User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Pubs Galore 10th Anniversary Crawl with Mobyduck on the Pub Forum

Templar Hotel, Leeds

Templar Street
Leeds
LS2 7NU
Phone: 01132430318

Return to pub summary

Pub Type

John Barras (Spirit Pubs)
Page: 1 2

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Bucking Fastard left this review about Templar Hotel

A very traditional street corner city centre boozer,both the exterior and interior have features well worth observing.The open plan interior has a lot of rich wood panelling with three banquettes at the front of the pub,and a back section with a bench seat around the walls with a flatscreen above the fireplace featuring the racing .This rear area was taken over by the PuG tour save for one bemused local who waited patiently for the storm to pass.
I counted eight handpumps with quite a bit of local produce and my Kirkstall Three Swords was in fine shape.Tetley ales still in evidence despite the change of provenance.Well worth including on any tour,the calm atmosphere would tempt me into a longer stay on my next visit.

On 23rd November 2013 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2068 recommendations about 2068 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Gill Smith left this review about Templar Hotel

This was a really friendly pub that had a mix of clientele giving a good atmosphere. Not a bad choice of ales on the bar and we had Thwaites Wainwright and Kirkstall Three Swords.

On 23rd November 2013 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1306 recommendations about 1196 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


ROB Camra left this review about Templar Hotel

As usual JB is spot on with his description below. We visited on a Saturday lunchtime. It was packed with mainly male, middle aged drinkers. Apart from Tetleys Mild & Bitter there were also 4 changing guest ales all from local breweries. My pint was in good nick as was the other halfs sparkling water :-)) It's a bit loud and boisterous, but very good natured. A proper drinkers pub.

On 28th October 2012 - rating: 7
[User has posted 2863 recommendations about 2783 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


John Bonser left this review about Templar Hotel

Slightly to the north of the main pub "circuit", the Templar Hotel is a splendidly traditional street corner pub.

Externally, a splendid tiled exterior tells us that this was formerly a Melbourne's pub with separate "lounge" and "vaults" entrances. It's now a Tetley's pub.

Inside, we find a lovely wood panelled Brewers Tudor carpeted and comfortable interior with leaded decorative windows and stained glass screens creating a number of drinking booths. It's a long, narrowish bar with a room on the end at the left which has fixed seating around the edge of the room and retains old bell pushes.

An information board tells us that the premises became a pub between 1809 and 1842 and that it was previously owned by Leeds and Wakefield Breweries, then Melbourne's, and then it was sold to Tetley's in 1964. Various prints tell us the story of the Knights Templar.

There's numerous small TV's dotted around the interior and, on my recent June visit, some of these were showing a World Cup game and others an England cricket one day international, thus appearing to satisfy all wishes. The ceiling was draped with flags of the various World Cup countries.

On the beer front, it's a Tetley's pub and the Tetley's Bitter - £ 1.95p - was being sold in copious quantities. Tetley Mild was also on and, surprisingly, guests from Bateman and Saltaire Breweries. The Tetley's was in good form.

This is a real drinkers pub, full of character, with more of a pubby feel than most around here and it's pretty near the top of my list for a re-visit when I'm next in Leeds.

On 3rd February 2012 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 560 recommendations about 560 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


david hammill left this review about Templar Hotel

i visit this pub on a regular basis i agree with the other reviews good beer good company but this pub is under threat from the proposed eastgate development we can not let this happen this is one of the last old fashioned pubs in leeds

On 10th July 2011 - rating: 7
[User has posted 94 recommendations about 84 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


aleand hearty left this review about Templar Hotel

Having not visited The Templar for several years, it was good to see the place apparently thriving, when I called in recently. Both ‘John Bonser’ and ‘old boots’ describe the interior well and so I’ve little to add apart from the fact I think it’s a shame that the replacement black and white half-timber ceiling feels rather plastic and incongruous alongside the ‘Tudor’ dark wooden panelling and fittings. However, that’s a minor niggle compared to the overall comfortable feel of the place. (Apparently, it was during the mid-1980s that the main body of the pub was opened out, with only the back lounge remaining largely unaffected.)

Eight hand pumps were on the go during my visit, with four allotted to Tetley Bitter, one for Tetley Mild, plus Adnam’s Bitter, Lancaster ‘Blonde’ and ‘Leeds Pale’. The Mild was in very good nick, with the friendly barman apologising for the fact it had just gone up to £2.25! At four o’clock on a Thursday afternoon the place was absolutely buzzing, with a real sense that this was a proper, old style drink led boozer. It’s one of a handful close to Leeds market that has the feel of a genuine workingman’s pub. Not surprisingly, some of the clientele were a bit rough and ready, with language definitely at the saltier end of the spectrum, but the atmosphere was all very relaxed, including plenty of good-natured banter.

Over time, I’d forgotten what a cracking little pub The Templar is, having rather lazily stuck to my default choices when in town. However, I shall definitely call again soon and would also recommend it to any visiting fans of traditional pubs.

On 4th April 2011 - rating: 7
[User has posted 362 recommendations about 346 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Old Boots left this review about Templar Hotel

A long, thin pub now a single room but originally three, Lounge, Vaults and Saloon, the external door lintels are carved with these names. The outside is in stone and tiles on the ground floor, applied letters pick out the pub name as well as giving the original owners “Melbournes” a billing in contrast to the the rather tacky Tetley signs; Tetley took over Melbournes in 1960. The upper floors are in stucco and appear older than the ground floor suggesting a big make-over in the 1930s. Inside the décor is 30s tudor-bethian, stained glass and wood panelling with a half timber ceiling in black and white, set off with plates, jugs and brassware. The walls are decorated with prints mainly of heraldic subjects in keeping with the tudor-bethian theme. Obviously Tetleys is still sold here, four out the eight pulls had Tetleys Cask and a fifth had their lovely Mild in excellent nick, the other three serving GK IPA, Bombardier and surprisingly Leeds Pale. Fosters and John Smiths Smooth seemed to appeal more to the mainly middle aged, working men making up the clientèle, although the low prices probably had more to do with that than any lack of quality in the ales. The staff were spot on as well, checking I was happy with the amount of head. The pub is listed in the 2010 GBG.

On 17th August 2010 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2277 recommendations about 2108 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Quinno _ left this review about Templar Hotel

A lovely green tiled exterior catches the eye when passing this street corner boozer, though a few characters hanging around outside put me off a bit. However the 2009 GBG entry meant it was there to be ticked, so in I went anyway. Disappointingly on my visit there were only three ales, Tetley Bitter, Tetley Mild and Wells Bombardier. My Tetley Mild was fine and cheap to boot (£1.95). The interior has a traditional feel about it, with some booths and dark wood panelling (dating from the 1930’s apparently). It was very busy and the clientele were a very local bunch of males, with some fairly earthy language and a lot of tattoos going on. There were TV’s dotted around showing the cricket which were muted in favour of piped music featuring some odd choices given the customer base, including Debbie Gibson at one point. Perhaps it was jukebox and some joker was putting it on? Toilets were minging, which I sort of expected.

On the strength of this visit, ‘OK but not essential’ sums it up. There's potential though.

On 25th August 2009 - rating: 6
[User has posted 3997 recommendations about 3985 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Steve of N21 left this review about Templar Hotel

Another fine example of a Victorian corner boozer in Leeds Town centre. Original green tiled exterior and oak wood panneled two room interior with seating booths.
And probably the best pint of Tetleys I've had in a long while..

On 15th April 2009 - rating: 7
[User has posted 1701 recommendations about 1650 pubs]

Page: 1 2