pleasant courtyard garden area with half of it underneath plastic roofing.
As mentioned below this is now a tap pub for the nearby Neepsend brewery and four of their beers were available, namely Blonde, Babayaga, Fafnir and Erinyes. But almost sinfully I went for one of the guests Great Heck’s Mosaic which was on alongside Mallinsons Not Today and Beartown Skinfull.
This is another cracking Sheffield pub with a very decent well kept ale offering.

On 15th July 2019 - rating: 8
[User has posted 1663 recommendations about 1612 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Will Larter left this review about The Wellington

Since October 2016, when James Burkett completed the acquisition and the pub was refurbished, this has been the brewery tap for Neepsend Brewery. (His other pubs in Sheffield are the Blake Hotel and the Sheaf View.) Neepsend Blonde is a regular, and there are usually two or three other Neepsend beers, plus three or four guests. Although the Neepsend beers are not always to my taste, they are usually well made and distinctive. My only criticism of this pub would be that the staff can be overenthusiastic about New World hops, to the extent that I have been mocked for my perceived preference for beers that taste of "twigs and earth"; British hops, in other words. Nevertheless, I keep on coming back as it is a pleasant pub and the beer is always in good nick.

On 17th May 2018 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2381 recommendations about 2251 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Aqualung . left this review about The Wellington

This turned out to be my favourite pub on a Saturday spent in Sheffield. Being on the edge of the Kelham Island area it had much more of a local feel than the central pubs as it wasn't overwhelmed with punters. It's a small red brick end of terrace basic boozer. Inside there are two small rooms off the bar area which has some nice tiled flooring. After ordering a beer and discussing with a local about what a dump Uxbridge on the edge of West London is, I retired to one of the seating areas.
On the bar several of the pumps were unused but available were four Little Ale Cart beers Brancepeth Castle, Coal Porter, Flying Scotsman and DSB, Salamander Mudpuppy and Townhouse Apollo. Lined glasses were used despite no obvious sign of sparklers being used on the beer. I went for the Brancepeth Castle (£2.50) and the Coal Porter (£2.80) both of which were in excellent nick. The brewer of these beers is clearly a railway buff as while everyone has heard of the Flying Scotsman, Brancepeth Castle is an obscure steam loco that is depicted on the pump clip.
For me this was the Kelham Island area pub that really stood out (not that the others are bad!).

On 17th November 2014 - rating: 10
[User has posted 2130 recommendations about 2125 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


John Bonser left this review about The Wellington

Yet another real ale mecca in this part of Sheffield, The Wellington is, according to branding outside the “Ancestral home of the Little Ale Cart Beer and Pub Company Company”, who brew at the back of the pub.

Externally, the pub very much looks like a private house. It is known as “The Bottom Wellie” to distinguish it from the nearby Hillsborough Hotel up the hill on Langsett Road which also used to be called The Wellington.

It’s a comfortable, traditionally furnished pub with a central lobby and a smallish bar servery. There’s a comfortable lounge on the left – denoted as Room 3 – which is carpeted and has padded seats. White painted walls are decorated with several old railway prints, but it’s a slightly bare and spartan feel overall which could do with a few more photos and prints to break up the wall area. From this room, you can hear the trams rumbling past from nearby Shalesmoor tram stop.

The room on the right, just off the central lobby, is much smaller, but similar in style and has some Salamander Brewery posters and some unusual shaped tables.

Fine banded and frosted leaded windows contribute to the fine, traditional feel.

Don’t miss the rather amusing framed cartoons – “Real Ale Twats” – on the walls of the passageway leading to the gents.

On my recent visit, 5 Little Cart Beers were on, of which Old Black Nose - £ 2.70p – was an extremely palatable dark porter style beer. Also on were beers from Pictish and Millstone.

This is another CAMRA Good Beer Guide regular and, whilst it’s not as well known as either The Fat Cat or The Kelham Island Tavern, it’s a decent pub in its own right and I’ll definitely call in again sometime. .

On 13th May 2014 - rating: 8
[User has posted 560 recommendations about 560 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Danny O'Revey left this review about The Wellington

Very traditional corner pub of an old fashioned nature. There are 2 rooms plus bar area with padded seating around the white walls. Pictures of the pub and various other scenes on the wall.

Its handy being right next to the tram stop (Shaftsmoor) but very much out of town feel adjoining the busy road network.

6 real ales, including 3 Little Ale Cart offerings.

