User name:

Password:

Login


Sign in with Facebook


Not already a member?
Join our community and - Rate & review pubs - Upload pictures - Add events JOIN for free NOW


Chat about:
What are you drinking RIGHT NOW with Mobyduck on the Pub Forum

The Head of Steam, Leeds

12 Mill Hill
Leeds
LS1 5DQ

Return to pub summary

Reviews (Current Rating Average: of 10) Add Review see review guidelines


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Danny O'Revey left this review about The Head of Steam

Ok building near station, bit something or nothing inside and the beer quality was not the best, though there is choice

On 8th October 2019 - rating: 6
[User has posted 1281 recommendations about 1258 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Ian Mapp left this review about Head of Steam

Perfect last review, which sums it up well. Hadn't realised it was part of a chain but I will be looking out for their other bars.

TT Boltmaker was in fine condition. I another day, I would have been tempted to further my education of Belgian trappist beers. Not often you see a Trappist Quadrupel for sale.

Visit blogged at http://bit.ly/2GIt0cz

On 13th February 2019 - rating: 9
[User has posted 691 recommendations about 685 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Pub SignMan left this review about Head of Steam

Part of the well established chain of pubs, this is a well presented pub with a great location just around the corner from the main station. The pubhas a large island servery with an angular, many-sided counter and a nice central gantry topped with some unusual keg tap handles. The bar area is bare boarded and allows views up to the upper mezzanine level where large numbers of beer boxes have been stacked. An impressive spiral beer bottle sculpture winds its way down from here into the ground floor area and acts as a great centrepiece for this interesting room. Limited seating is available around the bar, included some backless padded benches, but there are raised seating spaces to the rear and right where plenty of banquettes and high tables and stools can be found. As with most Head of Steam pubs, the walls have been liberally decorated with a vast array of brewery signs, pump clips, enamel advertisements and beer bottles, whilst plenty of steam engine themed pictures fill in any gaps in the wall space. Even the light fixtures have been fashioned from old keg lines or wine bottles, giving the whole room a unified theme that makes it clear that it’s very much a wet-led enterprise. An eclectic indie soundtrack played throughout my stay which was pretty enjoyable.
Two banks of handpulls mean you are required to do a bit of exploring to check out the full range, but I was able to note Adnams Ghost Ship, Turning Point Rising Tide, Taylor Boltmaker, Tiny Rebel One Inch Punch, Ilkley Tribulus, Camerons Strongarm, Leeds Yorkshire Gold and Two by Two Granola Porter, the latter of which I sampled and found to be in excellent condition. There is a beer menu on each table which lists a massive range of bottled beers from all over the world, should this extensive cask range not meet your requirements.
I generally enjoy pubs in this chain and this place was no exception. I really liked the quirky interior, the ample breweriana which you could spend hours sifting through and of course the great many well kept ales. This place has good revisit potential and is another fine pub in a well stocked part of town.

On 5th November 2018 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2541 recommendations about 2541 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Al Bundy left this review about Head of Steam

I liked this pub. Its open plan but the centre of the pub is dominated by the island bar. Loads of 'craft' and keg beers plus 9 handpumps for real ale and cider. The seating surrounds the bar with 2 raised areas to the left. A place worthy of a visit.

On 6th April 2017 - rating: 8
[User has posted 3389 recommendations about 3303 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Real Ale Ray left this review about Head of Steam

The pub consists of a central octagonal shaped bar, with high seating along the windows and seating areas over to the right-hand side of the bar and at the rear of the pub. The interior was painted in dark greys, with various photos of steam engines. The upper part of the pub is used for storage and a collection of empty boxes over on the left has become a colourful feature wall, also there is a collection of Belgian beer bottles. Nine handpumps including one cider on our visit, we went for the Great Heck Simcoe and Ilkley Olicana Pale, both were in good shape. The two punk barmaids were friendly and chatty and service was good.

On 20th April 2015 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2976 recommendations about 2976 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Just a quick pint, then I'm off left this review about Head of Steam

Fairly plain curved façade, enlivened by the old Tetley pub sign and lanterns. Irregular layout inside, with an island bar and a raised seating area. Otherwise, all changed from the basic sports-type pub that was Spencer's on my last visit back in 2013. Very interesting choice from nine handpumps, including the (vegan) Little Valley Vanilla Porter (£3.60), plus plenty of craft keg offerings and a long list of bottled beers. Much more interesting now (with rating increased accordingly), but just as handy for the railway station as it ever was.

On 12th April 2015 - rating: 8
[User has posted 6198 recommendations about 6198 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Alan Winfield left this review about Head of Steam

The Head of Steam is very close to Leeds train station.
Once inside there is a decent sized room with an island bar,there is a slight raised area to the right,the seating is bench type and normal tables and chairs.
There was a decent choice of real ales on the bar but the pub was packed on my early Saturday evening visit so i failed to note all beers,i had a drink of Leeds Yorkshire Pale which went down well,the only other beer i noted was Titanic Plum Porter.
I would happily return to this pub but at a quieter time.

Pub visited 4/4/2015

On 4th April 2015 - rating: 8
[User has posted 6113 recommendations about 6113 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


ROB Camra left this review about Head of Steam

I used to call in Spencers for a game of pinball years ago when I worked in Leeds. It was a keg only pub then and the only reason to go in was the pinball. Happily there have been major changes here recently. It's been bought by Head Of Steam and massively refurbished. It's now a split level pub with the rear area being raised with a couple of alcoves and comfy seating. There's still an island bar and some high tables and chairs at the front of the pub. Whatpub claims that they sell 10 guest beers, that's going to be difficult as there are "only" 7 handpumps. We called in here on both days of our latest visit to Leeds and I had several beers, all of which were in good nick. Allendale Wagtail & Brightside Aired Ale being very good. There's a limited food menu and loads of bottled beers. It's going to be a regular haunt for us as Ms CAMRA really liked the place.

On 2nd February 2015 - rating: 8
[User has posted 2866 recommendations about 2786 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Will Larter left this review about Spencers

Closed on Sundays

On 22nd July 2012 - no rating submitted
[User has posted 2643 recommendations about 2492 pubs]


Please Note: This review is over a year old.


Spinko Spinko left this review about Spencers

City centre pub with a central bar where Leeds fans base themselves ahead of home games. Other times it is usually empty. Does the usual Carling/Smiths/Stella range, and quite cheaply too. Sports are well covered on TV.

On 30th October 2010 - rating: 6
[User has posted 38 recommendations about 38 pubs]