User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
Pub Of The Month - July 2020 with ROBCamra on the Pub Forum

Templar Hotel, Leeds

Templar Street
Leeds
LS2 7NU
Phone: 01132430318

Return to pub summary

Pub Type

John Barras (Spirit Pubs)
Page: 1 2

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Brainy Pool left this review about Templar Hotel

still the eight real ales, traditional interior but sadly somewhat rowdy and dominated by TV sport. if you’re looking for a boisterous busy blokey boozer it should fit the bill. For a greene king pub it’s excellent though.

On 21st September 2019 - rating: 6
[User has posted 746 recommendations about 727 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Will Larter left this review about Templar Hotel

This iconic pub still scores highly with me for its appearance and atmosphere, but I am somewhat less enthusiastic about the offering of eight real ales than when I last reviewed the pub two or three years ago. Looking around, it was hard to pick out anyone drinking anything other than lager. My half of Black Dog Whitby Abbey 3.8% was only £1.40 after applying the Camra members discount, but I left half of it undrunk, so poor was the quality of the beer.

Date of visit: 8th July 2018

On 22nd October 2018 - rating: 6
[User has posted 2630 recommendations about 2480 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Alex Conway left this review about Templar Hotel

Been wanting to visit here for a while, this pub is located just north of the city center five minutes walk from the headrow in a slightly less developed part of town. The original Tetley signs remain and nice exterior tile work. Inside is one long bar down the center of the pub with some bench seating and booths. there are eight real ale pumps on the bar with Tetleys cask a permanent beer in honor of the former owners and seven changing beers which on my visit were Abedayle moonshine, Empire golden warrior greene king abbot, flying monk birdman and elmers , cross bay nighthawk and blue bee reet pale. because of the connections i had a pint of the Tetlys which was very cheap at £2.35 and that was before i noticed the Camra discount. in general the beers here are really well priced and going off the quality of the Tetleys are kept very well too. The pub was fairly busy on a early Tuesday afternoon with older male drinkers which could put some peiple off but i rather liked this working mans atmosphere with horse racing on the telly. strangely though most people were drinking either john smiths or Carling which struck me as strange given the choice, don't they know better? but i assume someone must be drinking the ale for them to have eight well kept beers on. One of my new favorite pubs in Leeds and well worth seeking out.

On 9th September 2016 - rating: 8
[User has posted 452 recommendations about 452 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


david hammill left this review about Templar Hotel

Been frequenting this delightful pub for more years than care to remember. Landlord and barstaff great, good range of reasonably priced ales and lagers, mainly regulars frequent here. Good for sport particularly rugby league. Good jukebox for when no sport on.

On 4th April 2016 - rating: 10
[User has posted 94 recommendations about 84 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Will Larter left this review about Templar Hotel

A lively city centre boozer, with eight hand pumps on the go. Beers are listed on a white board behind the bar, which is a dark wood classic of its kind. The walls are wood panelled and there are upholstered bench seating and tiled fireplaces, with racing on TV. In short, everything a pub should be.

Date of visit: 23rd November 2015

On 13th January 2016 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2630 recommendations about 2480 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Pub SignMan left this review about Templar Hotel

This large street corner pub has an impressive exterior which betrays previous allegiances to both Tetley's and the now defunct Melbourne Brewery. The pub has been under threat for some time due to the development of the nearby Eastgate complex and a vociferous campaign has been mounted to prevent the city losing one of its more characterful pubs. The interior is divided into two main sections either side of the servery which is located mid way along the right hand wall. The front area, which I believe has been opened out from its original layout, is carpeted and has banquette and low stool seating, some of which is partitioned by small stained glass screens. The servery also has some nice stained glass in its canopy, as do some of the attractive windows. A great many jugs, plates and other ceramics were displayed around the room which also had several screens showing sports, including horse racing, whilst music played in the background. The rear room has some wonderful original wood panelling, curved banquettes with their original bell pushes and a nice red tiled fireplace on the end wall, as well as another TV screen and a dartboard. Some customers here were playing traditional board games and others were good humoured when the full PuG party attempted a complex group photo routine.
A board behind the bar listed the ale range, which on our visit comprised Tetley's Cask, Bradfield Farmer's Blonde, Ilkley Gold, Kirkstall Three Swords (£2.89), Copper Dragon Black Gold, Thwaites Wainwright and Bridestones Dark Mild. The Three Swords was a fantastic pint and good value as well and I also had time for a pint of the Dark Mild which was also on top form. The staff were all very friendly, as were the old boys propping up the bar who were good for a bit of banter.
This is the sort of pub I love spending time in and if the PuG crawlers had decided to spend the rest of the evening in here, I wouldn't have complained. One of my favourites from a couple of long weekends in Leeds and near the top of the list for a revisit.

On 18th December 2013 - rating: 9
[User has posted 2472 recommendations about 2472 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Steve C left this review about Templar Hotel

The Templar is a long thin pub that was pretty busy during my recent late Friday afternoon visit, but the long bar and pub size is well equipped to handle plenty of customers. The bar is located along the front right hand wall and it faces some booth seating that runs along the left. At the rear are a separate seating area and a dartboard. There was some low background music playing and plasma screens found throughout were showing muted horse racing.
The bar is stocked with a standard draught range and I counted nine hand pumps

I liked it in here and thought that the friendly locals added to the good atmosphere. I would gladly return.

On 17th December 2013 - rating: 8
[User has posted 3586 recommendations about 3565 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Steve of N21 left this review about Templar Hotel

A return visit to this fine pub and sometime during the intervening four years since I was in last has seen an improvement on the Ale range on offer. Double the amount of beers are now available and although still the place for a reliable pint of Tetleys Cask there is now much more regional choice and fine pints of Thwaits Wainwrights Gold and Copper Dragon Black Gold were enjoyed.
Still has that old style boozer feel to it and was quite lively on this early Friday evening with an eclectic mix of friendly locals. The improved range of beer on offer allows me to bump the review level up one point from before.

On 8th December 2013 - rating: 8
[User has posted 1699 recommendations about 1648 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about Templar Hotel

Another good traditional pub and one I could quite happily stay in for a good few hours. There were eight ales to choose from, I went for the Kirkstall Three Swords which was superb. The Copper Dragon Black Gold was another good beer on our visit. Have to agree with BF, that the PG tour was definitely in full swing, by the time we arrived here. Would defo return here when back in Leeds.

On 7th December 2013 - rating: 9
[User has posted 2976 recommendations about 2976 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Bucking Fastard left this review about Templar Hotel

A very traditional street corner city centre boozer,both the exterior and interior have features well worth observing.The open plan interior has a lot of rich wood panelling with three banquettes at the front of the pub,and a back section with a bench seat around the walls with a flatscreen above the fireplace featuring the racing .This rear area was taken over by the PuG tour save for one bemused local who waited patiently for the storm to pass.
I counted eight handpumps with quite a bit of local produce and my Kirkstall Three Swords was in fine shape.Tetley ales still in evidence despite the change of provenance.Well worth including on any tour,the calm atmosphere would tempt me into a longer stay on my next visit.

On 23rd November 2013 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2057 recommendations about 2057 pubs]

Page: 1 2