On 17th December 2013 - rating: 6
[User has posted 1235 recommendations about 1212 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about The Wellington

It took us about 20 mins to walk from the Red Deer. We went down the Netherthorpe Road and it was downhill all the way. There was a handful of drinkers on our Thurs afternoon visit, and all were friendly and chatty. There were 7 ales and 1 cider on offer. I went for the Salamander Carpet Bagger, Church End Road Closed and their own ale brewed on the premises was Little Ale Cart Spearmint. I noticed a few used pumpclips with a foto of a dog on them. I expected the dog to be small until we were introduced to him and his bed round the front bar.

On 25th April 2013 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2844 recommendations about 2844 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Quinno _ left this review about The Wellington

Seven handpumps with Little Ale Cart plus a number of smaller local breweries. I had an Ale Cart which was – shock – light and hoppy; but tasty, cheap and in good nick nonetheless. I also spotted some proper cider. Service was a bit brighter this time and perhaps as a consequence I tuned into some of the pub humour on the walls (the Real Ale Twats from Viz, ‘Challenge 60’ etc). Explored the rear smoking area which the licensee has made the most of in terms of decoration. Parts of the interior can perhaps be described as a little down-at-heel or ‘lived-in’ if you prefer. I enjoyed my visit and I can imagine it’d be a good one for a session at the right time.

August 2009
A traditional, multi-roomed backstreet boozer with plenty of unspoilt old school charm and a decent beer garden. Seven ales were available, the beer is served in oversized glasses and was competitively priced (between £2 and £2.40) and in good condition. The pub is the brewery tap for Little Ale Cart – I tried a couple of their beers which, while tasty, were a little samey despite the tasting notes behind the bar assuring me otherwise. There's also an excellent selection of Belgian bottles too. No piped music on my visit, just the pattering of the pub dog (Harvey). This place seems quieter than the KIT and the Fat Cat but that does give you a bit more room to admire the impressive stained glass windows. The barman was engrossed in his paper – I would have perhaps expected a little bit of extra chat rather than a perfunctory service, given the lack of other punters. I rather felt like I was getting in way of his quiet Tuesday afternoon. Worth a visit for the beer, it’s easily accessible by tram (Shalesmoor) and foot from the town centre. Rating 7.

On 25th August 2012 - rating: 8
[User has posted 3904 recommendations about 3892 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Pub SignMan left this review about The Wellington

Conveniently located next to the Shalesmoor tram stop, the Wellington is a charming traditional two-room pub and home to the Little Ale Cart Brewery (previously known as the Port Mahon Brewery). The entrance takes you into the main bar which has the nice mosaic style floor that can be seen in a number of Sheffield’s pubs. The room has a traditional feel to it, thanks mainly to the panelled walls, which include what appear to be snob screens that look through to the adjacent lounge bar on the left hand side of the pub. Opposite the servery there is a fairly large room with banquette and low stool seating which has been nicely decorated with old pub pictures and framed pump clips. I spotted a book swap as well and the radiators must rank as some of the most attractive I have ever encountered in a pub. The lounge bar also has some smart banquettes and a nice fireplace and looked like a comfortable place to relax over a pint or two. A corridor past the servery leads to a nice little paved garden. The pub seems to have a good sense of humour regarding its potential customer base, with Viz’s Real Ale Twats comic strips framed in the rear corridor and ‘Challenge 60’ posters in the style of the BBPA’s ‘Challenge 21’ campaign.
Little Ale Cart’s Cumberland, Gay Crusader and Ruby Castle were on alongside Salamander Nagas, Millstone Baby Git and Mighty Oak Flying Tackle, with a cider option from Cheddar Valley. I wasn’t too sure what to order from that line up and the barman wasn’t able to make a recommendation, so I plumped for the Millstone which turned out to be a pretty good pint.
I was surprised to find this place relatively quiet on a Saturday night, given how busy other pubs in the area had been, but in spite of this I really liked it here and thought it would make a great place to escape to for a quiet drink.

On 20th April 2012 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2313 recommendations about 2313 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Andy Ven left this review about The Wellington

Traditional corner pub, nothing flash but a really friendly gaffer.

House brews were Littel Ale Cart Coal Train Chocolate Stout; Blenheim; Lincolnshire; Houghton Hall plus Beowulf Hurricane (which was very good), Millstone Vale Mill, Mallinson's Chinook and West Berkshire Bean Dibbler.

On 11th June 2011 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 244 recommendations about 240 pubs]

Page: 1 2 3